We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service - Malaysia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oriental Residency
Ranked #53 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor service - Malaysia”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was my first trip to India with my family and Mumbai was our last destination before we headed back to Malaysia. After reading all reviews on tripadvisor I booked this hotel thinking it will be a great hotel to stay. Unfortunately I didn't like the service that was received , the cleanliness was very poor and unfriendly staff especially Mr Amit and Mr Deepak.

Whenever we had a small request, there was always a negative answer first before a solution can be given. It was always a ' cannot Mem ' , ' I'm sorry mem we can't ' ... What kind of a customer service is this ?

On our last day of checkout , our flight was at midnight and hence we needed a place to just freshen up at abt 6.00pm before we headed to the airport. I had requested tht can we just be given a room ( not to stay obviously ) but just needed to freshen up and change into warmer clothings. Well the response we got from Mr Deepak was sorry we need to charge you RS 3000 for that. I mean what kind of a service is this ? It was not that we wanted to sleep or bathe in the room that the hotel needed to take money out of us. In Amritsar and Delhi we had late flights and the hotels there were so accommodating and great that they were ever willing to do anything for us.

The most important thing is that there was no wifi. Guest at the hotel needed to pay to get wifi and this to me was utter rubbish because being guest , we should be given access on a complimentary basis and not pay.

The worst thing is I had given clothes for laundry and when it came back, they lost my daughter's jeans. I told Mr Fahad and the person who took my laundry to please find the pair. The first response given by them is it cannot be lost by them because previously there have never been complaints from customers. I was already furious at that moment and I told Mr Fahad no matter what I want the jeans back. On the same evening the housekeeping guy knocks on my door with my daughter's jeans in his hands. So what does this tell you ? They are so unprofessional.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone . This hotel was bad.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimeeNov2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!


We are glad you were able to enjoy a generous service experience with us and have carried back fond memories of your stay at our property. Every effort is made to ensure that world-class facilities and comforts are offered to our guests and appreciative comments such as yours are most encouraging and will always be our greatest reward.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    155
    42
    18
    14
See reviews for
67
52
48
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blanes, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Timeous pick up, clean rooms, lovely food, convenient location and amazing staff. Joshua who was always smiling and checking on my injured foot..Deepak who always gave me the wake up call and did a seamless check in..and Fahad who was simply so so helpful that he just went the extra mile in too many ways to describe.. Sweety and Steven and even the quiet but helpful bellboy! Luggage weighing.. Suggestions for nearby doctors when I needed it...and even breakfast in my room when I Cldnt make it downstairs due to my injury... Simply a superb experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neelu786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It is feedback from esteemed guest like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My first time to India, I stayed at the Trident, a classic "Western" hotel in South Mumbai. I wanted to try something different this time, something more "local", so decided on The Oriental Residency.

The hotel is great in the things that matter most to me - the room and bathroom were clean and tidy, the air conditioning worked great, the staff were friendly and accommodating, and the wireless worked well (fast enough for eMail, browsing, but not for streaming video).

The neighbourhood is typical Mumbai, bustling and crowded, but the hotel is tucked on a relatively quiet place on a cross street. It's a short walk to Khar Road station and a Rs 10, 30-minute ride to Churchgate. I loved "commuting" and getting more of the local feel of the city.

If you want the luxury of the Trident/Taj, this isn't the place for you. But if you want a good, clean, comfortable hotel for a more local experience, and at a great price, it's the perfect spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Mumbai and also for posting a very positive review of our hotel for the benefit of the community.

The entire team at the Oriental Residency feels elated that you had a great experience while staying with us,it is our constant endeavor to provide highly personalized,unobtrusive service to our guest and your comments do help us know that we are achieving that objective

We look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Mumbai.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel is well located, close to the Linking Road markets. The room was clean and service was good. However, the rooms are quite cramped for a couple. We had the complimentary breakfast and it was not very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aswin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the hotel services. It further encourages our belief to customize food for our esteemed guests.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed the room size of our hotel. We also have Luxury rooms which is quite spacious and comfortable in our hotel. Please let me know for your next visit so that we can make your stay more comfortable.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and I must say it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.we were on top floor pleasant and quick inside the room . Good and knowledgeable staff specially Mr joshua tallkar who assist us and I felt like the rooma. Shopping was kms away and a decent place to visit, overall exerperience was very good,thanks to all staff at Oriental residency

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nartey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Mumbai and also for posting a very positive review of our hotel for the benefit of the community.

The entire team at the Oriental Residency feels elated that you had a great experience while staying with us,it is our constant endeavor to provide highly personalized,unobtrusive service to our guest and your comments do help us know that we are achieving that objective

We look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Mumbai.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT DENIS REUNION
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Hotel is well located , in khar bandra west !!
Room is clean and it is not noisy !!

I appreicate the welcoming , the kindness and the attention of the staff

Delicious meals are served in the restaurant by a qualified personnal : GOPAL was an excellent person well attentionned and taking care of us !! I APPRECIATE HIS SERVICE !!!

Room Tip: VERY GOOD HOTEL for taking a rest , for shopping ( shopping area is near: linking road!!) Nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROMACA666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer Y, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel The Oriental Residency, Mumbai and taking your time out to share your experience with us through TripAdvisor!

It feels great to receive positive feedback and encourages the staff to strive for the better standards of the Hospitality. Thank you once again for sharing your experience of your stay at the Oriental Residency.

Thanks & regards,

Sameer Yelve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel rooms are too small for the price they quote... I have stayed in much better places in Mumbai for that kind of money... the hotel exterior specially is very disappointing... the road was closed, so at first, one can't even make out that there is a hotel there... I expected much better... the room pics on website look much better than they actually are... I asked for breakfast at 6 in the morn earlier night as I had a flight to catch, but I had to call twice to get it, that too late...only 1 lift was working n that too took long to come, I had to take the stairs everytime... food was decent though... Location is perfect if u wanna go shopping as linking road is just 2 mins away... and hill road 10 mins away... so if it suits u, good.. but mine was not a delightful experience I wud say...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooja_Kabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Bandra West
Hotel Executive Enclave
Hotel Executive Enclave
#83 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
338 reviews
Hotel Accord
#46 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
207 reviews
Hotel Regal Enclave
#69 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
#25 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
395 reviews
Grand Residency Hotel & Serviced...
#123 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
84 reviews
Hotel Bawa Suites
#140 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental Residency

Property: The Oriental Residency
Address: P.D. Hinduja Marg, Next to Khar RTO | Khar (West), Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#46 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oriental Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Residency is in Bandra, a hip neighborhood in Mumbai. A 5-minute drive from Khar Train Station, the hotel’s front desk and restaurant are conveniently open 24 hours a day.Offering city views of Mumbai, rooms at The Oriental Residency have a flat-screen TV and a safe. A minibar and tea/coffee making amenities are also provided. The private bathrooms have shower facilities.Soul Restaurant and Bar offers seafood, Indian and international dishes, with vegetarian options. Room service is also available 24 hours a day.Travel services include car rental and ticket or tour bookings. Express laundry and ironing services are also available. The hotel provides free airport pickup and free on-site parking.The Oriental Residency is a 15-minute drive from Mumbai’s Santa Cruz Domestic Airport and a 25-minute drive from Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport. The Bandra Kurla Complex is just one mile away.Hotel Rooms: 44 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oriental Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Residency Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing