We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More style than substance”
Review of Lotus Cafe

Lotus Cafe
Ranked #42 of 14,763 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $54
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Lotus Cafe, named after its beautiful Lotus pond and operational round the clock, is well known in the city for its elaborate buffet spread-an excellent blend of international cuisine.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Lots of choice a this buffet but unfortunately it's a case of too many cuisines and not enough expertise in most. The Indian options are, understandably, the best executed. Everything else (pizza, pasta, crepes, desserts, etc) are mediocre at best. In general, this cafe strives to do too much at once and, I'm afraid, fails to deliver. Perfectly serviceable as a lunch option for those staying at the hotel, however, and certainly better value than in-room dining.

1  Thank businss_travell3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at Lotus Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2015

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings.

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and I have shared your feedback with the relevant department head. Your suggestion will be taken into consideration and we will ensure that you have a better service and food experience on your next visit.

We look forward to welcome you back at our hotel.

Best Regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 420 of 472 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had been to this cafe with our office group, and spent having a lazy lunch over almost three hours. We liked the multiple cuisine choices, and to end with a wide spread of desserts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anilkannambille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at Lotus Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We value our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. I’m pleased that the culinary teams are offering great services and variety of cuisines to guests that are deeply cherished and enjoyed.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best Regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We ate dinner two times at the Lotus Cafe located at JWM in mumbai. The place is very nice looking at the water fountains and the selection of food is just great. The variety includes indian dishes, international, meats, chicken, italian dishes and a big desert island.

what needs to be improved is that most of the dishes contain alcohol or wine and secondly pork dishes are not clearly marked. One of us took pork dish and we were about to eat when one of the waiters came and told us not to eat since we looked moslems. i understand that some dishes need to be cooked with wine but also there should be some without it.

a month ago i wrote a review about the hotel saying that the whole lobby is spelling chilli and curry and they should restrain from open cooking. it seems that this time they have done something or refrained from cooking hard stuff hence the air at the restaurant was fresh, well done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kwamtoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at Lotus Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2015

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings.

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and I have shared your feedback with the relevant department heads. Your suggestion will be taken into consideration and we will ensure that you have a better service and food experience on your next visit.

We look forward to welcome you back at our hotel.

Best Regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Beautiful view, great light, excellent service, fast food preparation, helpful chefs who will chat with you (you don't find that often at these places!) and explain what various local foods are and what they're best eaten with... Just a really lovely experience- even for someone who isn't a big breakfast eater or a morning person :-)

Thank Jamies_oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at Lotus Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2015

Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast with us.

Thank you for your kind feedback on your experience; it is wonderful to know that our spread was a highlight for you!

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had Diwali Brunch at Lotus Cafe in JW Marriott Mumbai. It was good to book the table in advance on jwdining.com. The place became crowded later on. There is a large spread of dishes of different cuisines. However, the best was the Deserts with lot of choices. Service was efficient and lot of interactive stalls were there where you could customise your dish. Ambience was good and the dishes were delicious. Overall this buffet is recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rajandani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at Lotus Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2015

Dear Guest,

Greetings from JW Marriott Mumbai!

Thank you for your kind comments about your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Cafe also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Lotus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing