We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A standard business hotel with poor service”
Review of Pai Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pai Vista
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A standard business hotel with poor service”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Our two night stay in the Pai Vista came on the back of staying in a horrible guest house in Hampi, so to be honest we were just glad to see a clean bed and a hot shower. If that's all you're looking for, this hotel is fine. It's in a good location, you can walk all over the city from here and you will have a nice air conditioned room to come home to at the end of the day.

But. It's not the five star hotel it says it is. The bathroom was pretty old, which wasn't a big problem because it was clean. Our big problem was with the service. The staff at the hotel were rude, unhelpful and repeatedly tried to con us out of money. We booked a trip with their "travel desk", just a taxi to take us to a nearby temple. The driver they arranged for us tried to charge us 100rs car park fees despite a large sign saying it was 20rs. Then when we returned to the hotel we were asked to pay 450rs for the trip, not the agreed 400rs. When we checked out from the hotel we paid cash, and they couldn't give me any change. All of this sounds petty, 50rs here, 20rs there, but it shows the problem with the attittude of the staff and it was really really disappointing. Also - the breakfast was very poor and they charged us 35rs for a bottle of water, even though the only other drink offered was a warm jug of pineapple juice. If you do stay here, do yourself a favour and eat breakfast out.

It's not enough to say don't stay here because it was a very conveniently based hotel and the room was nice. Just keep your expectations low.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetterOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    282
    91
    29
    18
See reviews for
297
124
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We were looking for a weekend getaway from Bangalore that is sort of laidback as we were travelling with our 10 month old baby.

Location wise, the hotel is located bang opposite the inter-state bus station and just a couple of kilometres from the train station. The palace, the zoo and st. philomena's church are all within 1-2 kms radius - no more than 20 rs by auto. We thought the hotel might be noisy, since it is right in the middle of a busy place. Well, we were wrong and the hotel in general and the room were very peaceful. We had a room on the 2nd floor and it had a decent view too. It is a relatively new hotel (just 1.5 yrs old) and the rooms and especially the bathrooms were modern and very well maintained.

They have two themed restaurants - one called Jungle and other called Gufha, which we didn't care for much. The room service was prompt and they were also ready to accommodate special requests we made for the baby. The buffet breakfast is adequate, nothing extraordinary. I also ordered a cake as we were celebrating an anniversary, and that too was quite yummy!!!

All in all, it was a great stay. It is a little expensive yes, but if you're travelling with a baby and want to stay at a reasonably comfortable and clean hotel, this is a good option.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank breaksfromblore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

After reading the reviews on this hotel, I was very disappointed by this hotel. The room was ok (although the bathroom very small and hot, and the door could not be kept open) and the staff was smiling, but not helpful at all! Upon my arrival, the boy who showed me my room made the safe in the room unfit to use when he tried to demonstrate it to me. He called the reception, they said they would soon send someone to fix it. After 20 minutes, after nobody had come, I called the reception, if they could send someone. They said again the would, but no. 20 minutes after that, I went down to the reception and 30 minutes later someone came to fix it.
The breakfastbuffet was supposed to start at 7, but at 7.30 not even half the food was prepaired. The next day when I came to the restaurant at 7.30 am, nothing or nobody was there I went to the reception, and they said there was no breakfast buffet, because there were only 7 rooms occupied in the hotel. When I said it would have been nice if they had informed their customers about this, they said that I did not understand this because I am a foreigner.
During my 26 days in India I stayed in many 3 and 4 star hotels, and this was definitely the worst hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

This is a great hotel in Mysore, just 5 mins from the long distance bus stand. The room was extremely comfortable, very clean. The swimming pool on the rooftop was great for a dip after a day's sightseeing. We also took advantage of the massages on offer - again, excellent. Breakfast was good, although not the best I've had in India. We did eat one night at the 'jungle' theme restaurant too and the food was delicious!

My only complaint would be that we were given a room on the 1st floor, which was directly above the hotel's bar/club. The music was really loud (but didn't go on too late). Ask for a room higher up if possible. That's the only reason I've given the room rating a 4 rather than 5.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racheand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Pai Vista is a new hotel in a very central location and within walking distance of all the main sites. The hotel is very clean, quiet and rooms are a good size. Breakfast was ok (could have had a better selection of food and drinks) and the staff were helpful. The only downside was the guy on the travel desk who didn't really know much about the sights in the surrounding area or distances between places (do your research first before getting him to book transport!). We did actually book a taxi to Madurai through the Pai Vista travel desk and although the journey was longer than informed, it worked out fine and was safe.
We didn't eat at the hotel (not keen on the themed restaurants!) but we do recommend the 'Tiger Trail' restaurant at the Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel (short tuk tuk ride). We had a couple of meals there during our stay in Mysore and not only was the food fantastic, but the hotel provides a wonderful escape from the sun at midday and at night the inner courtyard is entrancing with fairy lights around the trees, making it a wonderful setting for dinner under the stars. Recommended.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Guy on the travel desk
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N-J0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

Superb hotel and especially its employees - all smiling, welcoming, promptly reacting to any requests & utterly helpful! Location of Pai Vista is really convenient - just in the centre of such a vibrant beautiful city of Mysore.
Although breakfast could be more sufficient with better selection.
And there is a swimming pool on the roof which is not small and is clean but with rather cold water.

  • Liked — Overall level of comfort
  • Disliked — Air conditioner may start to drip suddenly
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Stayed at Pai Vista during the Diwali weekend. Good place. The rooms are neat, well equipped and the service is excellent. The location is great with all the major tourist attractions nearby to Pai Vista.

The restaurants are limited in choice and if you like South Indian food for lunch / dinner you will be disappointed.

Both the restaurants are theme based. While one is around Jungle, the other is around Caves. Interesting to see.

Overall a good value for money for travellers that are not very picky about South Indian food for in room dining or in restaurant dining.

  • Liked — Rooms, location
  • Disliked — Dining
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Vinod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#3 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,867 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ginger Mysore
Ginger Mysore
#9 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pai Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pai Vista

Property: Pai Vista
Address: Bangalore Nilgiri Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#12 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pai Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is not without a sense of Pride that we introduce Pai Vista to this Historical city of Mysore. As an integral part of Bangalore's Pai Group of Hotels, comprising Pai Viceroy- Jayanagar , Pai Comforts - JP Nagar and The President Hotel Jayanagar, Pai Vista, as one can perhaps imagine is in keeping with good company. And certainly a heritage of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pai Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pai Vista Mysore
Pai Vista Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing