We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palace in heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Royal Orchids Brindavan Gardens, Mysore

Royal Orchids Brindavan Gardens, Mysore is about 30-40 minutes drive from Mysore City and is ideal for those looking for short stay away from a City in most beautiful and unique surroundings. We visited this hotel in the month of March 2011 and had quite a comfortable and relaxing stay.

This hotel came under the new management very recently and is better managed now. It is situated on a perch overlooking the famous Brindavan Gardens and has architecture typical of a British palace .It has a vintage look, together with the wooden floors and French windows with panoramic views of the Gardens. It has a range of suites and deluxe rooms to choose from. Most rooms have the Garden view, and some others have the pool view.

Our room on the first floor was very spacious with a beautiful view of the whole Garden, an outdoor balcony, lounge chairs and a four poster bed, with still a lot of space to spare. The bath room was equally spacious with modern fittings.

They have one coffee shop on the ground floor which serves buffet for all three meals as well as a bar on the first floor verandah. The food was quite tasty and particularly breakfast had a lot of south Indian varieties. The menu had a number of international dishes too. Their spa services were traditional Indian, although understaffed.

The main attraction of course was a visit to the Garden in the evenings with fountains playing, coloured lighting, short boat ride to the lower garden which has a musical fountain. The huge Krishnasagar dam was quite majestic too.

The most pleasing part of the hotel was the service of the staff – all members of the staff from the receptionists to the head chef were on their toes at all times to make the guests happy.

There is no public transport available for this hotel and one has to use taxi service. The cocierge can arrange sightseeing tours of Mysore city or airport transfers

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rakeshb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, General Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden, Mysore !!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback through our Trip Advisor Website.

We are delighted to know you liked the stay, food and service of our Hotel. This is the best motivation we can use.

I am happy to personally coordinate your next visit and urge you to write in with any requirement. My team and I look forward to maintaining a long and fruitful association with you.

Hope to welcome you back soon at Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden, Mysore

Best Regards,

Raj Subba
Hotel Manager
Hm.brindavan@royalorchidhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 633 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

I wanted to visit Brindavan Garden in the day time with my fiance, and decided to stay in Royal Orchid which is located inside the Brindavan Garden.

I drove from Bangalore to Mysore, and the shortcut road directions given by the Hotel guys was very helpful. I reached the hotel post lunch. They have vallet parking and the staff was very friendly. While giving my car keys I could not miss the magnificent view of Brindavan Garden at the entrance of hotel. That welcome experience was amazing. Both of us stood at the entrance for about 5-10 mins admiring the beautiful Brindvan Garden with all the water fountains at their best. Then we started for the hotel where we were greeted by the friendly staff. The reception is not grand (unlike other Royal Orchid Hotels), but very cozy and comfortable. The room is spacious enough, not very big, but does not give a cramped feeling either. Rather, the room is just big enough for a cozy and romantic stay. The bathroom was clean, but we were expecting bath tub. Then we checked out the balcony... the best part of the stay... panaromic view of entire Brindavan Garden... just awesome. There can be no better way to experience Brindavan Garden.

The hotel construction is average, as they took it from an old govt hotel. However, decently maintained. The hotel does not give you the Royal Orchid grand feel. It is just an average hotel, and is priced accordingly for the excellent location.

Night view of Brindavan Garden is superb from the balcony. Must watch type. The only bad part is that the lights in Bridavan garden gets closed by 10PM. Thenafter, its pitch dark view. So you have to come back inside your room, watch TV, or play pool etc. No night life :(. The good part here is you can go to bed early.

You wake up in the morning to the cool breeze, and you cannot resist to start your day with a long morning walk in teh Brindavan Garden (Remember, you are already inside the Brindavan Garden). However, this time you will find out that Bridavan garden maintenance is not up to the mark.

They don't mind a late check out till 2PM or more on request if the room is available, that is next guest has not yet arrived.

Room Tip: Don't plan anything after 10 PM. Book advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sh0unak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, General Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden, Mysore !!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback through our Trip Advisor Website.

We are delighted to know you liked the stay, food and service of our Hotel. This is the best motivation we can use.

I am happy to personally coordinate your next visit and urge you to write in with any requirement. My team and I look forward to maintaining a long and fruitful association with you.

Hope to welcome you back soon at Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden, Mysore

Best Regards,

Raj Subba
Hotel Manager
Hm.brindavan@royalorchidhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I visited ROBG last week. I was on vacation with my family (wife and 2 small boys) travelling from Gurgaon. Mysore was our first stop enroute to Coorg. I had chosen ROBG because I knew that the best view of the gardens could only be had if I stayed there as it was away from the city.
We were exhausted by the time we reached the hotel having started our day at 6:30in the morning so the welcome was nice. We were greeted with a soothing cold drink and a cold towel and shown to a nice room with a garden view on the first floor. Unfortunately they dont have an elevator being a heritage property so one has to climb a flight of stairs to reach the room. The room was quite big, airy with all the facilities and a pvt balcony.
We stayed there for 2 nights and although spent most of the time in the city but ensured we soaked all the goodness of the gardens. The 2 things which particular were amiss in the hotel were no facilities for the children to play and the variety in the food. There is just 1 restaurant and being far away from the city, one is forced to eat there.
Moreover we had a bad housekeeping experience when inspite the room being empty for the better part of the day, it had not been cleaned. Only upon shouting on the person in charge was the room cleaned in no time. The hair dryer wasnt working and inspite of it being brought to the hotel's attention, it never got repaired during our stay.
Besides these few hiccups the stay was comfortable. Although a little pricey for an average room stay I would recommend this to anyone who wants to wake up to beautiful gardens sleep after a breathtaking lighting of the hotel as well as the gardens.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gauravbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, General Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden, Mysore!!

Entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your observations regarding our positive and negative services and the hotel are inspirational for all of us .We will certainly work on our shortfalls.
We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Raj Subba
Hotel Manager
Hm.brindavan@royalorchidhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Nice hotel with beautiful view of the Brindavan Garden from the large balconies in the front of the rooms. To get the hotel to look nice from the garden in the evening, however, the light on all the balconies is switched on – it is impossible to switch it off and look at the evening garden from the dark. No elevators. Well maintained swimming pool, not large, but OK. The pool has ridiculously short opening hours – from 1000 to 1700. Good restaurant with good service, but some members of the staff in the bars were very inexperienced. The hotel has a couple of bicycles for free use. Somewhat expensive Internet.
Hotel guests do not have to pay the entrance fee to the garden, if you walk into the garden with a camera, however, you will be asked to pay a camera fee. The famous dancing fountain is in the northern part of the garden, 20 minutes walk from the hotel. (You can shorten the walk by taking a boat).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSandBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, General Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden, Mysore !!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback through our Trip Advisor Website.

We are delighted to know you liked the stay, food and service of our Hotel. This is the best motivation we can use.

I am happy to personally coordinate your next visit and urge you to write in with any requirement. My team and I look forward to maintaining a long and fruitful association with you.

Hope to welcome you back soon at Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden, Mysore

Best Regards,

Raj Subba
Hotel Manager
Hm.brindavan@royalorchidhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

From the very first encounter with this majestic hotel, during a visit to the Brindavan Gardens when a friend and I enjoyed a quiet drink on the balcony, the service and atmosphere was excellent. I was shown a number of magnificent rooms and moved there from another hotel to enjoy a peaceful week, in a king room with large balcony overlooking the gardens.

A walk in the gardens each morning was a delight and the evening light show a wonderful sight at the end of a busy day while sipping a cool drink in the upstairs lounge area.

Definitely a oasis amid the bustle of Mysore, which is only a reasonably short drive away by car arranged by hotel staff easily, a bus was also available. Lots of local knowledge was always on hand.

Buffet Breakfast in the dining room was plentiful and a good mix of Local and western foods and delicious, room service reasonably priced, offering variety and beautifully presented.

Everything was always clean and promptly attended to, staff were very helpful always and a delight to interact with.

I have to say that when I first got in to my four poster I declared it to be the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in ... my room was well appointed, lots of power points and good wireless internet available by purchasing vouchers at from desk.

I would definitely recommend you consider this option for a visit to Mysore.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank genesis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, General Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden, Mysore !!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback through our Trip Advisor Website.

We are delighted to know you liked the stay, food and service of our Hotel. This is the best motivation we can use.

I am happy to personally coordinate your next visit and urge you to write in with any requirement. My team and I look forward to maintaining a long and fruitful association with you.

Hope to welcome you back soon at Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden, Mysore

Best Regards,

Raj Subba
Hotel Manager
Hm.brindavan@royalorchidhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Always fancied staying in this hotel whenever we visited Brindavan Gardens. Finally booked the hotel through a travel agent and landed up on a Feb weekend. On the web and the pictures the hotel is advertised as a five start property but in reality it is a old building transformed to suit a foreign clientile.

The King rooms are big but the effort to translate the room decor to modern amenities without losing its old world charm is visible. The best part of the hotel is its location and the two semi circle balconies in two levels. The Ground floor balcony is a nice place to enjoy a cup of coffee with family and friends. The First floor balcony is the official bar. Both the places gives a great unobstructed view of the Brindavan Garden in all its glory in different times of the day.

The restaurant in the hotel just about serve its original purpose of existence. The service suffers because of low staff strength. The general quality of staff is not that great and does not help to enhance the Royal Orchid brand.

Room tariff is expensive...varies between 5500 to 6500 per day. The property contains a swimming pool and a spa. However the overall look and feel of those leave lot to be desired.

Bottomline is that staying a night in Royal Orchid Brindavan garden is worth once but you might think twice to visit it the second time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orknob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, Front Office Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden, Mysore!!

Entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your observations regarding our positive and negative services and the hotel are inspirational for all of us .We will certainly work on our shortfalls.
We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Raj Subba
Hotel Manager
Hm.brindavan@royalorchidhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed in this hotel with our two young children, hotel staff very friendly. Quality of food was excellent. Hotel has got excellent views of the Brindavan Gardens.
We enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
Thank MohanGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindavan, General Manager at Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden, Mysore !!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback through our Trip Advisor Website.

We are delighted to know you liked the stay, food and service of our Hotel. This is the best motivation we can use.

I am happy to personally coordinate your next visit and urge you to write in with any requirement. My team and I look forward to maintaining a long and fruitful association with you.

Hope to welcome you back soon at Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden, Mysore

Best Regards,

Raj Subba
Hotel Manager
Hm.brindavan@royalorchidhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#6 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,133 reviews
10.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#4 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,639 reviews
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#5 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#8 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,166 reviews
7.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#2 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
587 reviews
11.6 mi away
Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
#33 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens

Address: Brindavan Garden, Mysuru (Mysore) 577607, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#6 Spa Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $70 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set by the inspiring Cauvery river, and overlooking the breathtaking Brindavan Gardens, this hotel holds the promise of heaven on earth. This is where you can immerse yourself in moments that stand still and create memories that last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens Hotel Mysore
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing