We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too pricey”
Review of Manoribel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manoribel
Ranked #91 of 461 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We went there as a midweek break - what's with the work and heat!! pheww!!

From the time of booking till us leaving this place, what we noticed is that although pretty basic this place is way too pricey.

First hint of the problem was with the booking - despite getting assurances from the resort staff itself that since its midweek we don't have to make advance booking, finally we had to. They happened to have an office in town side and staff over there instructed as to do last minute advance payment. Oh, that hassled last minute payment!!

After arriving at the resort, first thing what we noticed was how spacious and well spread out this property is. It's well-planned and radiates a feeling of coziness. We've allotted the rooms in the back, as most of the cottages were either occupied or been quoted at a higher tariff (even for just a one day stay).

Nothing to mention about the rooms; which are compact and hidden behind the main property. All of them have mosquito net covered beds and very incorrectly placed bathrooms (straight in front of main door!). They are roomy and clean enough, but we have been used to such places too.

Coming to the food options, frankly speaking there are enough. But while ordering food, you'll have to be mindful of prices. Food as well as water is charged exorbitantly here. Albeit fish is surprising more costly here than the local rate (after all it’s being a fishing village). We tried both chicken as well as fish and concluded that indeed chicken was far tastier. A handy tip is to carry your own water to the resort, as even water is sold at a super marked up price. Nothing to write home about dessert as they are hardly any, but still on my insistence we had caramel custard. A tiny-winy bowl of custard - tasting strictly ok, for almost 100/-

Just to conclude, it's nice and chic resort. What makes it more attractive is- it's almost within the city limits. Still, we will rethink before going there again due to the cost effective factor. For all said and done, it's not worth for all the high rankings or super inflated prices.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank charanti_inde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 152 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

Ended up booking Manoribel last minute for good friday weekend. Got lucky due to last minute cancellations. I will rate it one of the finest short breaks we had.

first, its so close to even drive - that you are not exhausted by the time you get back home
second, great place - nothing fancy - basic clean rooms. All cottages have a great balcony/seating outside - and except mosquitoes - its great to sit there all evening and sip your drinks.
third - good food but great people. No room service per say - basic food - nothing fancy. but you end up liking it and eating far more (and even digest the same). Surprisingly they themselves will advise you to take 'one thali' for two people. (suggestion will be to reduce the size of thali and price appropriately)

you have to carry your alcohol. They serve only beer and its not easy to find alcohol nearby. Beach is nothing to talk about.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Youjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

After traveling the world to fancy places with manicured lawns, room service this place is like a breath of fresh air. Its a very old establishment by the sea with lovely old trees, hammocks and the beach. For the kind of money we spend nowadays traveling its good value.
The big plus point is, though the place looks dated, its spotlessly clean. Food is good although a little high priced and there is nothing nearby to to go for a meal.
In a nutshell, a flashback to twenty years ago where we went to family run establishments where the whole family/large group hung out together chatted played cards and kids climbed trees.
Great option an hour away from Mumbai in case u are the kind who would like to stay at a non-five star for a change!

Room Tip: There are AC and non AC options. When its not too hot the place is quite cool so a non ac works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeenalmumMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We went in over the long weekend of Good Friday and Easter. The minute you enter the resort you realize its a haven. We stayed in cottage '4' and the room was absolutely clean. The bathroom was extremely clean. Room service is not immediate..you do get served good amazing hot snacks in the room but it takes the time it takes to make a fresh batch of pakoras and not reheated or refried stuff. The dining area is pretty homely. You walk in to the counter and the kitchen is open and let them know what is it you want to eat and they rustle it up for you. There are hammocks you can laze on all day watching the boats bobbing on the sea. This place is child friendly. They can run about, play in the garden etc. You cant take your pets here. All in all a good place for a quick recharge if you are a mumbaikar and looking for a place to rest and recharge without having to drive for hours.

Room Tip: Beach facing cottages are the best..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank latha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I live in Malad and Manoribel is my fav mini Goa get away. Just one ferry ride away it's calm peaceful with great Goan food and a beautiful view. The staff is nice. It is a bit on the higher side as far as costing goes, but I guess that's why the people who visit aren't noisy drunk riff rafs like the other places around.

Need a quick weekend getaway... Go here. You can watch d sunset with beer and book in hand :)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BexNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Manoribel has become an annual feature of my family calendar as it has a simple rustic and restful feel to it that draws one back for some much-needed R&R in the mad rush of Mumbai. It's just an hour or so away from most points in Mumbai and yet totally quiet and peaceful, with a village-ambience lending an innocence to the resort. Amenities are quite basic while the absence of a TV in the room makes for great family-oriented quality-time as do the different sports options on offer. The beach is right at ones footsteps and is relatively clean and deserted. The hammocks in the coconut grove near the beach add to the slumberous and relaxing experience.The home-grown spinach dishes are awesome and the saturday tandoori dinner a good variation while the caramel custard is also great. The food is a bit on the expensive side though. The sea-water, due to its proximity to Mumbai, is polluted and best avoided however. Overall, its a lovely unwinding experience for a family/couple.

Room Tip: Cottages no.5, 6 & 7 are on the quietr end and on the beach-front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samreeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We chose to visit the Manoribel as a first stop in India to avoid the cost and hassle of staying in Mumbai city. We were travelling with children and definitely made the right choice. It's a spacious and very relaxed place which only seems to fill up on Saturdays and Sundays with weekenders from the city. We had an air-con garden room but as it wasn't humid at all we decided that we should have booked the sea-facing cottages which looked idyllic. The facilities were great for kids with table tennis, basketball, treehouse and play area as well as direct access to the beach. The environment was really pleasant with a beautiful kitchen garden and greenhouse to admire. The only improvement would be in the speed of service in the restaurant and perhaps the choice of dishes on offer.

Room Tip: Go for the beach-facing cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CarlaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbai (Bombay)
The Resort
#42 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
839 reviews
Bandra West
Pali Beach Resort
Pali Beach Resort
#220 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
285 reviews
The Retreat Hotel & Convention C...
#110 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The E Hotel at Eskay Resorts
#106 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
29 reviews
The Westin Mumbai Garden City
#4 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoribel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoribel

Address: Near Manori Village, Mumbai (Bombay) 400095, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 461 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $37 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing