We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is fine but the staff is too money minded ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The President Hotel
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hotel is fine but the staff is too money minded ...”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We drove down to Mysore. Parked my car in the hotel basement and requested the security guard if he can arrange to get my car cleaned in the morning as I wouldn't have time to do so. He agreed happily and asked me for some money which i gave happily. Next morning, another hotel guard met me and told me that he has cleaned my car so he wanted money, I again gave. In the afternoon before check out, another security guard came up to me and said that he has cleaned my car so he needs money... By now I had shelled out enough money so I objected to this and complained.
There was problem in our billing as well when we paid cash for our tea/coffee but saw it in our room bill again while checking out to be paid for again. Thank fully the restaurant staff accepted that we have already paid for it.
I would have makred this hotel as good because the Reception Staff member at night shift and the bell desk staff was very hospitable and helpful but the security guard episode has put this hotel down completely. I do travel to mysore every now and then but I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: I guess all rooms are good but beware of the security as they might ask you for money for even letti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bingover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    92
    52
    20
    16
See reviews for
119
48
3
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed there in Aug'11 for 3 days. The hotel was decent, there are options in the same range around so those can be explored as well. Mysore being a town, its convinient to be in any part of it. They portray it as a business hotel, but majority including us were tourists. The breakfast service was a mess, which was a buffet in the main lobby. If you wish to go out for lunch/dinner there are less options near by and thus you are forced to have food in the hotel.

The hotel also messed up on arranging taxi for a trip to vrindawan gardens, luckily managed to reach in time for the fountain show there.

Room Tip: Avoid the road facing room, its a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ameyajoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saligao, India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed at the President on the way to and from Ooty from Bangalore. Our miserable taxi driver on picking us from Bangalore airport declared that we would not make it to the sanctuary gate in time and did not want to drive up on the longer route! We wanted to try the Park Lane but that was full so had to settle on the President on Saturday 2nd - the hotel was ridiculously full and loud with a large group over taking the hotel. The room was ok - I was travelling with family so we took a family room on the 3rd floor which turned out was a double with a mattress on the floor. It was fine - we did have to request extra towels. The bathroom was in need of a bottle or 5 of bleach to get rid of the mould - and the monsoon hasnt even started yet! The fitting were all really 'rusty'. The bell hop was in desperate need of a new uniform - the ragged trousers left a lot to be desired. We had asked for an alarm call as we wanted to leave at the crack of dawn in the morning - it never came. We ended up staying again on 6th on the way back to Bangalore - the positioning of the new airport has made the drive rather long... this time we were given a twin on the 2nd floor. The bathroom was marginally better - again we had to request extra towels and the extra bed was a mattress once again with a sheet and a blanket only... this time we got breakfast (not inc on the 2nd) which was ok - the watermelon juice was really nice - the tea/coffee/hot milk had sugar already mixed in, so request separate if that is your preference. One of our party cut her finger - it took about 5 requests to get a band aid - each person insisting on looking at the wound!! The cost was quite high for the quality - we bargained hard and managed to get a huge chunk off but I would have been sorely disappointed if I had paid full whack....or if I was staying more than one night, We had dinner in the restaurant. It again was fine but please note the grilled fish is batter fried!!!! Better to order fried fish than grilled as it is coated in a white sort of pancake and called 'grilled'

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first and check out the bathroom (fittings)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTreeMuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed for a night, though they call themselves a business hotel, there were no envelope nor a pad in the room.

Rooms:
Rooms are good and maintained well.

Room service:
Room Service was very bad, had to remind them again and again for little things.

Food:
Not so good food to taste, would advice to have something outside + it comes up with a price tag,

Cutting it Short,
if you find yourself stranded and there is little space for you to experiment on hotel stay, then choose this hotel. It has nothing to offer for the customers. I was trying to locate the hotel on my map, but somehow could'nt figure it out.

Room Tip: I would not be the right person to comment on that. Since I did not had any special preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arpitpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Very expensive hotel for the rooms offered. Service from their side was very slow and not a lot to take away from our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhaatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed as part of group touring south India.
Food quality poor, especially breakfast selection. Limited hot water - only available in evening. Staff were very helpful - when asked about location of our "same day laundry", reception told us it would not be ready until next day, after we were due to leave! When asked about lack of hot water was told it was on timer. Laundry when received hsd ironing burns despite "wash only" being requested.
Premises grubby and although advertised as a business hotel - not sure what business they are trying to attract.
Avoid.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

24 Jan - 25 Jan, 2010
This was an official trip, where I also took my wife and son
along. We arrived at Mysore by road via Bengaluru. I had some
official work at the SJCE and the NIE, Mysore, and we were put up at the
Hotel President, which is very centrally located. The hotel is
very stylish, neat and clean. The room was quite large, with a
large window area, and well-lit. The bathroom was clean and
well-stocked with all amenities. We had a few meals at the Hotel.
The double bed was soft and comfortable, and our little son -
sometimes a very fussy sleeper, slept well.
The central location meant that in spite of the tight schedule,
we were able to see sights in the city such as the Art Gallery
and the Mysore Palace in a tight time frame. The rates at that
time were around Rs.2k per night, which was good value, given the
location, ambiance, overall demeanour, service and convenience.
The staff were courteous and cheerful.

Room Tip: No idea - we had a room with a good view, a side view of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sumantra_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Roopa
Hotel Roopa
#15 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ginger Mysore
Ginger Mysore
#9 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sandesh The Prince
Hotel Sandesh The Prince
#10 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
545 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
393 reviews
2.8 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#18 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel

Property: The President Hotel
Address: 2723, Near Hardinge Circle | Bangalore-Nilgiri Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE PRESIDENT - A Business Hotel - with 72 fully air-conditioned luxurious rooms. And an entire floor on the top is dedicated to limited edition of very special Presidential Business Floor (need to be booked well in advance). Its impressive colonial structure stands as a landmark in Mysore. A swanky reception lounge and tastefully decorated, well laid out F&B facilities complete the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing