We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our first hotel experience in India, a great first impression. Staff courteous and helpful, room upgrade and a quaint old world charm.
The room was spacious, charming and a little quirky, the bed was amazingly comfortable. The dining space is in the courtyard and looks brilliant at night. The food and service were very good. We did have a safe in our room.
There is always some background noise in a city in India and this was no exception but did not disturb us at all.
A great hotel in a good position.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Guest,


The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel is located in prime area, very close to the palace and the markets. The staff if helpful even if some are somewhat forgetful. They did give an upgrade to a more spacious room on their own. Really appreciate that.

The breakfast buffet is rich in variety and pretty fulfilling. The Gym and swimming pool are there more as tick boxes especially the Gym.

It maybe a little on the "splurge" side of travel (wikitravel jargon), but still worth it considering there are no unpleasant surprises.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms maynot be a good idea. if your room has a balcony, try for first floor outside fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parthasarathi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Mr. Parthasarthi,

We thank you for taking time to review our service standards.

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed 1 night. Ok overall with good food for lunch and dinner, clean room, but 2 points make me give only a rating of 3: The air conditioning unit was not useable during the night because of horrible loud noises that clearly indicates that it needs to be repaired or replaced. Also, it is the only hotel during our 3 week stay in south india that did not have a safe (or even a lockable drawer) in the room, while there is more than enough room to put one: in the room, it clearly stated not to leave any valuables, you had to give your stuff at the front desk, where they put it in a drawer (not individual front desk safes like we sometimes see in older hotels). Fortunately, everything was ok, but still, a little bit unreassuring...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaudiLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to review our service standards.

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

We will certainly work on placing locker in the rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Metropole,Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a Heritage hotel full of old world charm but with all the modern facilities we've all come to expect. It was built by the Maharaja of Mysore to house his guests. We were in a Royal Wing Room which was very comfortable and included in the price was a really great breakfast. The staff were all lovely and ensured we had a comfortable stay. The food was also great. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manxcat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We like the style of this hotel, no futuresque design but real stuff, heritage included and preserved for the guests while delivering very good service. The rooms we had were not too big but had a balcony and served our purposes of 2 nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is an interesting hotel with a lot of character. We had a spacious room on the 2nd floor, with a large veranda overlooking the front gardens and, beyond, the busy main road. All very pleasant, but spoilt by the traffic noise from the main road, which was incessant. Also, our sleep was disturbed by a noisy fridge in the room, and trains hooting from the nearby railway station. The shower was a heritage shower, and difficult to operate. The food here is excellent, and the swimming pool a delightful retreat at the end of a hot day.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

I have shared your comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration to work on improving the service standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I loved this hotel for its ambiance and character. I had a heritage room which was lovely, off of the outdoor dining area with a verandah that faced right on front garden level so was not private. Large room and large bathroom. Free fruit platter available upon request. Comfortable. Large bathroom but, as another reviewer said, taking a shower in the bathtub was extremely dangerous as it is curved and there is no rubber mat on the bottom. Not for the unstable.

Two friends had an identical heritage room next door but they had to duck under a stairwell a little bit (they are tall) to enter without hitting their head. My friends also objected to the fact that the heritage rooms had no outside windows or much natural light. Only windows were to inside hotel corridor or to verandah which was too public to open.

We were with a group requiring 4 rooms. Two of the single rooms got upgraded --- big time. The Maharaja Suite, the largest hotel room any of us had ever seen much less stayed in. Unbelievable. With a large corner second-floor wrap around verandah which my friend and I did yoga on in the morning. The bathroom was almost the size of my heritage hotel room. This comparison between the Heritage Rooms and Suites may be why my friends in the heritage room were a little disgruntled with what I thought was a lovely room.

We had dinner in the beautiful outdoor courtyard dining area and it is true that the service was slow and not good at all, although the food was quite good. We thought the breakfast buffet was wonderful, dosais and iddlies upon request, omelettes made to order, so perhaps earlier reviewers did not know that they could order outside of the buffet. The front desk was very helpful to us in finding our way around.

Good location. Walkable to great food and the great Devaraja market.

Cons:
This was the almost only hotel we stayed at during our 3 week trip that charged for internet service -- and not cheap. US$2/hour or $11 for 24 hours. And the other hotel that charged was the Royal Orchid in Bangalore.
Laundry service was very expensive. It is outsourced as I saw the laundry trunk coming around to deliver.

Room Tip: I was in #104 Heritage. My friends in #103 Heritage had to deal with the stairway. The large suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for time taken to share your views about our hotel.

We thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore.

I have shared your comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,558 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#3 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,935 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#15 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#4 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
499 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $69 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Orchid Metropole is a grand heritage hotel and spread over 2.5 acres of land and is a perfect fusion of old world charm and modern elegant designs, imperial arches, impressive pillars, and flamboyant corridors which was originally built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing