We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viceroy Comfort - A stay without comfort”
Review of The Viceroy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Viceroy
Ranked #104 of 154 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I was very happy with the photographs of the hotel and thought since it is a new property so it would be good, nice and clean. I picked it over Ginger because of the deal I got it.

I went Mysore in October and stayed in this hotel. On entry itself, the manager (badly dressed) instead of welcoming us, he treated us like he has done a favor to us by giving us the stay. On the first day itself we had a fight.

Since rooms were spacious, clean and had good wardrobe and LCD TV so we calmed down. Then came the surprise, there was no restaurant. If we order something then the staff will bring from their chain of viceroy hotel. some 5 - 6 kms from this property. We had another fight with the manager on food bill. He was ill mannered, misbehaved whatever the negative word I can think of.

Breakfast was served in paper plates, tea in plastic cup and same meal DON'T STAY THERE

Room Tip: DON'T STAY THERE Until you do not have options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naraini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 144 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

Similar issues to those of other writers. We tried to book into the Viceroy but were inexplicably booked into the Viceroy Comforts, leading to much initial confusion. The place looks to be clean and well-decorated but scratch beneath the surface and you will be disappointed. The rooms were less than sparkling: the mirrors had not been cleaned in what seemed like years, the bedside table drawers were full of filth, the blanket on the bed was stained and ratty and there was no fresh cover sheet--so you were expected to have that gross blanket directly on you! We called for the sheet to be brought in and then had to replace the bottom one when we found a pubic hair on it. The service gentleman tried to just brush it off and tell us that is was just fine. We had to call for toilet paper. We were told that breakfast was available at 7 but when we arrived at 7:15, they were very unprepared for us. The pineapple juice was lovely, the coffee was fine and the papaya good. Breakfast consisted of 4 slices white toast, corn flakes and papaya. Disappointing overall.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We hade booked a suite room for 2 days with breakfast in the Viceroy Comforts. We arrived Sunday 4 Dec at 2 pm and we checked in. We had the impression the room the gave us was not a suite room and it was not wel cleaned (sheets, towels and the whole room dirty). We complained and they gave us another room, same style. Then we asked the hotel manager that both rooms were standard rooms and not clean. Finally we received a suite room. The room was also very dirty. The staff promised to clean it and we went for a walk. At 4 pm the room was still not cleaned. We waited in the lobby, but at 5 pm no action, 6 pm no action. We went out again and returned by 9 pm. Room still dirty and only one towel. We have personally told the staff where to clean and by 10 pm our room was acceptable.
A new problem was that our room was next to the banquet hall and there was a wedding party going on. There was 88 decibel in our room till midnight. I have again spoken with the hotel manager, but he is not capable for his job as he did not take any action.
When I told him about TA, he pretended that he did not know this site. Or he is an idiot or he lies or probably both.
At 5 pm the staff prepared the banquet hall for a new party, so we had to wake up at this unreasonable hour.
Breakfast started at 8.20 am and when I asked for eggs, the staff said it was a pure veg restaurant. I told them butter and milk also is non-veg, but they were just laughing with us. I asked for the menu and there was chicken, lamb …The conclusion is that the staff is lying also.
The hotelmanager finally arrived at 10 am and refused to say goodmorning. We did not want to stay another night in this place and have checked out and went to Sandosh the Prince hotel, a true relieve.
We have also talked with the hotel manager of the President Hotel ( a hotel from the same group), and this man was very reasonable and wanted to compensate us for our experience in the Viceroy Comforts. We had the impression this hotel is far better and the staff better trained.

Room Tip: Check if your room has no windows that give access to the banquet hall. But best thing is to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankenmarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Right in the city, Domino's Pizza 2 blocks away, rooms OK, besides the cockroach that was hiding under the telephone, but hey......You're in India!
Weird staff at the restaurant,but food. is alright, WI-FI available in rooms, roof top in bad shape, it's an old hôtel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanno10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The location of the hotel is the only good thing about the hotel. Few minutes walk from the Mysore Palace.

Otherwise smelling rooms, badly placed WC, limited and average Indian breakfast, a small antique lift than can take only 4 people at a time and stops a few inches below ground level.

Room Tip: I don't think you will find a good room. However, if want to take the one facing the Palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sri_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Do not confuse the Viceroy with the Viceroy Comfort, (part of a Mysore Chain of the Viceroy, Viceroy Comfort, and Presidency) but most taxi and rickshaw drivers did. A map on the back of the hotel card proved incomprehensible to both travelers and local drivers alike. The Viceroy is closer to the Palace while the Viceroy Comfort is out of the main action about a 40 rupee autorickshaw ride away from the Palace. The Viceroy Comfort was uneven. Guests more fastidious than me might be offended to seeing someone else's empty water bottle when they checked into the room. Less prepared guests with a preference for Western style toilets would object strenuously to the initial absence of toilet paper. With these problems fixed the rooms would have been fine. The manager was friendly, but told us breakfast was at 8. When I mistakenly took the elevator to the wrong floor there were people eating breakfast at 7:30. The kitchen staff was pleasant and responsive, but only after finishing most of an Indian parody of a White people's continental breakfast did we learn that we could eat a South Indian breakfast, which was good. Chai aficionados thought the chai was bad and coffee baristas thought the coffee only met North India coffee standards.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R___D169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed in room 105 for a weekend. The room had no views at all and very small for the price they quote. The food is exorbitantly charged but does not taste well. We ordered for plain rotis but they gave tandoori rotis even though we particularly checked many times before placing the orders. In the morning they said they have complimentary breakfast but when we were checking out they charged for it completely denying what they said earlier. They hotel staff even lies about small things like auto charges if asked for help.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel unless you are interested to be cheated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jhinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#3 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,729 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#4 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,724 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#75 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#20 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
442 reviews
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#5 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
2,091 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#2 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Viceroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Viceroy

Address: Sri Harsha Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $24 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Viceroy 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Viceroy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Viceroy Hotel Mysore
Viceroy Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing