We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird and pleasant”
Review of Parklane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parklane Hotel
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel has a perfect location in the centre of Mysore, close to the clock tower and the palace. Very nice welcome at the reception, and good service in general. Food at the restaurant was not fantastic but OK for one evening, and the terrace was a nice place for a beer.

The building is quite something, organised around a circular atrium, thus the rooms have very weird shapes that are actually pleasant. The deco is weird too. The reason I am not giving the hotel a better mark is the low quality of the construction and decoration work. Not unusual in India but here it is lower than in other hotels I have stayed at for the same price. But overall I'd still recommend staying there.

Room Tip: The cheapest room are small and not good value for money. Go for the Deluxe something that have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 477 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Good one for its price. Located very near to most of the places of attraction - Palace, Zoo, Church etc. Very courteous staff. Cleanly maintained.

Initially I had booked a Luxury room, but during check-in asked for a Luxury Deluxe and they agreed to change the room after paying the difference amount, which was justified. You get a small kit after check-in that contains most of your daily needed stuff like toothbrush, toothpaste, shaving kit, pocket-comb, moisturizer, soap, shampoo, etc.

There is a roof-top swimming pool, individual electronic safety locker and a small fridge in each room, make use of them. Bathroom had a magnifying mirror, hair-dryer which were very convenient. There was an electronic weighing scale too, so if you are over-concision about your weight, you can keep checking your weight every now and then ;-). There is a small library too; you can lend books and read at leisure.

Try if you can book the room by directly contacting the hotel instead of going through any booking websites. MakeMyTrip goofed up my booking (I paid for two guests and booking was confirmed only for one, later I had to cancel that and book through travelgruru which charged me 120 bucks more than the actual hotel price. Detailed review on makemytrip can be found on mouthshut dot com ).

Food in the restaurant on first floor was good, if not great. Breakfast wasn't that great, especially Vada and Masala Dosa. Khara bath and Onion Dosa were better though.

Overall a it was a nice stay.

Two requests to the hotel management:

1) Please replace the bath-linen with new ones. They aren't in an unusable condition, but they aren't nice either - look old and heavily used.

2) There are too many signages put all over the hotel premises and inside the room, and some are very funny (like the one put just above your bed - NO TIPS PLEASE, and in the last page of restaurant menu kept in each room - Taking this menu with you is of no use, please ask for a xerox copy, as original one is costlier than xerox one, and one on balcony door - Please keep the door closed to avoid monkeys etc :-) )

Room Tip: Select on eon the third or floor floor, as it noise from restaurant will be less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSBL3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

On the review you read noisy! I do not agree, we had a room on the front side, 4th floor, excellent quit stay, spacious and clean, bathroom could be updated a bit. Restaurant serves excellent food for a very reasonable price. You can sit on the terrace, no need to look any further in town for a nice lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: 4th floor, front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeesPutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for 1 night choosing the Park Lane as it was well reviewed in Lonely Planet.

The positives;
- We arrived at 8am and they were very nice and let us check into a room there and then.
- the staff are very friendly
- the rooms are large, fairly modern and ver clean
- there is a pool on the roof although the water didn't seem to be moving very much or being filtered so it was quite stagnant with lots of 'stuff' floating in it!
- the hotel is in a great spot within walking distance of all the major sights

The negatives;
- I've never seen decor like it!! Plastic birds and horses in the restaurant...the pool area looked like a bad Disney land, it all felt vey dated and quite strange.
- the notices...oh the notices....EVERYWHERE! There was a passive aggressive note on every surface in every part of the hotel. One of my favourites was the two foot long neon yellow Perspex sign above the bed that said in block capitals 'NO TIPS PLEASE'. Why on earth that is needed above the bed, in such a large sign is beyond me. They also had written on the menu in the restaurants that they offered sick bags!!! Very bizarre!
- the price we were quoted for the room was excluding tax so double check that
- food especially breakfast was quite expensive charging 25 IRS for a tiny pot of jam!

Overall a good spot for sightseeing but quite an odd hotel, very dated and lacking some warmth.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed there at the beginning of February and again mid Feb. The appearance, cleanliness and facilities seemed fine but it is the only hotel in India in our six weeks stay where we were asked to pay in full in advance. The slip presented to us had a space for us to enter a tip. How do you do this in advance when you have not idea what the service will be? Added to this the rooms were emblazened with signs saying 'No Tips, Please'. No wonder the staff seemed a bit surly and dis-satisfied. No problem with the room which was good and the restaraunt for evening meal was OK. But breakfast! Service was incredibly slow, toast was warm bread. A request to have it at least a bit brown was met with grudging removal and another long wait. It came back as four pieces of toast and two butter pats. A request for more butter was met with, 'Yes but you have to pay for it'.

Overall a disappointing experience. Staff service was only adequate, restaraunt only OK. The setting is very good and so much more could be made of it with helpful, quick service, and less Scrooge, more generosity.

We took this up when leaving with a man in an office who said he was a part owner. No real joy and when we returned (we had pre-booked) later in the month there was no improvement.

It is a shame. This could be an excellent hotel but needs better management. Penny pinching like this is counter productive as people will just not book to go there. There are plenty of better hotels in Mysore

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cravens37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Parklane for 4 nights and did not regret it! We had a lovely room on the 4th floor - in front of the room there is a park, eagles had their nest there and the young ones started to fly when we were there. The warning 'leave the balcony doors shut' did only make sense to us when we saw the monkeys jumping around on the next house's roof - we enjoyed it so much!
The food in the Parklane is delicious, the jump into the pool was great! We can recommend it, at least the rooms on the 4th floor facing the park (the more expensive rooms).

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book a room on the 4th floor facing the park - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I travel a lot, have been to 125 countries, have seen a lot of ho(s)tels and very rarely find something extra. The Parklane is one of the few exceptions. I give it 5 points although it's a mid-range place.

The hotel is centrally located very close to palace, market and bus stations. The architecture of the hotel is odd and nice. The rooms are very nice for a mid-range place with generous allowance of complimentary toiletries including sandal wood soaps and bottled water.

There is a very good but not expensive restaurant on-site as well as a beer garden on the roof top. WiFi is good.

Oh boy, I wished I had stayed longer at this place ...

Room Tip: Have your meals in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bengt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#3 of 109 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roopa
Hotel Roopa
#18 of 109 in Mysuru (Mysore)
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ginger Mysore
Ginger Mysore
#7 of 109 in Mysuru (Mysore)
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 109 in Mysuru (Mysore)
143 reviews
2.7 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#19 of 109 in Mysuru (Mysore)
416 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sujatha Residency
Hotel Sujatha Residency
#38 of 109 in Mysuru (Mysore)
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklane Hotel

Address: 2720 Sri Harsha Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $23 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parklane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mysore, easy access to bus and rail. Newly constructed 30 luxurious rooms, roof top swimming pool and open air restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Parklane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklane Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing