We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVERAGE HOTEL” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage Hotel
Ranked #144 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Rhodes, Greece
2 reviews
“AVERAGE HOTEL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe in the hotel coming from Jaipur.
It is located very close to the railway station.
The staff was very helpfull and the location is very good.
The hotel is on the first floor of a building but rooms
are very low quality .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ioanniskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for choosing The Cottage,Mumbai, we`re glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

with warm regards

Deepak B Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
9
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I came on vacation with my boyfriend, Mumbai was the first stop of the whirlwind tour of the incredible country of India. The Cottage was the perfect place for us to stay, so much homier and personal than if we had stayed at one of the large chain hotels. The hotel is very safe, I even see it being a great budget location for a family or group. If you go make sure to say hello to Deepak and Mukesh, they are the best!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for choosing The Cottage,Mumbai, we`re glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

with warm regards

Deepak B Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Cottage is by far the best hotel in the Chembur area for business/corporate travelers. It's conveniently located close to the train station and bus stops, with 24x7 access to taxis and autos right outside the hotel. Great rooms - extremely clean, very well furnished with good interior design and more than enough space. The staff is as good as it gets, everyone from the management to the cleaning staff is very polite and courteous and they are committed to providing the best service to their guests. Room service is flawless with some amazing food options in the area. I was told that the owners of The Cottage also own the best (fast-food) Chinese restaurant in the same building. Will keep coming back to my home away from home!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaypatnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for choosing The Cottage,Mumbai, we`re glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

with warm regards

Deepak B Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kannur
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

From the onset, Mukesh dealing with phone calls, everything is just perfect at the cottage. Now The Cottage has become like my Mumbai home!! I just love, love, love the new rooms we were put up in (at no extra cost), the room service flawless, so safe to ensure a good nights sleep and I might add that there is no disturbance even if the road is bang opposite the rooms. Wholeheartedly recommended for anyone who wants to use Chembur as their base to explore the rest of Mumbai.

Room Tip: all the rooms on that floor are good, but opt for the new rooms - everything spotlessly white
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hyacinthKannur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for choosing The Cottage,Mumbai, we`re glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

with warm regards

Deepak B Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Chembur might not be everyone's plan for a stay in Mumbai, but if you are thinking of this area, I recommend The Cottage. It is barely 2 mins from the railway station which takes you into Mumbai Central or Churchgate and is surrounded by shops and places to eat. The hotel is kept so clean you could eat off the floor, room service is friendly and helpful and the food (which may come from outside) is tasty and good value. As you might expect for a budget hotel, the rooms are on the compact side, but are well provided. Wifi was no longer available when I stayed, but the manager was extremely obliging with requests for help.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baazi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for choosing The Cottage,Mumbai, we`re glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

with warm regards

Deepak B Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kannur
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have stayed at the cottage this September and will stay here again when we next visit Mumbai. The rooms are clean, the staff extremely courteous and the room service good. I might add that it is also a very decent place for the most part as I had stayed here along with my old mother and did not at any point feel uncomfortable or threatened.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hyacinthKannur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for choosing The Cottage,Mumbai, we`re glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

with warm regards

Deepak B Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

Was looking for some budget hotel in mumbai to stay on a business trip.Room was clean, spacious & neat.Room service was fantastic. It is good corporate budget hotel. Station is only 2mins walking. great accessibility to downtown Mumbai. Loads of places to dine around this hotel(recommend it).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psy_error
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing The Cottage,Mumbai, we`re glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

with warm regards

Deepak B Shrivastava
Manager
The Cottage,Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rajhans
Hotel Rajhans
#146 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Orchid
The Royal Orchid
#135 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#46 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
#137 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Kumkum
Hotel Kumkum
#73 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Park Lane
Hotel Park Lane
#152 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel

Property: The Cottage Hotel
Address: 1st Floor 72 Hira Baug | Opposite-Grand Central Restaurant, Mumbai (Bombay) 400071, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cottage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing