We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable oasis in a bustling city”

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable oasis in a bustling city”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We loved our two nights here. Beautiful old building - getting a bit tired, but still evocative of it's grand past and way more enjoyable than cookie cutter modern chain hotels. The gardens were peaceful and cool - very welcome relief from the noisy, dusty streets outside the wall. We were upgraded to the Maharaja Suite which was enormous. As big as an apartment with a huge balcony. The huge bathroom was a bit strange - being old, the facilities were a not as convenient as they might be. The shower over the bath is not great and there was no non slip mat to make climbing in and out easier or safer. The hand basin was large, but there was nowhere to put things like toothbrushes, make up etc. in front of the mirror.
Staff were helpful. When we found that the bath plug did not fit, it was attended to promptly. The service in the restaurant was not fast, but then we were not in a rush so it didn't matter. The food was well worth waiting for! The breakfasts were super - no continental options for us when Dosa, Idli and Puri are on offer along with mango lassi. The restaurant staff were friendly, attentive and remembered our preferences on the second day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your observations regarding our service and hotel is inspirational for all of us.

We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    319
    98
    47
    18
See reviews for
344
319
46
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

we had 3 nights at this unusual hotel, that used to be a classical guest house for vips,
the first night the service in the restaurant was poor, but from that moment on it got better and better
We found the people in reception extremely helpful and once we got chatting all had a great sense of humour nothing was to much trouble
The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable, the food was also better than we could have hoped for ,we would recommend hotel. one small note the pool was not up to much

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your recent experience .Our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our accommodation &services.

We look forward to serving you in the near future.

Warm Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Royal Orchid Metropole in Mysore unfortunately embodies the worst side of the Indian tourist trade: a beautiful, heritage hotel with a few excellent staff, undermined by chaotic management, shoddy maintenance and generally poor service.

First the good: this is a beautiful building and a peaceful place to hang out in the heart of  Mysore. Some of the restaurant staff were attentive and their captain was excellent - welcoming, cheerful,  nothing was too much trouble.

However, they are let down by a series of issues, mostly down to the attitude of other staff. We arrived to a bit of a shambles:
- at check in, we were told we could only have the rooms we booked for one night. We'd booked for two and had written confirmation of the same but, due to some unspecified problem with the central booking facility, this hadn't been communicated to the hotel correctly.
- the check in staff's first attempt to resolve this was a cursory apology and a suggestion we'd need to stay elsewhere on the second night. When we made clear we wouldn't accept this, and after much negotiation on our part, we were very reluctantly offered a night in a different hotel,  in the same chain 16km away, and a free taxi to Srirangpatana (the latter extracted as the only hint of compensation for the trouble and 90 mins wasted for their incompetence).
- the check in staff were not empowered to offer us anything - they had to clear everything through an invisible senior management to weak to empower their staff and too cowardly to come and speak to us in person. This only added to the stress length of time it took to resolve.
- it was made clear to us that staying the extra night that we'd booked was completely impossible. Only later that evening we were offered exactly that - we could keep the rooms and all that stress had been unnecessary.

Unfortunately, being told something was impossible for it then to happen shortly after became something of a theme of our stay...
- when we came down for a drink that evening. Initially told that the bar was closed, 2 minutes later an (excellent) waiter came over to take our order.
- at lunch the following day we sat down at a seemingly available table only to be told it would be impossible to have lunch there and we'd need to move to other side of the courtyard. We dallied in moving for a couple if minutes only for the same (excellent) waiter to come over, take our order and set the table.

The rooms have also, in my opinion, been poorly maintained. Cracked laminate flooring (not really in keeping with the heritage property), dusty, cracked paint on the walls and a swimming pool which was far from clear.

This is a lovely building and, with a few excellent staff already, should be a great hotel. Our major issue was the needless mistake with our booking but the poor maintenance added to the sour taste. And as for attitude, I was left with the impression that, for many of the hotel staff, the default attitude is to do as little as possible and only deviate from this path when forced by a pushy customer. There were notable exceptins but this is not a great approach from a hotel which aspires to offer a good service and not conducive to a satisfying stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

Kindly accept my sincere apology for all the inconvenience .

We noted experience you have had with our services.
I have addressed this matter with the team/Managers/Central reservation system and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.


We will certainly work on bettering our service standards .

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.


Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We did a stop-over at Mysore on our trip to Coorg and spent one night at this hotel on 11th Oct 2013 during the Dassera Festival.

The property is a beautiful heritage property. We chose to stay here owing to the proximity to the Mysore Palace and Mysore Zoo

We had booked a Heritage Room and were upgraded to the Maharaja Suite which was excellent. It was extremely spacious with a huge balcony overlooking the pool on one side and trees on the other side. They have set up a table for 4 in the balcony and I wish I had the time to do one meal there. The balcony also is road facing so you immediately hear the noisy traffic but if you close the door of the balcony the room is quiet. We expected the Maharaja Suite to have a king-sized bed, but it was small even for a couple.
There are 5 seating arrangements (couches) around the Suite but a very small bed. It also has a large adjoining bathroom.
In the bathroom the shower area is combined with the Bath Tub which is a big negative. There is so much space in the bathroom but under-utilized, the shower area is very inconvenient with elbows hitting the wall.

Room Service was VERY SLOW and the staff did not understand simple instructions when we ordered food from the room.
On our return from visiting the Mysore Palace we went into their 'Shikari' Restaurant for dinner. There was no vacant table and the waiter insisted that we go back to our room and order via room service. Owing to the earlier bad experience with room service we urged them to find us a table. We were seated at the lounge area which is a bit on the side. Here we had to get off our chairs to ask someone to take our order and also had to get off our chair when we wanted to ask for additional food. When we stood up to get someone's attention any staff member passing by would avert his eyes so that he did not have to talk to us, only when we were able to catch the attention of the staff member appointed for our table, our request was looked into. Staff does not understand hospitality.
The food served was good and tasty, we also had the buffet breakfast next morning which was mostly Indian and South-Indian fare, very limited continental options.
The reception staff also did not know much details about tourist attractions and we had to find most of the information from the internet - like timings/days closed etc.
Wi-Fi connectivity is on payment basis only

Room Tip: The heritage rooms are spacious and facing the pool but also beyond the pool is the main road where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Ms. Gupta

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..We value your feed back

Kindly accept my sincere apology for all the inconvenience caused.

I have addressed this matter with the our team members /Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.

Will look forward to welcome you all back .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our Mysore trip was as impromptu as it can get. So much so that we started looking for hotels after reaching the city limits. After checking out 3-4 hotels, we finally reached here and were very impressed with the architecture and maintenance of this place.

We just wanted to stay for one night to explore the city and we got a pretty decent breakfast inclusive deal.

The room we got was small but the verandah outside was considerably sized! The bed was super comfortable. Almost of 5-star quality. All basic amenities were provided for. The best part was the room and the bathroom were spotless! Very well maintained.

Next up, their hospitality is really worth mentioning. Since after exploring the palace etc we reached pretty late, they had just closed the lunch buffet. But we were starving. Instead of offering us the limited in room dining options, they offered anything we wanted from the buffet. We were sceptical about being served leftovers or stale food but they assured us that would not be the case, so we went ahead. The food came in such copious amounts, even our hungry stomachs could not consume it all. And it was absolutely fresh - figured out from the succulent pieces of chicken and hot tandoori rotis we were served - and delicious.

Having had such lovely food, we wanted to go to their restaurant for dinner but when we reached, it was packed with locals. Figured this place really must be a favorite among them as well. We ordered in room. Great food...again.

Also, breakfast spread the next morning was unexpectedly vast. I really had not expected such a lavish spread for the price we paid!!! Hot and cold - all sorts of variety were available.

Would recommend to anyone looking for a mid range hotel with exceptional service and food to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feed back about our hotel.

We are delighted to note that our services met your expectations.

Team at The Metropole ,Mysore joins me in thanking you .

We all @ Royal Orchid Metropole look forward to welcome you on your future visits to Mysore!!

Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We visited Mysore for the first time and the objective was to expose the children to the rich culture and history of the southern states. The hotel booked on someones reference seemed to be just the right place for this outing. The building takes you back in time with the look and architecture. I was given to understand that it was the official guesthouse of the king before it was converted into a hotel.

The restaurant in the courtyard looked deserted in the day time but the weather and the setting was perfect for dinner. The food was good though service was not up to the mark.

They have a pool but it is more like a duck pond with ugly dark blue tiles, completely avoidable.

I wish i had more time to spend reading under the tree or to explore other interesting nooks and corners. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your positive /Negative observations regarding our service and hotel is inspirational for all of us.

We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights. The first night booked the Heritage room which was very nice and spacious. The toilet was large and had a an old fashioned bath tub. The verandah was lovely and was really nice to sit out and have tea. Overall service was very good. There were minor issues such as the hair dryer that was provided was not working. This seemed to have been overlooked by housekeeping. Also one of the lights in the room was not working. We had dinner at the hotel in the courtyard below. The food was really good and sitting outdoors in this heritage ambiance was wonderful. The following day we decided to move the the Maharaja suite. The Maharaja suite was indeed worth every rupee. It was extremely spacious with a huge verandah. We loved the room and had room service at night as there was a dining table in the verandah where we could sit and enjoy the outdoors as well. Room service was good but a little limited in their selections. This time we asked for one of the items on the bathroom menu that once can ask for and sadly they could not provide it at that point in time. But overall we had a wonderful stay and next time in Mysore would stay again at the Metropole.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

We noted experience you have had with our services.

Have shared the feed back with the team/Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.

Will look forward to welcome you all back .

Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,462 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
364 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,586 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#12 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Property: Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand heritage hotel, Royal Orchid Metropole is steeped in the history and culture of Mysore. Its imperial arches, imposing pillars and ornate corridors capture the old world charm of this majestic guesthouse built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing