We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night in Dec 2013. We picked this hotel due to its high ratings in trip advisor. We weren't disappointed.

Pros:
- Very clean hotel with clean rooms and bathrooms
- Bathrooms are spacious with all
- Service is very good. There was hardly a waiting time for check-in and check-out. The front desk could arrange for taxis within a 10 minute notice.
- There is room service and it is reasonably prompt
- Location is good. It is close to the palace and the railway station. Not quite walkable, but a short auto ride away.
- The breakfast spread is excellent.
- Dinner was good as well.

Cons:
- This might be just an one off bad experience: we tried calling the front desk for directions and we could never get through to them. No one picked up the land line or the mobile. No one bothered to return our calls. That has never happened to us before in a high end hotel.
- We were a bit disappointed with the lunch buffet. For the price we paid, it was a bit ordinary (taste and spread wise)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmanoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your observations regarding our service and hotel is inspirational for all of us.

We will work on our shortfall to ensure on your next visit we can live up to to your service expectations.


We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
There are newer reviews for Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Royal Orchid Mysore is a palace like living in Mysore, is superbly located very near to palace.
Good or say excellent continental food. Neat and clean very calm decent hotel. Has very good morning breakfast and all facilities.

Room Tip: rooms on Front side
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagdishjhanwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your observations regarding our service and hotel is inspirational for all of us.


We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Metropole is a gorgeous hotel. The look and feel -- down to every ornate, slightly-faded-in-places antique floor tiles, beautiful small and large paintings, and metal-framed Raj-era mirrors -- is gloriously old worldly, the service is consistently courteous and attentive, and the old bungalow-style building is absolutely swathed in luscious green foliage from giant palms to ancient trees to flowering shrubs and creepers of all varieties. Mysore is a small city with no kind of life – and certainly no nightlife – outside the regular tourist destinations and it is essential to be able to return to a charming, relaxed setting of this kind once the sun goes down.

It is strategically located, on a key city thoroughfare which everyone knows, and which makes getting around the city by auto-rickshaw (tuk tuk) really simple. The hotel is also literally a 3-minute auto ride away from the railway station (or a 10-minute walk) which makes it very convenient if you are arriving by train from Bangalore (a better option, in my view, than jostling with trucks and riding innumerable speed bumps for four hours on the highway). There has been some comment here on the hotel being noisy on account of its location bang on a busy road – that’s only partly true. The lawns, poolside and some private sitouts/balconies (lovely!) with the rooms can be noisy, but the inner corridors and dining areas are not, and virtually no noise filters into your room once the windows and sitout door are shut. My wife and I spent three nights (Dec 26-28, 2013) in a room facing the main road, and slept soundly every night.

Dinner (we didn't get a chance to try lunch at the hotel) is at Shikari (The Hunter), where you dine al fresco in an inner courtyard overhung by a beautiful mango tree from whose branches are suspended lovely romantic lanterns. There is a small Chinese and snacky Western selection (a couple of sizzlers, pastas and grills) but it is best to stick to the Indian tandoori (barbecue) section, which is the restaurant's strong point. A wide range of meat, fish and vegetarian kebabs, curries, rice and Indian breads (rotis, naans, kulchas and parathas) is on offer, all cooked in front of you at a live chefs’ counter. The kalmi kebab, burra champ and boti kebab are outstanding, and if you don’t mind a little spicy stuff, do try the Mysore chilli chicken and Mysore special mutton saru. Super.

Breakfast – in a Raj-era club-like high-ceilinged dining room called Tiger Trail – is the standard juices-fruits-breads-cakes-eggs-sausages-pancakes-tea-coffee spread that you get at most hotels in the world, and is uniformly excellent. The fresh, hot South Indian items – upma, idlis, vadas and dosas – are even better.

A good word here about the staff. One night, we returned knackered and completely famished to find the courtyard restaurant packed solid with diners who appeared to be only just settling down with their bottles of wine and plates of kebabs, and it seemed quite certain that we’d have to suffer a bit before a table was free. The general manager of the property, Suman Nanaiah, whom we had earlier seen inquiring after the comfort and convenience of her guests, was circulating among the tables, and she found me standing lost and helpless, and asked if she could help. What followed was this: I was ushered upstairs to our room, a table was laid out in our private sitout, and plates of starters appeared within 10 minutes, so we had something to sink our teeth into immediately. After 20 minutes, when a table was free, we were rung up to be asked if we would like to move there, and escorted downstairs to continue with the rest of our dinner. Even though the fact that all tables had been taken was no one’s fault, every server and the two maitre d’s came up to apologize for the inconvenience it caused us, and they kept coming up until breakfast the next morning.

Suman, this was hospitality, grace and thoughtfulness of a very high standard, for which you have our gratitude and appreciation. A shout-out too for each one of your staffers, and especially Vasanth and Basavara who looked after us at dinner, and Appaiah, who supervised breakfast. Also, Harish, who checked us in, and the two ladies who checked us out and organized all our local transport. Thank you all very much indeed.

Room Tip: Go for the Heritage room. The private sitout is lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Wishing you and your dear family a very Happy New Year !!

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

Thank you for very much for posting your experience on Trip Advisor and also for appreciating our , food and service.



I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Should you need any assistance in Mysore, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just one word- "Awesome" going there again.for the suit and food and lovely service. I love the non-veg so much I am going to miss that hotel a lot the people are so friendly and the service is amazingi must say that this hotel is going to give a tough competition to Taj hotels. This is the best hotel with reasonable and affordable price!!!!:-) gonna bring my friends too..

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanmayn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

Your compliments on our service is inspirational for all of us.


The team and I take this opportunity to wish you a very happy New Year and our very best wishes for the years ahead.

look forward to welcome you on your next visit to Mysore.

Thank you and regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A lovely, colonial style hotel combining leisurely grace and charm of Mysore with modern amenities and efficient service, this hotel feels like a resort in the heart of Mysore. A great place to stay, eat and explore Mysore and its surroundings. Complemented by warm and efficient service - not possible to single out any staffer, all of them were equally good - you will go back with fond memories as we did. Choose the Heritage wing for solitude and great views of the courtyard. Pricing is quite decent, though a tad on the higher side for a city like Mysore, but then if you are in the Royal city, expect to pay a bit for being treated like a Royal at the Metropole. We had no problems with amenities or location or food.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the rear side - Heritage wing. Ground floor has a superb feel while first floor give...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing review on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

Your compliments on our service is inspirational for all of us. We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discreet service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is our greatest reward.


The team and I take this opportunity to wish you and your dea family a very happy New Year.

Thank you and regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The building has an old world charm. The rooms in our wing had outsize balconies, almost the size of the room. The extra accessories we asked for were supplied promptly. We liked the stay a lot.
One small hitch was the restaurant service during dinner time. May be the restaurant is quite popular due to its phenomenal taste. However that cannot be an excuse for the confusion visible in waiters.

Room Tip: If you forget stuffs like toothbrush, toothpaste or hair oils, ask for it. We enjoyed our wing whic...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sambaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing review on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

Your compliments on our service is inspirational for all of us. We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discreet service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is our greatest reward.We all will work on our shortfall as mentioned by you .I am sure you will notice the changes on your next visit .



The team and I take this opportunity to wish you a very happy New Year and our very best wishes for the years ahead.

Thank you and regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Although the hotel is lovely, we were let down by a number of things. The bathroom was ill equipped with no shampoo and no spare toilet roll. The air conditioner failed during the night and the room was unbearable. The internet, which we paid for, was difficult to connect then did not work for long. The best thing about the hotel was the restaurant.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

Kindly accept my sincere apology for all the inconvenience .

We noted experience you have had with our services .I have addressed this matter with the team/Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence. We will certainly work on bettering our service standards .

Merry X -Mas!!! wish you and your dear family Happy New year.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,519 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
436 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#3 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,118 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#14 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
616 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $64 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Orchid Metropole is a grand heritage hotel and spread over 2.5 acres of land and is a perfect fusion of old world charm and modern elegant designs, imperial arches, impressive pillars, and flamboyant corridors which was originally built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing