We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authencity at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Konkan Cafe

The Konkan Cafe
Ranked #72 of 14,477 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Authencity at its best”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Surprised!!!
Konkan cuisine at its best.
Great presentation, good fresh quality of ingredients.
Service with a smile
Loved it.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Percy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    87
    22
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Konkan cafe”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Really good food and ambience. Don't miss out on the appams and mutton combination if you are going there for something special

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abhinav_Mathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Going down”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place for its ambience and food. It was disappointing this time. The paneer starter was made from stale paneer. The chicken starter had so much salt that it almost tasted bitter. Pomfret fish starter was excellent though.
Mutton chop was horrible in the main course. Veg stew was excellent which was served with piping hot appams. Our compliments for the excellent and attentive service. I think the restaurant needs to seriously look at its sourcing of fresh food.

Helpful?
Thank jainajaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
136 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A wonderful introduction to fine Indian dining”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had just one night in Mumbai, and chose this based on tripadvisor reviews - and were not disappointed. With little experience eating Indian fare, and a preference for non-spicy food, we asked the manager to select our menu. He took excellent care of us. Back home now, I'm not even sure what we had, I just remember it was delicious. We loved the setting as well as the exceptional service. The only negative was that I ordered a glass of wine without thinking to ask the price (I decided I could live without wine the rest of the trip, now aware of the high taxes on foreign wine). This turned out to be one of the few places in our entire trip that our request for non-spicy fare was actually honored - and the food was still delicious. And when I commented that our trip was in celebration of a Big Birthday for my husband, which he had spent entirely on Delta, they surprised him with a lovely dessert. I'd love to return to Mumbai, and to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank artichokeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“delicious food excellent service”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Authentic konkani coastal food. Extremely obliging staff and lovely atmosphere and decor. The fish thali is excellent and the appams and stew [chicken and veg] are delicious; a great place to take your 'foreign' visitors for a taste of the Konkan belt.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank valbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Konkan Cafe also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to The Konkan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing