We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real Gem.”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

How can anyone give a negative review of this lovely classy hotel?. My husband & myself visited in February this year for 5 day's, but due to him getting a viris, we stayed for 11, and each day was a pleasure.all due to the wonderful staff, food, and accommodation.We could not fault it in any way, and perhapswill get a chance to visit again on our yearly visit to India.Would recommend it very highly. Iain & Patricia. Scotland.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuvarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Iain&Patricia

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review of our hotel and for your gracious comments.

I have conveyed your compliments to my team members .

Thank you for your wonderful words of appreciation.

We hope that The Metropole, remains your preferred hotel on all your future visits to Mysore.!!!


Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    313
    95
    47
    18
See reviews for
313
309
45
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a place for wedding,loved the city as first time visited.
We all enjoyed the wedding set up ,food great,service world class,staff Wow!!!
Hotel is well kept.Love to come back to this hotel again.Royal wedding best hotel to get married.Palace to marry

Room Tip: stayed in courtyard room ,mango trees green lawns
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smirthi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings!!!

Thank you for taking time to post your opinion about our hotel.

We are delighted to note that our services & food met your expectations.

We all @ Metropole will look forward to welcome you on your future visits to Mysore!!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our room was spacious, airy and pleasant. We had a balcony that overlooked a courtyard. It was clean, comfortable, airy (if a little gloomy) and well-equipped.

The food was adequate, but unremarkable and the dining room was not particularly well ventilated. We ate dinner in the courtyard and that was a far more pleasant experience.

We had a drink in the bar before dinner. It seemed to be impossible to get a drink and then even more difficult to get a bill! It finally arrived about 3 hours (no exaggeration) after we had first asked for it!

Our box breakfast for our very early departure was pretty uninspiring. More fresh fruit would have been better than unimaginative sandwiches.

The location to see the Maharaja's Palace, central Mysore and Devaraja market could not be better. Mysore is a fascinating city and this old hotel is charming, but just a little lacking compared to other equally old properties in major cities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hct1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

We noted experience you have had with our food and services.
I have addressed this matter with the team/Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.


Please do contact me directly whenever you plan your next travel to Mysore. It would be my pleasure to handle your reservation and ensure a comfortable stay for you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
194 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very well located- and nice rooms and grounds. Initially thought bathrooms a bit basic- and not too keen on shower in bath, but once you contextualise that this IS an old hotel, and look at in that light, all is fine. Rooms a little dark without balcony door open - but there is a balcony and anyway you don't go to Mysore to sit in a room! The pool area very pleasant- some noise from road but nice to be able to relax in the garden- not sure why they clear the sunbeds at 5 however- 6 would be more appropriate if you are trying to spend a few lazy hours after a busy day. We ate both evenings in the restaurant - the a la carte food in fact excellent. Service was a little slow- especially the first night- but think that was a symptom of the success of the place- every table was full at least once if not twice. Breakfast not very special - but it was included in the room rate and adequate. Not keen on the bar atall - poky and dark- but again you don't need to sit there. Staff all very pleasant. All in all thought was good value for money and from what we could see the only choice in Mysore other than Greens- if the Lahode Palace rooms were as unkempt and dirty as their bathrooms, which we saw when we popped in for a drink, wouldn't stay there for sure - just take a photo from the outside!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings!!!

Thank you for taking time to post your opinion about our hotel.

We are delighted to note that our services & food met your expectations.

We all @ Metropole will look forward to welcome you on your future visits to Mysore!!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stopped by for a Saturday lunch at the Hotel Metropole, as there buffet was recommended as having a nice variety of food.

Overall, the buffet was fine, but nothing to write home about. There was a variety of Indian and western dishes, all OK but not exciting. We had substantially better food where we were being hosted.

Two major negatives. First, my credit card was skimmed. I had used the card only once during my two weeks in India, at the Metropole. Shortly thereafter, someone attempted multiple online purchases with my card. (And thank you Visa for detecting them and refusing them.) The hotel still does not take responsibility.

Second, that evening, I was sick from what I ate. Of course, in India, you avoid raw veggies, salad, and tap water. And I was doing OK for the whole previous week (and the week after), but got sick from that lunch. (A quick course of antibiotics cleared it up.)

While the hotel is quite attractive and historic, the other issues cast the hotel in a very bad light for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

I would like to apologies most sincerely. We note with regret the negative experience you have had with our services.
I have addressed this matter with the team and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.

Based on the information you gave us we had an departmental enquiry and have not found substantial evidence to pin point that the card details were lifted by one of our staff.



Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Pros : Location, Ambience, Food, Staff Behaviour, Rooms, Decor (rooms as well as common areas), Balcony overlooking a green foliage of trees.

Cons : Slowness of response time from Housekeeping as well as restaurant

Delights : We were pleasantly surprised to be made a Royal Rewards cardmember, and our resolve to visit and stay at this hotel again in the future only got strengthened by the greed of accumulating points on our card. Another plus with the card is that Royal Orchid has properties in 14 (I think) cities of India, so I hope to gather points during my trips to other cities also. First target : Hampi!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebanjanSengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

We noted experience you have had with our rooms and services.
I have addressed this matter with the team/Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.


Please do contact me directly whenever you plan your next travel to Mysore. It would be my pleasure to handle your reservation and ensure a comfortable stay for you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Chain hotels can be impersonal, but this was not the case for the Royal Orchid Metropole in Mysore. The public areas of the hotel are tastefully furnished, and the bedrooms are comfortable. Our room had a balconey looking over the garden area and pool which we enjoyed sitting on.

The only slight niggle we had was the restaurant/bar service was a little slow. However the food itself was tasty and the restaurant setting was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobyscoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to note that our services met your expectations.

The team at The Metropole ,Mysore joins me in thanking you for your compliments.

We all @ Metropole will look forward to welcome you on your future visits to Mysore!!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#4 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#5 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#16 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Property: Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand heritage hotel, Royal Orchid Metropole is steeped in the history and culture of Mysore. Its imperial arches, imposing pillars and ornate corridors capture the old world charm of this majestic guesthouse built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing