We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to live in Mumbai on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oriental Residency
Ranked #60 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
DXB
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great place to live in Mumbai on a budget”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Found the hotel via Trip Advisor while searching for a clean but reasonable hotel near Bandra, and it lived up to its rating.

Its a small hotel, but it is very well maintained (rare in Mumbai), squeaky clean and well serviced. You cannot go wrong with this hotel - I've lived in more expensive properties that were not as well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    155
    42
    18
    15
See reviews for
67
52
48
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Located at a central location. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in was a bit small but I only stayed for a day and didn't mind it. The food is pretty good - instead of going to an outside restaurant, try the hotel food instead; all cuisines be it Indian or Italian.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddharth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Happy with the stay and facilities provided.
Some value added free services like WiFi is a MUST nowadays and should be included in the room tariff. The amount charged for Wifi for an hour is Rs. 100 and 24 hours is 300 and both are on the higher side when compared with rates prevailing in rest of the world. EVen my colleagues felt the same.
Ex : Cost of Wifi on monthly basis is 3600 in a hotel like ELITE in Bahrain. So per day it is 120.

Room Tip: Value can be excellent if more value added services are provided without any extra cost. Did not use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The rooms and hotel is quite clean. The staff is very helpfull. They provide excellent breakfast and the in room dinning is also very good. The hotel is also located quite close to the Airport and they also picked me up from the Airport. On the whole I had a very comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The rooms are cozy and are maintained well. The lights are placed and adequate enough too. However, the switches, esp. of the essential one's are not fixed at the right place. There were no switches by the bed side, either for controlling the AC/Fan/Bed Lamp. The AC controls were only on the panel and didn't have a remote. Elevators are slow, not just in movement, but even in responding & door opening.
The complimentary b'fast was decent, but not many options. The service at the restaurant was good too. But when asked for help (at that instant) beyond their purview they failed to guide to the concerned person.
Check-In/Out process was smooth and without any hassles. The break-up too was clear.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjun_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I was travelling alone as a white woman from the States, and felt very comfortable staying at the Oriental Residency. The hotel room was very clean, very comfortable and I felt very safe. The free breakfast was always good, I ordered room service once and it came quickly and was delicious. The front desk staff was friendly, knowledgable and helpful, and they have a computer that you can use by the hour for internet for 100rps (about 2 dollars for an hour). I also used the laundry service once and was satisfied with it as well.

The neighborhood was great, sandwiched between SV Road and Linking Road (google maps inaccurately shows it a few blocks to the east of where it actually is) and there are lots of restaurants, coffee shops and bars within the neighborhood that are either walking distance or a short rickshaw ride away. Walking around at night was less comfortable for me, as there were lots of children harassing me, begging, but during the day, I walked up and down Linking Road to coffee shops, and to shop at the numerous stands and stores along the long, and haggled for jewelry and shoes. My friend who lives in the neighborhood took me out a few times and some cool restaurants/bars were Totos (a pub with lots of ex-pats drinking and eating), Lemongrass (thai restaurant), Mini Punjab Family Restaurant (get the butter chicken roll), Bonobos bar (very upscale/expensive bar up the elevator near the KFC on Linking Road), Olive (another upscale restaurant).

When riding a Rickshaw, my directions to the driver were Khar West, SV Road and then I watched and when I saw Dr. Banta's (I think?) on the right corner, I told the driver to turn right and then the hotel is almost immediately on the right again on that street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-OR, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Ms Jean P,

Thank you very much for taking your time out to write a review for us.
Its a pleasure for us to know that you found stay with us very safe & comfortable. It is one of our top priority for guests. I will indeed share this with my entire team.
I am also glad that you have enjoyed our hotel location as well. Like you rightly said we are located close to Linking Road which is the mecca of shopping in Mumbai. Linking Road is Rated as the 5th in Mumbai and 17th in the world most expensive streets for Retailers. There are loads of pubs , restaurants and shopping around us and we are glad you experienced it all.
When we get reviews such as yours it further instills our confidence towards enhancing guest comfort and safety. Thanking you once again and we look forward to having you stay with us in future.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Coomera
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012

the service we received was fantastic and second to none. We came from Australia for dental treatment and found the hotel to be very obliging with food requests and very clean and comfortable. The rates were very reasonable and the hotel was walking distance to the dentist. Managers and staff all very curteous and helpful. Even a trip around Mumbai with the hotel car and drivers were made available at a very reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor were very good and was large enough to be comfortable for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorichards12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager-OR, General Manager at The Oriental Residency, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Jo Richards,

Thank you for taking your time out to write a review for The Oriental Residency.
We are glad to hear that our Food and Beverage Team was able to satisfy your personal food requests. It our constant endeavor to personalize guest food. I am also glad you enjoyed your City Trip with our drivers.
I would definitely share your comments with our entire team.
My team and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Oriental Residency.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Hotel Accord
#47 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
210 reviews
Bandra West
Hotel Executive Enclave
Hotel Executive Enclave
#83 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
338 reviews
Hotel Regal Enclave
#66 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bawa Suites
#139 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
99 reviews
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
#23 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
405 reviews
Grand Residency Hotel & Serviced...
#121 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental Residency

Property: The Oriental Residency
Address: P.D. Hinduja Marg, Next to Khar RTO | Khar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#46 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oriental Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Residency is in Bandra, a hip neighborhood in Mumbai. A 5-minute drive from Khar Train Station, the hotel’s front desk and restaurant are conveniently open 24 hours a day.Offering city views of Mumbai, rooms at The Oriental Residency have a flat-screen TV and a safe. A minibar and tea/coffee making amenities are also provided. The private bathrooms have shower facilities.Soul Restaurant and Bar offers seafood, Indian and international dishes, with vegetarian options. Room service is also available 24 hours a day.Travel services include car rental and ticket or tour bookings. Express laundry and ironing services are also available. The hotel provides free airport pickup and free on-site parking.The Oriental Residency is a 15-minute drive from Mumbai’s Santa Cruz Domestic Airport and a 25-minute drive from Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport. The Bandra Kurla Complex is just one mile away.Hotel Rooms: 44 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oriental Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Residency Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing