We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place”
Review of Golden Dragon

Golden Dragon
Ranked #82 of 14,536 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Golden Dragon has an illustrious history of over 40 years of serving fine Sichuan and Cantonese cuisine in Mumbai. Under the guidance of our talented Chefs, the Golden Dragon boasts of an elaborate à la carte menu, provincial specialties and a Sunday Dim Sum brunch buffet containing extensive varieties of Dim Sum. The restaurant is particularly noted for its live kitchen plating delicious steamed seafood, Peking Duck, and authentic Beggar's Chicken which is prepared over 24 hours of slow marinating and cooking. Step in to experience the exotic flavours of the Orient in the heart of Mumbai.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent place”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Celebrated my 30th birthday in golden dragon &they made sure it was a memorable experience for me .the staff is very friendly &knows how to make guests feel at home. The food is awesome, ambience is warm & beautiful.the gesture that touched me the most was the effort the staff took to get me a surprise birthday cake in such short notice really efficient staff .looking forward to visit this place again very soon.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chandrasjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    94
    26
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Chinese food excellent”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The best Chinese food you can get in town, its not cheap but the atmosphere the service is very good, the mostly for couple and business or birthday. They will make it as you like it my personal liking is super spice

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pawansekhsaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Most Over-rated Indian Chinese Restaurant in Mumbai”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This restaurant is another culinary institution but I am not a huge fan of the food here. I found the food to be very greasy and excessively spicey. If you find yourself in the Taj Mahal hotel (where the restaurant is located), head to (wasabi) the Japanese restaurant instead. Its the best Japanese restaurant in town!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NYCVik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
179 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Reasonable, not outstanding, Chinese food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We found ourselves in Mumbai for New Year’s Eve and since we were staying at the Taj Mahal Palace, it was easiest to stay in the hotel for dinner. We chose the Golden Dragon because it has a good reputation. Their New Year’s dinner worked out to be ~$180 US dollars per person, which is certainly expensive by local standards.
I think the restaurant should be recognized for using good ingredients, and the dishes are carefully prepared. The dim sum is homemade and nicely handcrafted. However, the dishes are average in terms of taste. All the dishes tasted OK, but nothing stood out as being excellent or outstanding. The dessert, which including a dumpling filled with finely diced apple, came the close to being interesting. Compared to Chinese restaurants around the world, this place would be lucky to get a B minus or C plus at best, and for the price one should expect more. There may not be too many Chinese restaurants in Mumbai, however. Service is professional but not particularly friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodgenes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
477 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“food is good”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

went for lunch today and tried several dimsums and brocolli one was excellent. corn soup was superb. haka noodles were really good. yu should try a dozen types of chinese tea. the resturant a bit expensive but worth the value. must if someone likes chinese food. so much veg option,

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nirajsomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Dragon also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Golden Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing