We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful heritage atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #6 of 116 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel is a wonderful old building near the centre of Mysore. Our room spacious and clean and overlooked the trees of the central courtyard. The furnishings were a little old fashioned, but that was in keeping with the atmosphere of the place. The food was good and there is a small swimming pool to cool off in. You can hear the trains passing through the nearby station, but it is not so loud as to be irritating. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderHopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,


The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.


We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed 4 days in this wonderful hotel in a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the garden with exoctic trees full of parrots. The bath room was a Little oldfashioned but
charrming. Cleanliness was overall fine. The restaurant "The Tiger Trail" offered extremely good food; very refined spicy dishes. The staff was very helpful. Opening times and deck chairs in the swimming pool area could have been a Little better. Location was fine in walking distance to the center.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aasesylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,


The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our first hotel experience in India, a great first impression. Staff courteous and helpful, room upgrade and a quaint old world charm.
The room was spacious, charming and a little quirky, the bed was amazingly comfortable. The dining space is in the courtyard and looks brilliant at night. The food and service were very good. We did have a safe in our room.
There is always some background noise in a city in India and this was no exception but did not disturb us at all.
A great hotel in a good position.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Guest,


The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel is located in prime area, very close to the palace and the markets. The staff if helpful even if some are somewhat forgetful. They did give an upgrade to a more spacious room on their own. Really appreciate that.

The breakfast buffet is rich in variety and pretty fulfilling. The Gym and swimming pool are there more as tick boxes especially the Gym.

It maybe a little on the "splurge" side of travel (wikitravel jargon), but still worth it considering there are no unpleasant surprises.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms maynot be a good idea. if your room has a balcony, try for first floor outside fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parthasarathi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Mr. Parthasarthi,

We thank you for taking time to review our service standards.

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed 1 night. Ok overall with good food for lunch and dinner, clean room, but 2 points make me give only a rating of 3: The air conditioning unit was not useable during the night because of horrible loud noises that clearly indicates that it needs to be repaired or replaced. Also, it is the only hotel during our 3 week stay in south india that did not have a safe (or even a lockable drawer) in the room, while there is more than enough room to put one: in the room, it clearly stated not to leave any valuables, you had to give your stuff at the front desk, where they put it in a drawer (not individual front desk safes like we sometimes see in older hotels). Fortunately, everything was ok, but still, a little bit unreassuring...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaudiLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to review our service standards.

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

We will certainly work on placing locker in the rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Metropole,Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a Heritage hotel full of old world charm but with all the modern facilities we've all come to expect. It was built by the Maharaja of Mysore to house his guests. We were in a Royal Wing Room which was very comfortable and included in the price was a really great breakfast. The staff were all lovely and ensured we had a comfortable stay. The food was also great. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manxcat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We like the style of this hotel, no futuresque design but real stuff, heritage included and preserved for the guests while delivering very good service. The rooms we had were not too big but had a balcony and served our purposes of 2 nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#4 of 116 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,690 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#8 of 116 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#2 of 116 in Mysuru (Mysore)
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden Palace & Spa
Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden Pa...
#12 of 116 in Mysuru (Mysore)
643 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#5 of 116 in Mysuru (Mysore)
2,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Star Mysore
Southern Star Mysore
#11 of 116 in Mysuru (Mysore)
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $76 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Orchid Metropole is a grand heritage hotel and spread over 2.5 acres of land and is a perfect fusion of old world charm and modern elegant designs, imperial arches, impressive pillars, and flamboyant corridors which was originally built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing