We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great resort, but could do much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great resort, but could do much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went to mysore for a wedding for a couple of days and didnt like the accommodation so decided to check into the Windflower. We called up the hotel the night before and asked them what rate would they do for us. The guy on the phone quoted some exorbitant amount, which was almost the same they charge for a weekend package. We had to bargain him down asking him how can he charge us so much as against his package and actually asking him if he wanted guests rather than rooms being empty. A bit of a put down as most hotels are happy to put people up and usually give reasonable rates for a day if there are rooms available. Finally, we negotiated a price and gave our credit card details, being abruptly told that we will be charged the next day whether we come or not.....we informed we will be there at 3.00 pm once the wedding finishes.
However, once we got into the hotel it was fantastic....the room was amazing and we had fantastic sleep...the bathroom was really nice too, though no tubs in the basic level rooms. They talk of a secret balcony, but its really not secret as the person living above you can see into it. The breakfast was ok, normal fare and we ordered some sandwiches for lunch which were nice. The pool was great, so nice and calm...
When we booked the hotel, we asked for a late checkout at 12.30 which was agreed to, but when we called to check about it, they said they cannot do that and wanted us to check out at 11.00. Also they call at 9.00am to check everyday if we are coming for breakfast....what if you want to have a lie in?
I would return to the hotel anytime, but customer service at the desk...i am not sure about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ami456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. While we are delighted to hear that your stay with us was a good one, we are truly sorry to hear that your experience with the front desk did not match up to your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and appropriate action is being taken to ensure that other guests do not face similar problems. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    347
    97
    30
    17
See reviews for
359
231
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here with my children. It still brings a smile on my face when i see the photos!!the rooms were excellent! The food was super and so was the service. Inspitee of being in the city ..it is away!! Must mention the bathrooms!! Very cute!!!! A little pricy...but worth every penny!!! Good place to chill with family!

Room Tip: Take rooms facing the small lake inside....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vasanti51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

When I arrived here to spend a weekend with my spouse I was completely taken for a surprise. This place is located close to Golf club in Mysore and it can be easily reached from any part of Mysore. For those who still prefer an additional landmark, it’s very close to the newly constructed "Mysore Mall". This place is huge & surprisingly rooms nicely laid out on one side while all the other amenities (restaurant, pool, spa etc.) are located the other side. The room are huge ... we stayed in 1st floor and all rooms balconies are overlooking a well maintained water body. The food, room service, breakfast buffet, evening restaurant are all awesome.. Infact this place is so romantic & if you're looking for some place to spend your weekend with your spouse or love interest in around Mysore then I would certainly recommend this.. Without any second thoughts.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1st floor & it was awesome. Also heard that certain rooms in ground floor have priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raviGop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was a chance stop for lunch at this resort, though planned for by my colleague who was familiar with the hotel.

The ambience was cool though not extra ordinary. The thick tree cover for the place made it a place to chill for an hour, even as the city temperature was on the rise and weather a bit more humid.

Food was good, Staff courteous.

Appeared to be a preferred place for city folks too, due to its proximity to city centre.

I wish the place was 'housefly-free". Only discomforting sight was of flies popping around you and your food!

Wish I didn't have business on hand or mind and wish I could spend more time. Must plan it out soon.

Room Tip: Cant comment for now,as I didn't get to stay at this place on this trip. But look forward to..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhanupvsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Chose this for our first wedding anniversary after reading the reviews which rated the resort highly.

Pros:
- Courteous and helpful staff. Efficient check-in/check-out
- Large beautiful rooms
- Beautifully landscaped and peaceful property

Cons:
- I repeatedly kept making requests for a quiet candlelit dinner as a surprise. No one from the staff ever responded back till the day when I was there. End of surprise!
- The restaurant Olive Garden was terrible! Staff was courteous though the service was poor. Screwed up drinks and did not even bother to tell us that a key ingredient was missing. We did not venture back after our first experience!
- Flies everywhere! We do understand seasonality etc. but not in the restaurant area.
- The spa was average. The bathrooms were stinking.
- No luck with any games/outdoor activities. Went to the 'games room' to find that the foosball table was an antique decorative item. The cue ball for the pool table resembled a golf ball and one cue stick did not even have a tip! The gym was dusty and unusable. We asked for cycles which the resort promised but never delivered.
- Swimming pool does not allow food or drinks service! Not attended by anyone.

We left the resort a day earlier to celebrate in a better manner.

Bottom line: Do not go with high expectations!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansi2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and will work towards making all departments complaint free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I went for a day to mysore, decided to stay at windflower resorts & spa. My decision was spot on. We had our 11 month daughter with us. She had a great time in the resort. The staffs were very friendly, very helpfull. My check-in & check-out was a breeze. Food was good, though the breakfast buffet could have been better. Rooms were clean, house keeping was efficient. The problem i had there was lots of flies inside the room as well as in the restaurant. It was pretty irritating. The swimming pool was fairly clean given the trees around, but there were no staff to guide me with the hower or the towels. That was bad. Overall a very good experience. Will never hesitate to go again. Looking forward to explore their other resorts as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Thiru V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Super specious rooms I took 2 of them one was

1. Suite
2. Villa

Choose the rooms that are on the ground floor you get nice sit outs.. Suite also has a small out door near the bath room where you can take shower in open.. (It is completely private) but was too good and I liked it..

Villa was good and specious too.. had a small pool inside. while I did not use it, I thought it is worth to mention...

Food was nice.. I really liked the food attenders who were always on the look out for your empty plates and would be ready to serve the next item...

The food restaurant have unusual guests called "fly's" they keep you active on your dining table and do not allow you to be in peace.. :-)

Used the SPA had a good body massage "Abhyanga" loved it.. would suggest all of them who will be staying here to experience this Ayurvedic message.. very economical, neat, clean and I am sure you would love it..

The resort was quite peaceful yet in the center of the city...

Overall nice experience..

Room Tip: TV did not work well and had a tough time to set it up.. DVD player available but no movies availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayaram B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
11.0 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#17 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore

Property: The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore
Address: Maharanapratap Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570010, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#4 Spa Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#5 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#8 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial rooms. Rain showers. Private sit-outs framed by swaying coconut trees and a glorious view of the Chamundi Hills. Heritage walks that make history come alive. A world-class spa that offers over 30 different ways to RE-EMERGE. A midnight swim in the rock pool at night. An incredible multi-cuisine open-air restaurant. Silence, space, serenity in the heart of the royal city. Windflower Mysore is waiting. Come, take advantage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windflower Hotel Mysore
Windflower Hotel Mysore
Windflower Resort Mysore
Resort Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing