We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, but TOO helpful”
Review of The Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cottage Hotel
Ranked #143 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed in a simple single room, and as a single female traveler felt very safe. Kind and able porters took my luggage up the steep stairs. Also, I thought my room and bathroom was nice and clean.

However, there were two downsides.

1. I had to catch a 6:50 am train the next morning at Bandra terminus, and had already had a taxing 18 hour journey from Singapore ( for a variety of travel snags) with little sleep. As I reached the hotel close to 10 pm, I thought I could at least rest for 7-7 1/2 hours before travel began. But because of heavy rains, the manager kept insisting I leave at 5 am because of flooded roads.

There was no such thing. I got to Bandra under 20 minutes through relatively dry roads, and then had to sit at the platform by myself for an hour and a half. Precious sleep time squandered.

2. Although the manager insisted I pay by the meter, the cab charged 300 Rs/-. The Cottage should form better relationships with taxi wallas to avoid this happening in the future.

Otherwise, a fine place to stay, and near plenty of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monabha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottageMumbai, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent stay at The Cottage,Mumbai & for your encouraging feedback.
We're glad you enjoyed your pleasant stay with us.

With warm regards.

Mukesh B.Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai.
0091-9820969756
0091-9870904406
0091-22-25217685
0091-22-25210300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 55 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stay date: May 21 2013

Over all experience: OKAY
Service: one notch above OKAY
AC worked. Bed comfortable. Bathroom Clean.
Take your own T.P. and DONT throw it into the toilet ;) Better use the 'faucet' to clean yourself, then use the TP to dry yourself. (that should give you a hint!)
Location excellent and yet DIFFICULT TO FIND because the hotel sign is so small and on the side of the building as opposed to in front. In front the sign to look for is SUBHASH HOTEL.
Front desk service: he was good to me but I have an impression that he could be difficult. When originally I had asked for detailed directions and wanted to confirm the hotel address he was not friendly at all saying all I need to tell the taxi driver is: OPPOSITE CHEMBUR EAST RAILYWAY STATION. Yeah. We circled around for 15 minutes! ( although IT IS OPPOSITE chembur rly station).

I would not mind staying there again for a night or two.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egleview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottageMumbai, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent stay at The Cottage,Mumbai & for your encouraging feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed your pleasant stay with us.

With warm regards.

Mukesh B.Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai.
0091-9820969756
0091-9870904406

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel being conveniently located nearer to Highway and Chembur station is decent and nice room service. A good budget hotel away from the crowd and easy access to other areas. The
reception Manager is friendly and takes care well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank venugopal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottageMumbai, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Mr.Venugopal,
Thank you for your recent stay at The Cottage,Mumbai & for your encouraging feedback.
We're glad you enjoyed your pleasant stay with us.

With warm regards.

Deepak B.Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai.
0091-9820969756
0091-9870904406

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked a large deluxe room for one night as three of us were staying here. The room was spacious and clean and the hotel is on the first floor of Subhash Lodge building which is very close to the Chembur Station. The are a lot other hotels around this property and some restaurants too.

Service staff were prompt and courteous and the place is good for short stay.

There was some renovation work going on near the staircase and they do not have railings to hold either. Due to this, my mom slipped and fell down 5 stairs and hurt herself badly. Apart from that, we had a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BrianAmmanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottageMumbai, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Sir, Thank you for your recent stay at The Cottage,Mumbai & for your encouraging feedback.Due to strike in Mumbai railing work is not finished as soon as possible we can finished this work and we apologize and say sorry for that incident. I hope again you visit our hotel.
with warm Regards,
Mukesh B.Shrivastava
(Manager)
0091-9820969756

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the night before my flight home. It's a bit out of the way but The Cottage is a comfortable stay if you're willing to pay a little extra, which I was after 36 hours on the road! Room service is swift and non-intrusive. Check-in and out was painless and the rooms are well kept. The manager is friendly and attentive. There's quite a few cafes and restauranta in the area to keep you occupied too. I would stay here again.

Note: There was construction work going on when I stayed, quiet at night but very noisy during the day. New rooms being used which do not match the photos on the website.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NeilPatMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottageMumbai, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent stay at The Cottage,Mumbai & for your encouraging feedback.Sorry for inconvenience now construction work is finished no noisy ..I hope we can make it more comfortable & more better when you stay with us again in Mumbai.

With warm regards.

Mukesh B.Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is strategically located and just 1 minute walk from Chembur Railway Station. Good for people who have business in New Bombay area, Thane, Sion etc. The rooms are pretty neat and clean. All rooms are built in European style and with good taste. The owner is a Doctor and you will find a roommate in him. The staff are very courteous.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ACCUDIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottageMumbai, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing The Cottage,Mumbai, we`re glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

with warm regards

Mukesh B Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed at the Cottage Hotel for two nights on 3rd and 4th February 2013 and wish we had stayed longer. This Hotel doesn't look much from the outside, but don't be fooled. We had booked our stay online several months previously and chose this Hotel based on previous Tripadvisor reviews and weren’t disappointed.

Once inside the rather shab looking building the true quality of the establishment emerged. We received a warm, genuine welcome at reception and were quickly taken to our room.

Our immediate impression was that the premises were spotlessly clean and our room was no different. The room was spacious and very clean, with comfortable beds, sofa, table, high quality cable television, large refrigerator, ample bathroom, very efficient air conditioning system, supplied bottled water, good and consistent wifi and so on. In fact there was everything we required.

We had both days booked to tour Mumbai itself but spent some time in and around the area of the hotel. We saw very few visiting European tourists in this area but we had a wonderful and inviting experience locally and received a typical Indian welcome from the local community.

We visited several local eateries, particularly a small cafe just on the corner by the hotel, whose freshly cooked local food, and particularly their fresh Samosas and Lassi, were excellent and the staff there could not have been more friendly or helpful.

There is a fascinating range of shops in and around the area and the various different street stalls that emerge at night were a delight.

Just around the corner there we found an assortment of restaurants and eateries all of which looked very welcoming with varied and interesting menus. We discovered the ‘Adarsh’, a very pleasant restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating where both the food and service were exceptional, a very short walk from the Cottage Hotel and we eat there twice.

So, all in all, a very pleasant stay overall and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCottageMumbai, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear John,
Thank you for your recent stay at The Cottage,Mumbai & for your encouraging feedback.
We're glad you enjoyed your pleasant stay with us.

With warm regards.

Deepak B.Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Hotel Shree Shlok Residency
#161 of 489 in Mumbai
1 reviews
Hotel Leafio
#103 of 489 in Mumbai
26 reviews
Vile Parle East
Golden Residency
Golden Residency
#284 of 489 in Mumbai
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rajhans
#148 of 489 in Mumbai
22 reviews
The Royal Orchid
#169 of 489 in Mumbai
84 reviews
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
#195 of 489 in Mumbai
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel

Address: 1st Floor 72 Hira Baug | Opposite-Grand Central Restaurant, Mumbai 400071, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: $36 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cottage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing