We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middleclass - but very unfriendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Karl Residency
Ranked #353 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Middleclass - but very unfriendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The worst thing was the unfriendly staff: We booked via HRS and as HRS guests we should get some benefits for free (like airport shuttle and taxfree fare), but the management wanted us to pay for that. We had to argue a lot, till we got the promised conditions. The liftboy was begging for a bigger tip, which felt strage as well.

The hotel and the room were clean and quiet. But the smell in our room was musty in the beginning, the pillowcase was hard as concrete and the bathroom would need some renovation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sartorius2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlresidency1, Front Office Manager at Hotel Karl Residency, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mumbai.
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your review on trip advisor.
I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.
I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Karl Residency and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,
Felix Rodrigues

+91 9867074748
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    35
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
12
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have been staying in this place for the last 10 years or so and every time I am here I find it in a better shape. All the rooms have been done very nicely recently along with the bath rooms ( though they have updated/upgraded almost every thing but the water taps in the bath area). The terrace restaurant is a real treat for an evening outing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upsingh2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlresidency1, Front Office Manager at Hotel Karl Residency, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mumbai.
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your review on trip advisor.
I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.
I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Karl Residency and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,

Swapnil / Felix
+91 9823552263 / 9867074748
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

i was new to mumbai that june. The hotel prices wre too high and we dont know the reasoble hotel as well as the area. while searching the hotel site there i got the address of the karl residency. The location of the hotel in my view is perfect. No crowd n quite environment. Andheri station nearby the hotel, as every outsider want to enjoy the local train. Juhu, bandra u can explore by auto or taxi. My hotel room was perfect just reminded me Apple country resort of manali. Very nice hotel. 5 star for u karl

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aveshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlresidency1, Front Office Manager at Hotel Karl Residency, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mumbai.
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your review on trip advisor.
I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.
I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Karl Residency and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,
Swapnil Dsouza
,
+91 9823552263 / 022-42362121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stay here just for a night but i should say hotel room was good and decorated well. Many hotel are in that line also but in west you can get better option at same rate.
Breakfast buffet was good and staff was also good
their food charges are higher compare too normal restaurant and quality

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishant271986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlresidency1, Front Office Manager at Hotel Karl Residency, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mumbai.
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your review on trip advisor.
I am pleased to know that you were not satisfied with our food charges. I assure you that I will personally speak to the management for this.
I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Karl Residency and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,

Felix Rodrigues
+91 9867074748
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadiad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have expected this hotel to be a wonderful one but this hotel is not as per expectation. The room smelt very bad when we entered. There is no proper ventilation facility available there. Corridor also stinks. Staff was good and responsive. Breakfast is also good. It was a tough time finding the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falgun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlresidency1, Front Office Manager at Hotel Karl Residency, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to my notice. I am indeed distressed to know of your recent experience at
Hotel Karl Residency.
While I regret the inconvenience you have experienced, may I assure you that I am investigating the causes for me to personally address. I would additionally request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services

At Hotel Karl Residency Mumbai, it is our constant endeavour to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when we can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.


Regards,

Swapnil Dsouza
+91 9823552263
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

rooms are a bit smaller but are furnished pretty well. The restaurant on the 8th floor serves good food. The breakfast ain't complementary ...i had to pay the half price for the breakfast. Over all its excellent !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Nandan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlresidency1, Front Office Manager at Hotel Karl Residency, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to Mumbai.
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your review on trip advisor.
I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities.
I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Karl Residency and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Warm Regards,

Felix Rodrigues
+91 9867074748
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Hotel Park View
#251 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hotel Aureole
Hotel Aureole
#137 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Hotel Kings International
#312 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bandra West
Hotel Executive Enclave
Hotel Executive Enclave
#77 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hotel Le Grande
Hotel Le Grande
#45 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Sea Princess
Hotel Sea Princess
#88 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karl Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karl Residency

Property: Hotel Karl Residency
Address: 36 Lalu Bhai Park East Road | Andheri, Mumbai (Bombay) 400058, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Karl Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Karl is situated in the bustling suburb of Andheri West. Karl Residency is nestled in the most serene surroundings. So while you stay at the centre of this teeming metropolis, you still partake of a luxury that reflects calmness and beauty Hotel Karl provides you with a facility to pay using your Credit Card, Debit Card or Net Banking facility if available to you from your bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Karl Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing