We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Quorum(Mysuru (Mysore))
$53
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$164
$149
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pai Vista(Mysuru (Mysore))
$49
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Southern Star Mysore(Mysuru (Mysore))
$45
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suvarna Residency(Mysuru (Mysore))
$26
$22
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paradise(Mysuru (Mysore))
$36
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sandesh The Prince(Mysuru (Mysore))
$53
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Hotel(Mysuru (Mysore))
$37
$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Ruchi The Prince(Mysuru (Mysore))
$67
$65
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,205)
Filter reviews
1,205 results
Traveler rating
665
361
109
50
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
665
361
109
50
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal orchidmaharaja suitetiger trailcourtyard restaurantheritage roomheritage propertycolonial styleold world charmcentral courtyardlarge balconyguest housecharming hotellunch buffetfront officemodern amenitiesrailway stationindian food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
850 - 855 of 1,205 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our Mysore trip was as impromptu as it can get. So much so that we started looking for hotels after reaching the city limits. After checking out 3-4 hotels, we finally reached here and were very impressed with the architecture and maintenance of this place.

We just wanted to stay for one night to explore the city and we got a pretty decent breakfast inclusive deal.

The room we got was small but the verandah outside was considerably sized! The bed was super comfortable. Almost of 5-star quality. All basic amenities were provided for. The best part was the room and the bathroom were spotless! Very well maintained.

Next up, their hospitality is really worth mentioning. Since after exploring the palace etc we reached pretty late, they had just closed the lunch buffet. But we were starving. Instead of offering us the limited in room dining options, they offered anything we wanted from the buffet. We were sceptical about being served leftovers or stale food but they assured us that would not be the case, so we went ahead. The food came in such copious amounts, even our hungry stomachs could not consume it all. And it was absolutely fresh - figured out from the succulent pieces of chicken and hot tandoori rotis we were served - and delicious.

Having had such lovely food, we wanted to go to their restaurant for dinner but when we reached, it was packed with locals. Figured this place really must be a favorite among them as well. We ordered in room. Great food...again.

Also, breakfast spread the next morning was unexpectedly vast. I really had not expected such a lavish spread for the price we paid!!! Hot and cold - all sorts of variety were available.

Would recommend to anyone looking for a mid range hotel with exceptional service and food to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCD_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feed back about our hotel.

We are delighted to note that our services met your expectations.

Team at The Metropole ,Mysore joins me in thanking you .

We all @ Royal Orchid Metropole look forward to welcome you on your future visits to Mysore!!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We visited Mysore for the first time and the objective was to expose the children to the rich culture and history of the southern states. The hotel booked on someones reference seemed to be just the right place for this outing. The building takes you back in time with the look and architecture. I was given to understand that it was the official guesthouse of the king before it was converted into a hotel.

The restaurant in the courtyard looked deserted in the day time but the weather and the setting was perfect for dinner. The food was good though service was not up to the mark.

They have a pool but it is more like a duck pond with ugly dark blue tiles, completely avoidable.

I wish i had more time to spend reading under the tree or to explore other interesting nooks and corners. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your positive /Negative observations regarding our service and hotel is inspirational for all of us.

We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights. The first night booked the Heritage room which was very nice and spacious. The toilet was large and had a an old fashioned bath tub. The verandah was lovely and was really nice to sit out and have tea. Overall service was very good. There were minor issues such as the hair dryer that was provided was not working. This seemed to have been overlooked by housekeeping. Also one of the lights in the room was not working. We had dinner at the hotel in the courtyard below. The food was really good and sitting outdoors in this heritage ambiance was wonderful. The following day we decided to move the the Maharaja suite. The Maharaja suite was indeed worth every rupee. It was extremely spacious with a huge verandah. We loved the room and had room service at night as there was a dining table in the verandah where we could sit and enjoy the outdoors as well. Room service was good but a little limited in their selections. This time we asked for one of the items on the bathroom menu that once can ask for and sadly they could not provide it at that point in time. But overall we had a wonderful stay and next time in Mysore would stay again at the Metropole.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDDD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

We noted experience you have had with our services.

Have shared the feed back with the team/Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.

Will look forward to welcome you all back .

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stay at metropole 4-6 months of the year on business. I can say the service is consistent and friendly, but you are able to enjoy your own time away from the noise of the city. It's very relaxing especially when you need some down time. I see other travellers come and go and their experience has always been good. I've found that requests are answered promptly and with professional rigour, and I know this is not matched in most of the other major (and more expensive) hotels. Wifi and laundry is expensive but if you are able to avoid these, the value is very good. People travel to eat at the famous restaurant and food is top quality. If you are not staying at Metropole a meal on Saturday or Sunday night is worth a trip in itself. The staff are very knowledgeable and can assist with nearly every question you might have about the city. They are very close to the palace and Sunday night when the palace lights up is a must for anyone passing through. Overall it's a beautiful hotel and I look forward to coming back each time

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdManSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your positive observations regarding our service and hotel is inspirational for all of us.

We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The building is very nice and located not too far from downtown or the University.
There are two level of rooms: some standards overlooking the patio and the deluxe overlooking on the street side, but far enough that they are not too noisy. Those have a nice. large balcony.
The rooms are large, as in old-fashioned mansion large: ours had a foyer, high ceilings, large bed, wardrobes, TV, desk. Bed was comfortable, AC worked well, TV also. Nice wood floors, unfortunately covered in places by tired looking carpets.
Bathroom large also but the wearing-out shows more in the bathroom (need to start the water heater 10 minutes before you need hot water).
Nice breakfast area around the patio or inside, good spread and good coffee.
Hotel staff is very helpful, I needed help with scanning and printing which they did very quickly.
In conclusion this is a good hotel (given India's current offerings) and it could be very good with a little investment. Competition is coming to town as we saw a large Radisson under way near the Palace. Hopefully it will prompt improvement at the Metropole.
We recommend to take a Deluxe room on the top floor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.

We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.

We value your feed back and will work your suggestion.

We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews