We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely tucked in mumbai”
Review of Waterstones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterstones Hotel
Ranked #35 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed July 3, 2014

stayed there for 2 nights.. what a lovely design of the room and the wholeplace is designed like a small and warm place.the club attached to it is fantastic, very international and cool.
the only thing i dont understand is why the reception is on the 2nd floor.??

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhupendrasharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 592 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

Boutique hotel with elementary theme floors. Extremely luxurious, modern and stylish decor. We stayed in the beautiful mountain room which was quite spacious and interesting. I absolutely loved our stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JasmineKaurTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This place is so near to the airport and still is away from the noise and crowd of Mumbai. The theme based floors in the hotel is a great idea. Each floor is based on a theme from nature: fire, mountain, glacier etc., and has matching decor. The restaurant, buffet breakfast offers you out-of-the-routine variety. Staff is very courteous right from the driver who receives you at airport to the guard who sees you off. Lush green lawns and big pool are the assets. The only negative side is relatively narrow approach road and some slums in the vicinity. Overall, it is a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Glacier floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dheeraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Set across a stones throw away from the International airport is an oasis amongst the crowded Mumbai. You enter to find a lush green surroundings with water sounds and water walls but without the chaotic sound of Mumbai traffic.
Reception located on the 2nd floor has good ambience and the decor is aesthetic. The rooms are located over 6 floors with each floor having a separate theme. Very spacious and well maintained rooms take away all your travel exertion. The club is located just across and has a olympic size pool with natural surroundings.
The food is good. Service is prompt. Staff very courteous. Everything is aesthetic and soothing making it a memorable time spent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhishi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWaterstonesHotel, General Manager at Waterstones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. It was a privilege to have you stay with us at Waterstones Hotel. We are glad to learn that you were impressed with the overall services at our hotel. I have shared your feedback with my entire team. Your words of appreciation are huge motivation and encouragement for us at Waterstones. We will continue to strive to add more value and comfort to your future stays.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again at the Waterstones Mumbai.

Regards
Gayle Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Picture this - Five acres of lush lawns, an Olympic sized pool, an outdoor Jacuzzi, beach beds cued up in a row, all set amidst nature and waterfalls. One would imagine a place like this to be away from the city chaos, but this quaint getaway is tucked in a quiet corner of the city that never sleeps, Mumbai. The Waterstones Club is clearly one of Mumbai's best kept secrets. A secret because of its utmost priority to privacy and solitude; the Club is open only to its members and the hotel’s visitors.

If not a member or a member’s friend, staying at the hotel is the only option to have an access to the Club. Besides the architecture and the artistically done interiors, the Waterstones hotel is only half as impressive as the Waterstones Club. Though small in size, rooms on each floor follow a theme inspired by Fire, Marine, rainforest and Glacier.
Hundred meters away from the hotel, the club stands with its own identity. A glass-door view of the swimming pool is sure to get your attention first, white-skinned people swimming in it comes next. The club claims to have 70% of their members as foreigners. Unlike other lifestyle clubs, Waterstones does not offer life-time memberships. Reason being; the focus on expats who are ready to pay the price for a good life and do not plan to be in India only till their job requires them to be.

In the concrete jungle that we live in, where even to find a parking spot seems like a lottery, to swim in an Olympic-sized pool surely seems like a distant dream. Hey, but not for those who can pay up Rs 4 lakh a year and literally own all the amenities, the club has to offer!

Restaurant, The White Barn has an international feel to it with a spectacular view of the pool amidst lush greenery. With a fountain in the middle of a restaurant, Moon Girl, which serves Oriental cuisine, has a romantic feel to it. Inspite of paying a high price for the membership, the menu card doesn’t come any cheap. Priced as elevated as any other plush restaurant in town, the good thing is that the restaurants do a decent job with the food & drinks.

I was particularly impressed with the beautifully done-up library. The mini-stairway for an easy access to the books stacked up makes the library look as cute as a kids rooms. For entertainment lovers, the movie and music lounge is the place to chill. For gamblers, there is a cards room and the for the overgrown kids, there is a games room. For the sporty kinds, there's a squash court, badminton court and a big lawn tennis court! And everything else, any modern day lifestyle club will have.

The Spa, Bliss, has compact therapy rooms and while the masseuse does her job on you can stare at the interesting ceiling which is crowded with bamboo sticks. This is as interesting as the ceiling of the Waterstones Bar & Grill which has plant pots hanging upside down. An outsider can get a glimpse of the club by visiting the Bar & Grill or the Rocks Bar in the Hotel.

Now, would I recommend you buy the 4-lakh-rupees membership? Yes, if have lots of money, live close to the international airport in Mumbai and are deprived of these amenities. The other option would be to spend Rs 15000 for a night at the hotel and have a lovely weekend within the city!

For more reviews, visit my blog: www.kamiyajani.com

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamiya_Jani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWaterstonesHotel, General Manager at Waterstones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your heartening feedback about the facilities and services offered. It gives me great joy that we succeeded in making your stay a memorable one . We look forward to welcoming you in our midst again soon and hope to continue being your hotel of choice while in Mumbai.

Regards
Gayle Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I visited the Waterstone country club with some of my friends as one of my friends is a member there. Excellent place and totally cut-off from the rest of the city. I never imagined that there could be a place so quiet and peaceful.

An evening by the poolside is the perfect way to spend a lazy weekend. The food was well prepared and the staff very friendly,cheerful and helpful. They could definitely build on their menu though and serve more dishes. Try the chicken satay and the fish cakes. The sandwiches and pasta were also amazing. One of the dishes, the falafel wasnt available.

The rest of the evening was spent in the pub and the games room which has a good number of board games. This place is really good if you have to spend time with family and to destress.

Please keep up the good work and the great service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shek26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWaterstonesHotel, General Manager at Waterstones Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you so much for your commendation. Our main objective at the Waterstones Hotel is to ensure that all our guests are satisfied with their entire experience and from your wonderful feedback it seems that in your case this objective has been achieved. We are proud of our unique facilities that offer our guests a private movie lounge, games room, library, billiards room, state of the art gym, Olympic Size pool ,salon and spa as well as a wide selection of sporting facilities to choose from.
Looking forward to welcome you soon at the Waterstones Hotel.

Regards
Gayle Henriques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed at this property for two nights while on a business trip. This is a beautiful, peaceful, spacious hotel with a great grill restaurant. I stayed in a room with a really great view. I also found the pick up and drop from the hotel very convinient

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bidur_Dhaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Hilton Mumbai International Airp...
#31 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,359 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#19 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,307 reviews
The Orchid Mumbai Vile Parle
#43 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,910 reviews
Niranta Airport Transit Hotel & ...
#51 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
302 reviews
The Gordon House Hotel
#83 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterstones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterstones Hotel

Address: | Mumbai International Airport, Mumbai (Bombay) 400059, India (Formerly The Gordon House Suites)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#29 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#31 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#45 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $93 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waterstones Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 5 minutes driving distance from the Mumbai International Airport, Waterstones Hotel epitomizes the authentic quintessence of Boutique Hospitality at its best-small, luxurious & very intimate. Distinctive architecture, atypical design elements, attention to luxurious comforts and other distinctive touches characterize the Waterstones Hotel; providing a richer and special guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterstones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon House Mumbai
Gordon House Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing