We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oriental Residency
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
150
171
50
21
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
171
50
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslinking roadkhar stationluxury roomhour room serviceeggs to orderwalking distancerooms are smallbandra westmanager mrcomfortable staycentral locationbreakfast buffethis teamchecking indosahotel managementrestaurant staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 408 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed in the hotel from 22/03/2014 to 15/04/14. Initially, we intended to stay at the hotel for only 3 nights but due to the excellent staff and services we ended up staying for the whole duration we were in Mumbai.

Excellent location. Located in a serene and secure environment.Near the main bus station and a walking distance from the main shopping centre.

Food- served on time, tailored the food to our requirements. We particularly enjoyed chicken tandoori and roti tandoori

Room services- Cleanliness was maintained all through, bed sheets were changed often.

Staff- Very friendly, supportive and even took time to teach us basic Hindi! Manager, Assistant manager and front office staff were very supportive too. Helped in planning our trip to Gateway of India.

On our departure day, the staff served as early breakfast as we were leaving at 5p.m. They went a step further and packed an extra bite for us.

Sincerely thank the management and members of staff for their great hospitality. We really enjoyed staying at Oriental residency hotel.

A truly international hotel that we would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Mumbai.

Mr & Mrs Gitome
Kenya

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gitome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the food at our Soul restaurant & Bar. Our Chefs and Restaurant Managers would be delighted to know the same. It further encourages our belief to customize food for our esteemed guests.

Thanks for appreciating our location of our hotel. We are located close to Linking Road which is the mecca of shopping in Mumbai. Linking Road is Rated as the 7th in Mumbai and 20th in the world most expensive streets for Retailers. There are loads of pubs , restaurants and shopping around us. If your travel brings you back to Mumbai we would be more then happy to plan your travel in the city around the hotel.

When we get reviews such as yours it further instills our confidence towards enhancing guest comfort and safety. Thanking you once again and we look forward to having you stay with us in future.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

this hotel location is very convenient from other landmark middle of Mumbai. Staff is very co-operative and food is excellent. Rooms r in medium sized and the bed was huge. hotel cleanliness was also good. i enjoyed the most during happy hours of the hotel for drinks and beverages.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saurabhjain1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time out to write a review for The Oriental Residency.

We are glad to hear that our Food and Beverage Team was able to satisfy your personal food requests. It our constant endeavor to personalize guest food. I am also glad you enjoyed happy hours with us.

I would definitely share your comments with our entire team. My team and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Oriental Residency.


Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The tariff of hotel is hight but the rooms n hotel is really bad.. The service is poor . The rooms are very small and the size of the bathroom n TV is dismal...Avoid this hotel...the buffet breakfast is very stale.... .........................

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Shrutie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed the room size of our hotel. We also have Luxury rooms which is quite spacious and comfortable in our hotel.

I would like to sincerely apologies for the inconvenience caused to during your stay with us.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here on our first two nights in India (Feb 7 to 9 2014). We loved it so much that we came back on our last three nights before we headed home (March 4 to 7 2014). Why? Mr. Sameer and his staff - great customer service.... thank you! Restaurant food - buffet breakfast (not a big selection but more specialized/custom order which we preferred because it is more fresh) and dinner (we're still craving the burnt garlic rice in a clay pot - yum!). Location - walking distance to shopping streets, Khar station, bus stops. It is about 45 to 60 minutes to Colaba by train or bus but it's a great way to be with the locals. Price - definitely a good value compared to other areas in Mumbai (ie, Colaba, Fort).

Mr. Sameer, thank you for your kind hospitality. We really enjoyed staying at Oriental Residency and will definitely go back the next time we go to Mumbai!

Room Tip: Please avoid second floor beside the housekeeping closet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beezer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us on such an important occasion in your life.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Hotel is very conveniently located, close to shopping areas and a wide range of restaurants in Linking Road, Khar and Santacruz. Room was clean, bed was very comfortable. Service was excellent, all requests were taken care off within a few minutes by the courteous staff. Breakfast buffet had a good variety of dishes but i think the south indian selection can be improved upon in terms of taste. Again, service here was excellent, I liked that the waiter brought hot toast to my table with jam and butter instead of me waiting at the toaster as in other hotels. Overall, I had a fantastic stay for the entire week that I was there and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanishta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

It is extremely heart-warming to learn that you liked the hotel, the room, the food and the team was able to live up to your expectations and deliver exemplary services to you during your stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Mumbai.


Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews