We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed in a beautiful heritage room on the ground floor. Very stylish and comfortable, as indeed was the rest of the hotel. Dinner in the courtyard was lovely under the stars. Good food at lunchtime too in the outdoor coffee shop. Staff were well trained and attentive. This was the best of the ten hotels we stayed in in India.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RO-Metropole, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Orchid Metropole, Mysore!

Thank you for sharing such an overwhelming experience you had during your stay at the hotel.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your feedback with the entire team and they are happy to know about your experience at the hotel.
Feedback like yours that motivates us to strive consistently for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2009

Stayed here for a night during a business visit to Mysore. Disappointed is a mild way of putting my experience here. Had expected much more for a hotel in this price range (100$ +).

I would not recommend anybody to stay here. There are far better places at much lower price points to stay in Mysore. Mysore is a wonderful city. Don't let this hotel ruin your experience.

The impression I got from this hotel was that they wanted to make a fast buck on everything.
1. Toothpaste - Chargeable.
2. Internet - Chargeable. Ridiculous prices. Rs 150 for 30 mins. I mean, fair enough if you want to charge, but Rs 150 for 30 mins ??
3. No shower caps - I'm sure they would said this is chargeable as well.

The rooms are big but are dysfunctional. I'm amazed as to why can't they pay some attention to the basic things.
1. The door look doesn't work
2. The latch on the balcony door doesn't shut
3. Paint crumbling at places.
4. The mini-bar fridge makes so much noise as to wake u up from your sleep.
5. The TV seems to be from the age the hotel was constructed ..(1950's) ?

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dmitri7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Orchid_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2010

Dear Sir,

Please accept our sincere apology for all the inconvenience caused while you stayed with us. We are in a process of upgrading the guest facility. We value your feed back. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

A beautiful old property, impeccably restored. Royal Orchid Hotels and whoever else is responsible for this, should be proud of their work.
It's in an excellent location in Mysore: Walking distance to shops, sites, the tree lined city boulevards. Heck, this IS one of the city's historical sites! It was apparently where the Maharajah of Mysore had his non-vegetarian and foreign guests stay. So when you are eating in the old dining room, with its fireplace and hunting atmosphere, it's easy to imagine people there in the 1920s.The place has been re-done with wonderful touches. The food at the restaurant is excellent!!
The guest room has a high ceiling, giving a feel of spaciosuness. The bathroom has an old fashioned look (the old oval tub, the wooden step-stool) yet is entirely modern and comfortable. The Royal Orchid amenities (slippers, robes, toiletires) are lovely. The lobby is elegant, with pieces of history--dont miss the swinging seat and curved wooden staircase.
The inner courtyard at night is entrancing, with little lights 'round the trees. Service throughout--hotel and restaurant--is excellent: polite, dignified, and friendly at the same time. Outside the hotel bedroom is a bigterrace, which looks out onto the lawns. Also, right outside the room, is a shared open -air corridor--another place to sit and relax, just outside the hotel room.

The only advice is request a room at the far end of the courtyard, (away from the lobby and restaurant end) as the design of the place means that rooms surround the open-air courtyard where the restauarant's tables are. We could occasionally hear the muffled sounds of guests at mealtime. It didnt bother us; just added to the delighful ambience...or imagining dinner or cocktail parties in decades gone past (-; But if you are a light sleeper, do be aware of that.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank calinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RO-Metropole, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaste!!

Thank you for visiting Royal Orchid Metropole and taking time to share your feedback.

I do hope that you have many more opportunities to visit us again ,look forward to welcome you all .

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

The Metropole is housed in an old government building. It is quirky but ultimately charming. I had a huge room with a huge balcony, very comfortable and full of character. Outside my door was a courtyard of plants and trees. Admittedly having to decide 20 minutes in advance when you wanted hot water was not what you might expect from a top hotel. Neither was the gym - a couple of machines tucked in an outbuilding. The pool was fine but no changing rooms or towels. However the one meal I had out in the courtyard was fantastic in all regards. The service was superb and the food top notch. I put the Metrople down as part of a genuine India experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RO-Metropole, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Dear Guest,
Namaste!!

Thank you for visiting Royal Orchid Metropole and taking time to share your feedback.


I do hope that you have many more opportunities to visit us again ,look forward to welcome you all .

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

This is a central hotel with all that that implies : beeping cars, roaring trucks etc... But a hotel in this category should be paying closer attention to faulty AC and noisy mini bars.
The peeling enamel in the bathtub didn't make me feel any better either.
Dinner in the courtyard was a study in malfunction, with the waiters paying either too little attention or being downright rude. When the food finally arrived, it was cold, and less than mediocre.
Although the exterior of the hotel is appealing, the interior has been completely modernised and is quite charmless.
Definitely not a place I will be returning to.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlmostHome5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Orchid_Hotels, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2010

Dear Sir,

Thank you for the feed back and please accept our sincere apology.
We have rectified our shortfall & our staffs are undergoing training on guest service.We do hope to see you on your next visit to Mysore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

We stayed at the Metropole for two nights on 30/31 December recently. Got a very good deal on the internet.

Arrived & were given a room just opposite the restaurant & loud blaring music. We were assured the music would stop by 11.00 pm. But it didn't.

Tried to use the safe (which was antiquated) but managed to get our items locked in due to very bad instructions. Good thing was that site maintenance man was able to open for us. We stayed two nights but bottled water was only given for one night. Found reception to be rather unhelpful and their English was not very good. We were staying in another Royal Orchid hotel in Bangalore a week later so I asked reception to check the booking was in order for me. They phoned the reservation centre which was closed. I then suggested to reception that they could phone the hotel directly & confirm and the receptionist said that they could give us the number and we could phone (which would cost us money). This annoyed us as we were going to stay at their "sister" hotel. In the end they confirmed it but it was a hassle.

The breakfast, although held in a nice hall, was not very good choice wise.

If staying over the New Year period ask for a room on one of the higher floors.

Nice building and atmosphere (during the quiet times) but customer service is lacking. One advantage is that there is a very good vegetarian restaurant just behind it - Guru Prasad. Reasonably priced and excellent food.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MayaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Orchid_Hotels, Owner at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2009

Dear guest,

We apologise for the inconvenience caused during your visit to Royal Orchid Metropole, Mysore. Rest assured, all the issues that you have mentioned have been resolved. Service at the hotel was recently reviewed and an extensive training has been carried out for all staff members. We do hope that you are able to visit us again and give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

First, let me say again that this is a beautiful building. Withe open terraces, verandhas and the central court, it could be a fantastic place to stay.
But it is run by a very motley crew. Dinner, my first two choices were "not available". My third, when it arrived, was undercooked chicken. I nibbled, ate some rice, and decided to give up on that. I asked for my bill. I asked again. And again. 20 minutes and I gave up and went through to reception and told them that if someone wanted the bill singing, I would be in my room.
Throughout, I had been entertained by the deafening noise from the building next door - think Spring Break. Very very loud shouting on a PA and music. Went on until 11. Deafening outside, or in the bathroom.
Next morning, bad attitude waiters for breakfast. Unhelpful reception. Went out for the day and decided not to stay the night so tried to check out ... but you are staying one more night ... no I am not - please prepare my bill. Goes to room, packs, returns to reception. See sir, you are not checking out until tomorrow... no, I am checking out now.
For India, £135 for two nights b&b for a single is a high price, and certainly a lot more than the Metropole was worth.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank John121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Orchid_Hotels, Owner at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2009

Dear Mr. John,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback. You will be pleased to know that we have improved our F&B quality immensely in the last 3 years. While we apologise for the unpleasant noise from the hotel next door, we are pleased to inform you that measures have been taken to address this problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,597 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#14 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
625 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#3 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
559 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $63 - $761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Orchid Metropole is a grand heritage hotel and spread over 2.5 acres of land and is a perfect fusion of old world charm and modern elegant designs, imperial arches, impressive pillars, and flamboyant corridors which was originally built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing