We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly OK”
Review of U-tan Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
U-tan Sea Resort
Ranked #87 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A good getaway from the city but the resort requires a lot more maintenance. We were a group of people and thus booked a bungalow, it was spacious but not clean. The bungalow had 2 rooms. One smelt extremely funky and the hotel staff should have taken care of this problem before our arrival. It took them a long time to get rid off the smell which they stated was a dead lizard in the AC (not something you want when you are trying to relax.) There were bed bugs. The food was good, service was slow. On the plus side, the resort was well-located and takes only an hour and a half to get to from the city. The bungalow is far away from the other rooms so you can play loud music till whatever time you wish which is good for a party.

Room Tip: Book the bungalow for a group of friends.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Slo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for U-tan Sea Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

The road to get to the place has some very narrow roads, difficult to get by sometime, but also some gorgeous breath taking views.
Food delivery was prompt and decent to taste, although portions were small.
Its a fun place to go for a day picnic from mumbai or a short weekend getaway.
There are too many people in the pool, so we avoided the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeeJDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I would request everyone not to use the swimming pool.I have got bad rashes after using their pool.It was not maintained properly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank subham26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have been Visiting U-Tan resorts for the last decade...A lot has changed over the years..Some Good others not so.
Since the old manager has changed, I felt the warm reception one got has gone.and its like just another visit to any ordinary resort.
The Old cottages have been neglected a bit with the resorts expansions, and these are some of their lovelier rooms.
Still It's a lovely place with an amazing view of the Arabian sea..Not much to do except unwind and have a dip at the pool. It is really nice if you want a quick get away from the city with a short drive a couple of hours at the most.
will go back but not as often as I used to...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashleyrodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Rating – 7.6/10

Accessibility: 8/10

Ambiance: 7/10

Food: 7/10

Service: 8/10

Value for Money: 8/10

The Trip
The summers are here. Perhaps it won’t be wrong to say a quick holiday is customary – remember what you did in summer vacations?

Luckily, Karan’s MBA too has come to an end. After two years of toilsome weekends – yes,now he is a MBA (Manee Badhuu Awadecheee) – permitting us more time to cater to our first baby – www.lovenallthat.com.

Usually, people opt in for hill stations in summers to escape heat here (or to enjoy the cooler nights there), say places likeLonavala, Khandala, Mahableshwar and so on…

But the laborious hike to most of these destinations, along with the mandatory scorching heat through the journey made us re-evaluate the plan.

So this time the plan was to go somewhere close and simply unwind in company of the ocean breeze, birds chipping and a glass of, er, buttermilk (yaya I know “wine” would sound better here, but the teetotaler that we remain!).

So back to the plan, after a little bit of quick search, we narrowed down on this picturesque property called “U-tan”, a sea resort at Uttan near Bhayandar, approximately 50kms from Mumbai.

The road to reach the resort is a typical narrow lane – Indian road with chickens crossing, horrific public transport buses almost brushing you and an air full of strong dried fish odor.Though the moment you reach the resort, tranquil sets in.


Once you settle down in the room, it’s quite advisable to take a quick afternoon nap as the heat outside leaves you with no other option. With the evening setting in, all we did was unwind with a drink in our hands, the mood turning more romantic as gentle cool breeze made the tress go woosh-woosh, clouds changed their color, birds flying back to their nest, the night edging and giving us time to start discussing our loony plan to practically sell our honeymoon (Coming Soon: “Honeymoon on Sale” a scintillating road trip back in time to experience 14 heritage palaces across Northern India ).



The next day morning was all about checking out the resort, which consists of 20-25 cottages/bungalows having multiple rooms described with names like Classic or Compact. Trust us, the compact room is a little too compact and at times gets a bit claustrophobic, so our advice everyone is to book the Classic one as there is hardly any difference in the tariff’s. Also the swimming pool could use a little maintenance considering the pure green colored water which made us reassess our decision to swim.



The food was good but a bit pricy; with no eateries nearby, it would be a good idea to pack some munchies. The service levels were good, staff’s pretty polite and attentive tour needs. In the end, the resort managed to be what we really hopped for i.e. meets expectations but did not succeed in delighting us.

Out of Pocket Expenses
Room: 2700 INR

Food: 1700 INR

Travel: 300 INR

Total: 4700 INR for 1 night and 2 days



To go or not to go…

With petrol prices sky rocketing, we would definitely recommend the place not only for couples but families too as good destination/places to visit near Mumbai.

Room Tip: Carry liquor if you booze!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lovenallthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The resort is well maitained & the pool is clean. The place is pretty nice & the view from the hotel is beautiful. The food is average & the place has a lot of flies which could be irritating. Nice place for a one day picnic with family

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ZenobiaDsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

The swimming pool was a huge disappointment as it was dirty and not fit for swimming at all. The staff gave a lame excuse and still did nothing to fix it... The food is very good, but really expensive... The service is slow as Der was just one waiter serving... The rooms are spacious and well furnished... The landscaping is nice... The restaurant is g8 and offers a lovely view of the sunset... Overall we had a good time, minus the glitches mentioned above... And yes, they don't stock booze and don't allow the booze that u carry to be consumed in the restaurant, due to license issues...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DilrajSandhu-Gandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbai (Bombay)
8.9 mi away
The Resort
The Resort
#47 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
802 reviews
16.9 mi away
Pali Beach Resort
Pali Beach Resort
#193 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
283 reviews
9.5 mi away
Suvi Palace
Suvi Palace
#2 of 2 in Vasai
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Vasai Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre
The Retreat Hotel & Convention C...
#111 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Maxwell Cum Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U-tan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U-tan Sea Resort

Address: Chowk Dongri Via Uttan | Bhayander, Mumbai (Bombay) 401106, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $75 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — U-tan Sea Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
u-Tan Sea Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing