We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Historic.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Kenmore, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Historic.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is so steeped in history! It was fun staying in a heritage hotel that hadn't been "modernized" too much but kept it's ambiance. They had problems with the AC but were able to fix it. The power in Mysore is intermittent due to the drought and the fact that most of Southern India is dependent on hydro-electric power. The food at dinner was great but the breakfast and lunch buffets were a bit thin. The dining room/veranda staff were very pleasant but somewhat inattentive. This was true even when they had almost no guests and several staff members. I think they needed more training. Loved the bar! The pool is small but refreshing and the towel guy was very personable and helpful!
We stayed in one of the so called "Maharaja Suites". Very comfortable and Pretty. Great balcony.
Sweet hotel. Staff needs work.

Room Tip: Maharaja Suites were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..We are happy that you liked our hotel.

We noted experience you have had with our services.
I have addressed this matter with the team/Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.


Please do contact me directly whenever you plan your next travel to Mysore. It would be my pleasure to handle your reservation and ensure a comfortable stay for you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    322
    99
    47
    18
See reviews for
352
320
46
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Mysore has many a times been a stopover on our way to destinations beyond. After having stayed at Royal Orchids Kireeeti at Hampi (on our visit during Diwali) we decided to try Royal Orchids Metropole in Mysore. A beautiful property centrally located, yet gives you the feeling of being in a world of your own. The rooms are comfortable, tastefully designed with a nice balcony providing a rustic sit out. The property in itself stands up to the claim of being a heritage property.The over 90 year old mango tree in the courtyard is pretty unique and adds to the look of the place. The front office is very courteous and helpful. The service however is slow and the housekeeping staff is not very co-operative. Service at the restaurant also is slow but the food is worth the wait. Do not miss the Biryani served in 'Matka'. Pricing is decent.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a decent view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeepaMHyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Royal Orchid Metropole ,Mysore and we thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to note that you had a comfortable stay .
We will certainly work on bettering our service standards .

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Thanking you &with regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

stayed in april 2013.
1. good and calm location.
2. courteous staff but response time is pathetic
3. nice rooms with a big balcony.
4. buffet breakfast and lunch needs improvement.
5. food prices are on the higher side.
7.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debasish31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to note that our services met your expectations.

The team at The Metropole ,Mysore joins me in thanking you .

We all @ Metropole will look forward to welcome you on your future visits to Mysore!!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here in Aug 2012 so hopefully things have changed for the better since then. Our stay however was quite a disaster.

When we checked into the hotel, a sleepy front desk executive checked us in who also seemed quite disinterested with her job. We had booked one of the higher category of rooms through the internet but were checked into the base category room.
The staff didn't find out until i did. When i complained, the staff agreed to move us but we didn't want to move since we had come back from a long road trip and didn't want to move our luggage again. Hence we asked them to charge us for the base category room which they refused. After much arguing and "GM approval", they reluctantly agreed to charge us the same rate for the base category. I still couldn't understand what all the fuss was about.

I must mention that the base category room was quite filthy, the room itself was not clean, had seepages and had broken chairs on the balcony.

On the other hand, the service at the Indian restaurant is good and the food is decent. A good value for money hotel as it is quite centrally located.

A real shame since it is a beautiful heritage hotel but badly maintained and the service quality is just not upto the mark. A clear sign of slacking management.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm the room category at the time of check in. The base rooms are best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Himali81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

We noted experience you have had with our services.
I have addressed this matter with the team/Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.


Please do contact me directly whenever you plan your next travel to Mysore. It would be my pleasure to handle your reservation and ensure a comfortable stay for you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay here, the pool was hardly used but very nice. The food in the restaurant was always good and the service was attentive. We could sit outside in the courtyard or in and we didn't have a problem with Mosquitos which is unusual as they do usually like to bite me. There is a buffet for breakfast and lunch and a la carte for dinner. There is a good choice and we were happy eating almost all our meals there.
The room was spacious but quite basic and ours was a deluxe double (not the standard room but not the top one I recall). I would prefer a more modern room. The bathroom shower wasn't great and you have to wait for hot water for 30 minutes. We had a problem with air con and the communication in the hotel let it down because one person on reception didn't tell the next and so nobody mended it. We had a lot of fuss with it one night.
My husband used the gym, he said it was tiny but only 2 people seemed to use it anyway.
The atmosphere in the hotel is friendly. The building is romantic and feels like the old palace that it is.
The hotel booked us a reliable car for excursions, we did a half day trip each day which was all we could cope with in the heat. The car was good varied but the English speaking ability varied.

Room Tip: Don't ask for one near pool, there was were children having swimming classes between 7 and 9 eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LetsHopeTheSunShines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!

Thank you for taking time to post your opinion about our hotel. We are delighted to note that our services,ambiance & food met your expectations.

We all @ Metropole will look forward to welcome you on your future visits to Mysore!!


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Since I stay in Mysore I don't have much experience on the rooms and stay.
The food is the best you can have out here.
Even a simple curd rice,the sustaining food of many a south Indian,is great to taste.
The service is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYANTKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Mr.Jayant,

Greetings!!!

Thank you for taking time to post your opinion about our hotel. We are delighted to note that our services,ambiance & food met your expectations.

We all @ Metropole will look forward to welcome you on your future visits to Mysore!!

Always been our pleasure to have you stay with us.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum, Kerala, India
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful .... Property. I was travelling with my kids and picked up this property cause it said Heritage. It's a brilliant piece of property. The rooms are nice and airy with good looking traditional design furniture. We had a room with a huge balcony to sit out and sip your morning coffee. Too many mosquito's to sip your malt in the evening ;-). The food was good, even though I was not impressed with the buffet for lunch or breakfast. They had grilled stuff for dinner which was good. Centrally located. Staff are polite... Even though a couple of them in the restaurant were grumpy. The front office was being taken care of by the bell boy sometime late in the night. Maybe the people at the front desk were taking a break ;-). Check in... Check out was pretty much cool. Overall great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunitfenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

We noted experience you have had with our services.
I have addressed this matter with the team/Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.


Please do contact me directly whenever you plan your next travel to Mysore. It would be my pleasure to handle your reservation and ensure a comfortable stay for you.


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,495 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
395 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#3 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,611 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#12 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Property: Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand heritage hotel, Royal Orchid Metropole is steeped in the history and culture of Mysore. Its imperial arches, imposing pillars and ornate corridors capture the old world charm of this majestic guesthouse built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing