We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will try this place one more time for sure.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oriental Residency
Ranked #66 of 465 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Fix the second elevator ASAP. It was no peace when I was given a room just next to the elevator under renovation. But I like the location of the hotel and the service was not bad either. There is always room for improvement though.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diju814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the room stay due to Elevator noise, We are in the process of upgrading our lift to Schindler Company and we will fix this within 15 days. Sorry for the inconvenienced caused.

We look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Mumbai.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 384 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Booked in for four days stayed 7 days a little expensive but Mumbai is is expensive so was value for money . The staff were fantastic every little query was answered and fixed quickly. Smiles and attention from all staff couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast buffet suits plain tastes through to indian food lovers. The beds are king size and soft. We changed rooms and found all were spacious and clean, bathroom comes with full range of consumables and great hot water and pressure. Hotel is in a quiet area only 100mtrs to main road and shops it's central mumbai. Everyone says stay at Colaba but after visiting there you only need to see it once with a tour and we found staying out of the hectic area easy to day trip elsewhere. They have a free airport transfer? Others have said it was hard to find but they have a new sign out front. We would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Not much difference between rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zacca01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us on such an important occasion in your life.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the oriental residency during december 2013.
The staff is very kind and willing to help us ... always with a smile. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast.
Our room was very clean, modern and clear.
For this price it seems difficult to find better !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Grizzly_Butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

It feels great to receive positive feedback and encourages the staff to strive for the better standards of the Hospitality. Thank you once again for sharing your experience of your stay at the Oriental Residency.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We chose to stay at the Oriental Residency in the period of May 2013, after much perusal through the TripAdvsior website when we saw that it had not only good reviews but also good pictures. To our disappointment, the hotel was exactly the opposite from what has been portrayed about it. The bad experience began from the word go where the hotel forgot to pick us up from the airport. Hoping that the room would compensate for such pick up service, it only got worse – the poor service levels only escalated. Despite having booked a premier room, we were forced into accepting a standard room that was filthy and unkempt. On expressing our rights for what we had paid, we were moved to a premier room and clearly told that that is the only room available. The room was totally unacceptable – the paint had started to chip off, the pillows had blood stains (the hotel argued that that is all they had and merely changed the pillow cover after much hesitation), the bed sheets had yellow stains and hair all over it, bathroom floor was dirty making it hard to step on. At this point, we had completely lost hope with zero expectations now from the hotel.

Breakfast service was another aspect that added on the to the bad experience. The curries were swimming in oil, an omelet and simple masala tea took 30 mins to arrive, and there was absolutely no variety in the food being served. For about $100 a night, we were really expecting better service. Now that we had made up our minds to look for a better-valued hotel, we felt a sigh of relief. However, the hotel’s assistant manager did not take any action to make our stay any better and was least bothered. All they cared about was wanting to charge us more for any little extra service we took up, for instance wi-fi and telephone calls. This made us question what was really important to this hotel. A sound customer experience or merely just wanting to make money?

On wanting to leave the hotel, the manager was extremely hesitant and unhelpful in facilitating the refund. It is very unfortunate indeed that the management itself does not understand the value of customer satisfaction.

Attached are some pictures, which show less than 50% of what to expect at this hotel. Going to Mumbai after 10 good years can tarnish the city’s image if you decide to stay at the Oriental Residency owing to their low standards.

In conclusion, I highly do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank s4loni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Booked into this hotel as a luxury break during a budget travelling holiday so I do not have much to compare this to in regards to similar hotels in Mumbai. Room was lovely with great shower and modern air con, very helpful staff and decent location close to linking road. Only reason for not giving 5/5 is just not feeling I got value for money. Yes I had an excellent stay but the price was just a little too much and when you have to pay for wifi I ended up feeling it was a little too much, even considering the location. All in all though a very good stay. The restaurant below the rooms is certainly worth eating in if you get a chance during your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henrythehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was my first trip to India with my family and Mumbai was our last destination before we headed back to Malaysia. After reading all reviews on tripadvisor I booked this hotel thinking it will be a great hotel to stay. Unfortunately I didn't like the service that was received , the cleanliness was very poor and unfriendly staff especially Mr Amit and Mr Deepak.

Whenever we had a small request, there was always a negative answer first before a solution can be given. It was always a ' cannot Mem ' , ' I'm sorry mem we can't ' ... What kind of a customer service is this ?

On our last day of checkout , our flight was at midnight and hence we needed a place to just freshen up at abt 6.00pm before we headed to the airport. I had requested tht can we just be given a room ( not to stay obviously ) but just needed to freshen up and change into warmer clothings. Well the response we got from Mr Deepak was sorry we need to charge you RS 3000 for that. I mean what kind of a service is this ? It was not that we wanted to sleep or bathe in the room that the hotel needed to take money out of us. In Amritsar and Delhi we had late flights and the hotels there were so accommodating and great that they were ever willing to do anything for us.

The most important thing is that there was no wifi. Guest at the hotel needed to pay to get wifi and this to me was utter rubbish because being guest , we should be given access on a complimentary basis and not pay.

The worst thing is I had given clothes for laundry and when it came back, they lost my daughter's jeans. I told Mr Fahad and the person who took my laundry to please find the pair. The first response given by them is it cannot be lost by them because previously there have never been complaints from customers. I was already furious at that moment and I told Mr Fahad no matter what I want the jeans back. On the same evening the housekeeping guy knocks on my door with my daughter's jeans in his hands. So what does this tell you ? They are so unprofessional.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone . This hotel was bad.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimeeNov2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!


We are glad you were able to enjoy a generous service experience with us and have carried back fond memories of your stay at our property. Every effort is made to ensure that world-class facilities and comforts are offered to our guests and appreciative comments such as yours are most encouraging and will always be our greatest reward.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Timeous pick up, clean rooms, lovely food, convenient location and amazing staff. Joshua who was always smiling and checking on my injured foot..Deepak who always gave me the wake up call and did a seamless check in..and Fahad who was simply so so helpful that he just went the extra mile in too many ways to describe.. Sweety and Steven and even the quiet but helpful bellboy! Luggage weighing.. Suggestions for nearby doctors when I needed it...and even breakfast in my room when I Cldnt make it downstairs due to my injury... Simply a superb experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neelu786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It is feedback from esteemed guest like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Hotel Regal Enclave
#76 of 465 in Mumbai
271 reviews
Bandra West
Hotel Executive Enclave
Hotel Executive Enclave
#79 of 465 in Mumbai
347 reviews
Hotel Bawa Suites
#130 of 465 in Mumbai
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramee Guestline Hotel Khar
#355 of 465 in Mumbai
104 reviews
Bandra West
Grand Residency Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#71 of 465 in Mumbai
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental Residency

Address: P.D. Hinduja Marg, Next to Khar RTO | Khar, Mumbai 400052, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: $85 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oriental Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Residency is in Bandra, a hip neighborhood in Mumbai. A 5-minute drive from Khar Train Station, the hotel’s front desk and restaurant are conveniently open 24 hours a day.Offering city views of Mumbai, rooms at The Oriental Residency have a flat-screen TV and a safe. A minibar and tea/coffee making amenities are also provided. The private bathrooms have shower facilities.Soul Restaurant and Bar offers seafood, Indian and international dishes, with vegetarian options. Room service is also available 24 hours a day.Travel services include car rental and ticket or tour bookings. Express laundry and ironing services are also available. The hotel provides free airport pickup and free on-site parking.The Oriental Residency is a 15-minute drive from Mumbai’s Santa Cruz Domestic Airport and a 25-minute drive from Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport. The Bandra Kurla Complex is just one mile away.Hotel Rooms: 44 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oriental Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Residency Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing