We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mumbai
Post
Inbox
Search

“Mahesh lunch Home”
Review of Mahesh Lunch Home

Mahesh Lunch Home
Reserve a Table
Ranked #89 of 15,120 Restaurants in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Mumbai
Description: Established by Mr.S.C.Karkera in 1977; Mahesh Lunch Home has spearheaded Mangalorean food to newer heights. Mahesh Lunch Home has now become one of the most desired restaurants for satiating Mangalorean Sea Food hunger, for celebrities and families alike. Being the first & Best Seafood Restaurant in Mumbai to serve authentic Mangalorean food, we occupy a special place for ourselves and our cuisine in the hearts of our customers. Since our humble beginning in the late 70’s, whence serving only a few dishes, one of the most important being Surmai Curry & Butter Garlic Crab which many of our guests still remember devouring in our prime restaurant at Fort, Mumbai; we have expanded and proudly bring to you seven top-notch restaurants globally Ever wondered where to go for a sumptuous and fulfilling lunch with seafood served on your plate? Your thoughts should end right at Mahesh Lunch Home, Fort Mumbai. Known to be the best seafood restaurant in Mumbai, we serve every dish that falls under the seafood category. Too much for you under one roof; no better place to visit than Mahesh Lunch Home to re-visit your foodie-days. If at all, our menu leaves you confused, one dish that you can always call for is butter garlic crab. So if you happen to pass by, make sure to visit the best seafood restaurant in South Mumbai, along with your friends or family. No food is good food unless enjoyed in the company of good friends and loved ones and when at a place like ours, we are sure you will get to see the best of both good times and mouth-watering seafood on your plate.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mahesh lunch home is a well known name for fantastic sea food cuisine. It has branches in mumbai as well as out of mumbai. Fresh sea food including crabs, oysters and clamps available. Fish tandoori also available

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MANCHIMASTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Reviews seemed good yet quite disappointed in this restaurant. Despite it being fairly empty, getting drinks served to us took absolutely ages despite many requests to bring them over!! When we tried to order food, our waiter kept telling us to have something else as it would be too spicy! It was the insistence of the waiter though that made us nearly walk out! We finally got what we wanted and although the food was nice it was nothing special. The waiters kept hanging around us like flies which was also very off putting. Wouldn’t go back in a hurry!!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank C4808EIkarenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed our meal here. Service was good. The place gets busy later in night. The quality of meal was average. Not outstanding as we heard.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank ABDULGANI_ISMAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel so went to try some of their signature dishes. We were sorely disappointed. Overly salted food coupled with salty service. The waiters are pleasant but when they see you are a tourist they try to make a bit of extra money off you where they can. Simple things like switching for more expensive brands of water or bringing out the live crab without telling you there are two options. They are defensive when pulled up on it too. Safe to say we will not be returning.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank hungry_traveller_119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2019 via mobile

We had planned our walkabout around our plans to have lunch at this spot...definitely worth it.

We got there a bit early at 12:30pm on a weekday so pretty much had the place to ourselves.

We decided to have a couple of dishes and stuck to seafood. Had the Tandoori pomfret tikkas (soft and succulent), the shelled butter pepper and garlic crab and a manglorian styled shrimp curry with aapams and neer dosa. The highlight was definitely the crab dish....medium spicy for locals but think it would be considered 'spicy' for visitors such as us. I loved it but my family found it hot. The aapams were ok but the beer dosa was really soft and worth trying...a very different texture. The curry was nice too.

All in all came to about Rs 7k for 4 of us and largely because the crab dish was around half of that. Service was excellent.

I would highly recommend this spot and would suggest you stick with the seafood items.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank sidv1571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahesh Lunch Home also viewed

Mumbai, Maharashtra
Mumbai, Maharashtra
 
Mumbai, Maharashtra
 

Been to Mahesh Lunch Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing