We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed June 21, 2010

hotel is beautifully built, with good rooms, great buffet, nice lawn sitting set-up, good conference hall....hotel is ideal for team outings.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyotsna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Orchid_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2010

Hi Jyotsna

Thank you for taking time to share your review!
Look forward to hosting you and your friends again at Metropole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2010

Enjoyed the stay in the hotel though it was only 1 night. A very nice hotel and strategically located. Good food and rooms. Has a heritage building. Service needs a huge improvement

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Orchid_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2010

Hello

Greetings from Royal Orchid !

We appreciate the feedback that you have shared with us. We have made note of your suggestion and will ensure that we work towards getting better. Do drop in again, we would love to have you with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The Royal Orchid hotel has wonderful and authentic old-world charm and atmosphere. Its a great place to relax and unwind. What impressed me the most however was the exceptional service. I had accidentally left my mobile phone in the hotel, and only realized halfway to Bangalore (which is a 4 hours drive away).
To my pleasant surprise, the hotel made arrangements to hand-deliver the iphone to me in Bangalore. In gratitude, I had offered the staff a tip for her effort, but politely declined. I do alot of business travel, but have never experienced such service. Shabrina - you are a credit to your profession. Cheers, Mano

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mano123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Orchid_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2010

Hi Mano

Thank you so much for your feedback! Metropole is indeed the ideal location to unwind and relax and we are glad that you could do just that. We believe in offering the best to our guests in quality and service and try and ensure that these qualities are reflected in our staff. Thank you for the appreciation!

Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Lovely hotel, let down by poor management - suspect typical of the chain. The hotel is a really nice building, but let down by everything else - reception, dinner service, dinner food, breakfast food ... all fell well short of expectations. I had booked for two nights, left after one

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnb121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Orchid_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2010

Dear Sir

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that you might have faced during your stay.
We have started in house training for our staff on a regular basis to improve on our service standards.We value your feed back and look forward to having you over with us again

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

It is a good hotel with big rooms. Infrasture looks old but appears as heritage. Near from shopping center at walkable distance. Good food & breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puneribana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We originally had a room booked at the Wyndflower in Mysore but unfortunately our booking had gone missing and so we ended up at the Royal Orchid Metropole hotel. The ambiance of the hotel is great; a nice colonial building well restored. The rooms have a nice colonial feeling, being it that the bathrooms are rather basic.

We were shocked by the fact that every day during the summer months (starting the 1st of May), the hotel has rented out its pool to a local swimming club. The swimming lessons took place from 9 am to 11 am, and from 3.30 pm to 4.30 pm, the latter being exectly the hour that we would spend at the pool. As the pool is not that big and the kids are taught to produce much water when crawling, our kids felt not at ease and free at the pool. When complaining to the manager I didn't get the feeling to get any response. Five minutes later however some guys showed up splitting the pool in two and keeping an eye on it all. My feeling must therefor have been a cultural gap.

The hotel's restaurant (Tiger Trail) is absolutely great. The food is lovely, the prices low and the service impeccable. Should you consider visiting Mysore, go and check out the restaurant but you might consider another hotel....

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moramare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Orchid_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2010

Hello Sir

We regret the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us, especially at the pool. Apologies for the same.

Thank you for your feedback on the restaurant and the food we serve. We hope to have you stay with us again and promise you a much better experience this time around.

Regards

Royal Orchid Metropole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

The hotel is centrally located and is ideal for the various tourist activities in the city. The rooms a furnished with simple furniture and the food in the restaurant is quite good. Overall a good experience in the hotel. There are however a few things that need to be rectified... we had two single beds in our room and there was a huge gap between the matresses - we were worried that our son willl slip through that at night - so we stuffed the gaps with pillows... The bathroom can definitely be cleaner - we had brown colored water coming through the pipes initially and had to keep the water running for 15 mins before the water was clear.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panjagutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Orchid_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2010

Hello Sir

Thank you for your feedback- every suggestion and comment holds great value for us.

We regret the inconveniences you faced and will ensure that such things are not repeated in the future. Look forward to have you stay with us again .

Regards
Royal Orchid Metropole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,605 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#13 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
628 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#8 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#2 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
564 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $54 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Orchid Metropole is a grand heritage hotel and spread over 2.5 acres of land and is a perfect fusion of old world charm and modern elegant designs, imperial arches, impressive pillars, and flamboyant corridors which was originally built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing