We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross rooms”
Review of Hotel Fortune

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fortune
Ranked #337 of 461 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This place is not really in walking distance to anywhere. A cab to Colaba was only $1 so that was good, but the rooms sucked. Dirty EVERYTHING, the a/c was either on or off and if it was on it was at 25 degrees no higher or lower. The sheets were stained. The shower head is right betwen the toilet and the sink so its impossible to shower without completely soaking the ENTIRE bathroom. The service was fast and friendly but I think you can find that anywhere

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 228 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2012

The overall property is average. The rooms are overall average. I had put up for a business trip, looking at the location. Food service is tolerable, bathrooms are just workable. Considering the cost and location, the property can be considered for stayting.

Room Tip: no specfic choice because a usual in metro cities, is difficult to find a hotel where y get sunlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lari15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Happened to stay in this hotel thinking that going for my business meetings would be easy. The location is fantastic as it is near Metro and approachable from both Churchgate and CST. It was easy as most of the meetings were in Nariman Point and Fort area. But should have taken any other decent hotel.
Inside the hotel – the reception is small and the lift is so small that only one person with a luggage can stand in. The lobby area was not looking good and it was stinking a little.

The room also was like that. There are two single cot bed on either side of the room. I don’t know why they have put two beds separately. They should have combined that and made it a little bigger. The room itself was small and not worth for the money spent. The restaurant is in the open terrace. They have just put 4 tables and 12 chairs. They have all kinds of food, but the complimentary BF is restricted to toast + corn flakes + milk + eggs + juice + tea. All only once and no extra.

Service was very average and the customer will not get a satisfaction in staying. A lots of compromise should be made.

Room Tip: Just for 1 or 2 days and when other hotels are unavailable..good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venkatesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I booked and paid this hotel online well in advance. By email the hotel confirmed to us that it would not be a problem for us to stay with them even though my boyfriend is Indian and I am an Indian with a European passport. Upon arrival the room was very tiny and dirty, but the bell boy was sweet and we decided to stay the night. We went out for dinner in the night, but when we returned to the hotel, the clerk at the reception called us in our room at 2 am in the morning to tell us, that we were not allowed to share a room. At first we really tried to understand and explain that we had booked from home and that if this was the policy they should have adviced us upon arrival. But after a while the clerk got really rude and would not allow us to go back to our room and rest. Either we had to pay for another room or leave. We referred to our initial e-mail correspondence but the clerk was having his anger out on us. Finally we decided to leave immediately and asked for our money back but then he became very theathening. So we were left in the street in the middle of the night with nowhere to go. So please be advised: avoid avoid avoid!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SNK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Firstly, you may be confused by the varying reviews on this site. The reason for this is that there are 2 Fortune Hotels in Mumbai - one is in Navi Mumbai and part of the Fortune Select Group of Hotels, which is a luxurious 4 star hotel chain, while this Fortune hotel is at Marine Lines in South Mumbai and is a hell hole to be avoided at all costs. If you see reviews which mention golf course, swimming pool, continental food, wifi, they are NOT refering to this hotel, so please disregard them. This is more like a hostel, with tiny smelly rooms, and no pretense of luxury whatsoever. Check carefully to be sure which one you are booking.

I booked three nights here, but left early because it was so bad. The check-in was smooth and efficient, but when we got to the room (twin beds instead of the advertized double), we were in for an unpleasant shock. The website is very misleading - the rooms are old and smelly. The bed sheets and towels were covered with stains, even though they were laundered.

The blankets were mouldy and smelled so bad I actually threw up. It was so bad, we decided to leave the hotel for a bit to get some fresh air. In the mean time we asked the hotel to change the sheets and blankets, air out the room, and spray some air freshner. When we got back two hours later, they assured us it had been done, but obviously it hadnt (except for some awful air freshner). We requested new sheets which they brought after about an hour, all of which were equally bad and stained. I couldnt get a new blanket till the day, so slept in my sweatshirt and jeans (to minimize my exposure to the filthy sheets). The walls were peeling and the AC dripped water onto my tiny little cot, which I had to move,(quite a feat, since the room itself is tiny, - we moved the bed side table into the hall)
The staff try to be helpful, but there really isnt much they can do. The bathroom floor is covered in water stains, the bathroom itself is tiny, and the commode ...well lets just say I decided to hold on till we could get to a restraunt for breakfast.

DO NOT CONFUSE THIS WITH THE FORTUNE SELECT GROUP OF HOTELS, they have NOTHING in common except the name. there are much better options for a marginally higher price all over south mumbai (see my other reviews), so really do yourself a favour and avoid this palce at all costs.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anattaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Be careful of this place. The staff while not glowing with joy mean well enough, and there is a lovely rooftop terrace that serves reasonably priced food. I made my booking online and this was honored without any trouble. But the photos on the website are basically fraudulent; the rooms are in very shabby condition with paint falling off the walls, all kinds of stains on the (very uncomfortable) mattresses, etc. The television, unsurprisingly, didn't work and no attempt was made to fix it. The window in my room facing the street did not lock or even close all the way owing to a cord from the air conditioner running outside. The open windows meant problems with mosquitoes and did not make me feel terribly secure. All in all pretty poor for $50 a night, even in Mumbai. The three star rating might be fair by Indian standards, but in all honesty this place would be shut down in most western countries. The positive reviews this hotel gets on tripadvisor are likely the result of people making judgements using Indian rather than western standards (which is fair enough). The hotel caters more to domestic businessmen than foreign tourists, so it isn't much good for helping to point out attractions, giving directions, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

This is a basic hotel with attentive staff and very good and affordable food. TV was unavailable at time of visit as they were changing service providers.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fantazbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Hotel City Palace
#133 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
120 reviews
Hotel Mogul Palace
#316 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
32 reviews
West End Hotel
#136 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Oasis
#320 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
120 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel A. K. International
Hotel A. K. International
#196 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
37 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortune

Address: 36/38 1st Marine Street | Metro, Dhobi Talao, Mumbai (Bombay) 400002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 461 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $45 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortune 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fortune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing