We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what you are looking for”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YMCA International House and Programme Centre
Ranked #17 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Mumbai
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here a few days on business. The accommodations were sparse but the linens and rooms were clean. If you are looking for a very basic room to stay in this is it. The paint is peeling and you can tell the building has been there a very long time. The staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant on site is good to very good. Room rates include Breakfast tea/coffee and dinner which is a bargain for the price of the room. Someone unaccustomed to travel in Urban India may be in for a shock considering the area this building is in. Let's just say that not too many will want to go for an evening walk in the neighborhood of the building. It's a little tricky to find the place our Taxis had a hard time locating it. But there were several helpful people around to ask.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simpleman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmy11, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. Your feedback helps us to improve at every stage. For your kind information, we have been consistently painting our rooms at intervals,but due to external seepage of water , the dampness caused peeling of even of freshly painted rooms. At this stage we have now changed the external pipelines , to address this problem. We hope your next stay will be to your satisfaction. With reference to getting the location of International House, you could ask for Mumbai Central Railway station, and the Maratha Mandir Cinema House. YMCA Road is a few minutes away, and you are at your destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 91 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

The property has been renovated since my last visit and was still being renovated. The rooms are basic, small but with added flooring and cupboards. The toilets are too small, however. The buffet breakfast has improved a lot and is much superior than what is offered at YMCA Delhi. Noise from traffic could be a problem.

Room Tip: Try getting a room on the left side of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cancerain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to review our facilities a second time. We appreciate your comments and hope to continue improving in the days ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed here many many times in the past 6 years. The organisation is quiet professional and still very friendly. Every staff has a welcome smile on his or face. Break fast and Dinner is quiet good and so is the room service. The place is quiet near to the Mumbai central Railway station and for short trips you get lot of taxis just outside the guest house.

Book early for a smooth checkin....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TejIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to review our facilities. Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff , and will be a source of encouragement for us to continue to do our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

YMCA Mumbai is really a good family place to stay. Whenever I go to Mumbai, I stay there with my family. Rooms are too clean and service is too good. Breakfast and dinner are complimentary with the room. Nice homely food and service is also very good. Management of the YMCA is very customer friendly. Location is very much near main Mumbai central but you will not find road noise and disturbances. Taxi is available from the door step. Worth staying in YMCA Mumbai.

Room Tip: Can take rooms which are not facing the main road. But all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avijitroy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to review our services. Since you have stayed here some time ago, you will be happy to note that we have been renovating different areas of International House; in particular the kitchen and dining have been given an absolutely new look with new equipment and ambience, to make your dining a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Great favourite with budget travellers. Rooms are clean. They even provide buffet breakfast and dinner.
I booked by calling and I've mistaken this as the one located in Kala Ghoda. So it's better if you could get a room in central branch.
Book well in advance as the rooms are much in demand.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqueline_sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

We thank you for reviewing our facilities. The clarification about the two YMCA accomodation facilities is very helpful, as the YMCA International House is situated at Mumbai Central, the hub of the Bombay YMCA, The YMCA Central Branch is actually located at Colaba, and is a branch of the Bombay YMCA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very close to Mumbai Central station. Just 20 minutes drive to all South Mumbai atractions. So my evenings were lovely.
Right from the booking my stay to final check-out stage I felt YMCA International team saw to it that I am comfortable and taken care of. I stayed for 2 days (13th-14th August2013).
My room was cozy and comfortable. The bathroom was extremely clean.
Food was was excellent - very homely. The entire staff were helpfull who ensured that I had a safe and comfortable stay.
We used their conference facility. We could comfortabley complete our work for the day there.
Will visit again and use the conference room too.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly furnished rooms on top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baiju8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

We thank you for reviewing our facilities and services. We are greatly encouraged by your kind words and will share them with our staff,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very safe, relatively convenient location. Not much to do in the immediate area but only a 15-30 minute, 100 rupee drive to South Mumbai attractions. The room was very clean. Breakfast and dinner were simple but not bad, especially given that they're included. Only complaint is that they only have a limited number of free 2 hour wifi passes each day. I was only able to get it twice over a 3-day visit.

Room Tip: Non-attached bathroom was kept very clean so no need to pay extra for attached bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ebp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to write this review, and wed appreciate your comments. We will also ensure that complimentary wifi coupons will be available for more than the 2hour slot, on request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#78 of 486 in Mumbai
660 reviews
Colaba
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Hotel Accord
#69 of 486 in Mumbai
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marine Drive
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#74 of 486 in Mumbai
491 reviews
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 486 in Mumbai
2,379 reviews
Bandra West
Pali Beach Resort
Pali Beach Resort
#178 of 486 in Mumbai
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA International House and Programme Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA International House and Programme Centre

Address: YMCA Road | Near Maratha Mandir, Mumbai 400008, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 622 Specialty Lodging in Mumbai
Price Range: $17 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YMCA International House and Programme Centre provides accommodation and also serves as a Programme Centre. The services provided are a/c and non a/c rooms with a Modified American plan, which includes early morning tea/coffee, breakfast and dinner after the check in time 1200 hrs. Our cuisine caters to a variety of tastes comprising of Indian, Continental, Chinese and Oriental. The other facilities are flat screen TV, the Internet (WiFi provided complimentarily), seminar facilities at the 5 conference rooms and a quiet room to meditate. The programs currently offered are basketball, skating and badminton coaching. A one-year diploma course in Hotel and Catering Management with In-house training / practical and lectures included. A very recent feature is the sponsorship for cancer affected children for their post-operative care at the St Jude's Care Centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing