We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As per expectations”
Review of Ginger Mysore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ginger Mysore
Ranked #7 of 108 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Like all Gingers, very standard, neat and clean, modern look, attentive staff overall. Breakfast and lunch a bit limited though, and given a budget hotel, hotel lobby a bit small. Very well located and adequate parking too. Kids adjusted to the small room fairly well as well. More for a business trip but ok for a transit night for a family too.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank PD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 797 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was a first time i stayed at Ginger and it wass really impressed. Clean and comfortable. Though the room was a bit small, it was decent enough for a short stay. The staff were pretty attentive as well. The food in the restaurant very homely and good but the spread is limited.
I stayed for 7 days and menu was standard with no variety.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is good. Nice location. Good friendly staff. Not many options for food though. You will have to drive 5 to 10 minutes out to get variety of options. Sometimes services are slow - e.g. we asked for garbage bags, it took few calls to get them. Same with additional bed.

Room Tip: Room is small in size. Additional bed can cramp it further.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajvaidyanathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was a first time stay at Ginger and I was really impressed. Clean and comfortable. Though the room was a bit small, it was decent enough for a short stay. The staff were pretty attentive as well.
The food in the restaurant very homely and good. We loved the ala carte stuff we tried ... Rotis, a loo jeer a, curd rice, pongal - none too greasy or spicy. Only grouse ... The restaurant opens at 11am for room service and dine in buffet prior to that. So with kids it gets a little tough when u want to eat in the comforts of your room. CCD was the only option to beat this problem!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashwini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

When one stays at a Tata brand hotel, albeit the budget chain Ginger one expects product / service consistent with the promise. To me, the Ginger brand is expected to offer a no frills clean room with a comfortable bed, a working satellite tv and wifi internet, a cafe / restaurant at a budget price, which was all i needed since i was staying there the night before the kavreri trail marathon that i was running early next morning.

I booked Ginger in Mysore to stay for the night and was welcomed at the reception and allotted room 24 on the ground floor. As i checked in, I was happy to see a cafe coffee day and a restaurant next to the lobby. Promptly also got an sms with the internet wifi passcode and user id.

Trouble began as i reached the room door - it just wouldnt open when i swiped my card. Went back to the reception with my luggage to be told that the card must not have been programmed right and they gave me another card. Went back to the room and this did not work either. After this, i was told that the door's swipe mechanism did not work (and was giving them trouble for the past few months) and they let me in with a master key. They promised to send room maintenance to come and fix it immediately. even after reminding the reception twice, the folks from maintenance never showed up. I asked to be given a new room if the lock did not work and they said they were fully booked - pointed to them that i had booked over 2 months ago, but that did not help. Each time i stepped out of the room and came back, i had to wait until they fetched the master key to let me in. Sometimes this took ten minutes and was especially frustrating to wait in front of the door and having to be let in ( tired and sweaty after just having run a marathon! )

The internet never worked both days and the reception told me the access point / wifi was down for a few days now and has not been working as well.

The room was clean, as was the bathroom. the TV worked well and the dinner buffet at the restaurant was quite good, but overall not the consistency expected of a Tata brand hotel.

After i checked out and headed back to Mumbai I was called by the assistant manager of the hotel that they have now locked room 24 and will not be alloting it to any guest until they fixed the lock. They also promised to fix the internet

After this experience, i am certainly not going back there next year, even as i will go back to run kaveri trail marathon

Room Tip: Dont choose a ground floor room - the windows open into the parking lot and you will have people sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadhavK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to Mysore for a friend's wedding, and stayed here. No frills, but overpriced for no frills hotel. However location was close to zoo and Karanji lake, and other sight seeing places. I have stayed in other places in mysore where the per room rate is 1200 / 1400 and the hotels offer the same facilities as ginger. The wi fi did not work very well, and I ended up using my 3G service. So much for a business hotel! The breakfast buffet was good though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richapriyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

On the last day and while checking out I witnessed an one sided (tourist) indignant words as the young person with extended family was pissed off with the no-service policy of the hotel. He bitterly complained of the price-value as envisaged by him and threatened to cancel and walk out. The receptionist tried to patiently explain that Ginger was a different sort of hotel and self-service was a policy, not a lack of service. Most surprisingly he even offered to cancel the booking without any charge and offered to call up some nearby hotel where this person could shift! I mean, I was surprised as hell as I doubt any other hotel would agree to cancellation at the last moment without any charge!

This customer friendly gesture alone I think personifies Ginger Hotel and sets it apart from others. Admittedly, it is not for everybody, not for family travelers and tourists types. The rooms are not large but the beds are very comfortable, the bathroom impeccable even if compact. The two bottles of mineral waters (free) and daily replenishment of coffee/tea for you to make your own morning cuppa, the sets of clean towels and the clan clean corridors and stairs and elevators leave you with a feeling of satisfaction if you are one of my kind who hates the filth that one sees even in 3 start hotels.

Yes, the foods offered by the associated vendors are not much in terms of varieties and price are ridiculously high but in a business hotel like this one is expected to have lunch and dinner outside, with clients. However, the Mysore Ginger is located very near the main market area so getting back to the hotel at night is no problem. And yes, the restaurant offers room service.

A tad expensive when compared to conventional hotels with service but then again, with your company picking up the tab, what do you care? a great ambiance and a pleasant night's sleep is what you want. The only dis-satisfactory thing is the size of the TV. Could have been bigger than the paltry 22'" I think. But thank God, unlike many other hotels, they have DTH!

Room Tip: Choose if you are travelling on business. Or with GF and need total privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiftyGoldHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#3 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,665 reviews
3.3 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#19 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
415 reviews
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#5 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#4 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pai Vista
Pai Vista
#17 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#8 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Mysore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Mysore

Address: Nazarabad Mohalla Vasanth Mahal Road | Near Nazarabad Police Station, Mysuru (Mysore) 570010, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $35 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Mysore 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ginger Mysore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Mysore Hotel Mysore
Ginger Hotel Mysore
Mysore Ginger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing