We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Dragon

Golden Dragon
Ranked #45 of 14,438 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $76
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Golden Dragon has an illustrious history of over 40 years of serving fine Sichuan and Cantonese cuisine in Mumbai. Under the guidance of our talented Chefs, the Golden Dragon boasts of an elaborate à la carte menu, provincial specialties and a Sunday Dim Sum brunch buffet containing extensive varieties of Dim Sum. The restaurant is particularly noted for its live kitchen plating delicious steamed seafood, Peking Duck, and authentic Beggar's Chicken which is prepared over 24 hours of slow marinating and cooking. Step in to experience the exotic flavours of the Orient in the heart of Mumbai.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

It was a business meeting, and a quick lunch. The food was amazing. The Golden Fried Prawn was just superb, this not to say the other food we ordered was anything less.

Ambience, service excellent.

For a foodie, this is a place to visit. In my opinion at the top of the table for Chinese in Mumbai.

A bit pricey though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RPM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    91
    26
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

There's that certain "I don't know what" about the restaurant. The food is fantastic and the service top notch. You know you are at the Taj.
Very very pricey but somehow it seems worth it when you exit. Absolutely love the place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ppkapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lipsmackin' goood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

have a delectable wine list!.. humble effficient service, decent ambience and great foood! loved the crispy spinach!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentota, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peking Duck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were staying in the hotel and went to this restaurant our first night. Excellent service with great view over the sea front but the best part was the Peking Duck. Outstanding as I am sure all the food would be.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank shangrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
235 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Down memory lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I revisited this restaurant after 34 years. While a lot has changed one thing has not - it is the friendly, courteous staff who make you feel at home from the moment you enter. As expected, the surroundings were very elegant with nothing to be faulted. They did fumble a bit with our drinks orders but that was sorted out.
For starters we had the bay prawns and baguette, dry red chilli and the stir-fried duck. The pawn and baguette was a very interesting combination.
For mains we asked for honey spare ribs and whole crab Singapore chilli. But since we were already quite full we asked the waiter if he could cancel the rib order. He did so without a fuss.
All in all it was a leisurely experience and a high point of our stay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RocketCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Dragon also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Golden Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing