We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was the most memorable trip with my aged parents, when the entire staff (i should say they turned out more than impersonal staff!) took minute care of my parents' needs and made all of us feel at home! Right from the lovely ladies in the Recepion, to the Chief Chef, and the Housekeeping gentlemen, it was a pleasure to be treated with so much warmth and real care! Thanks to them, every need of ours, including food preferences, ambeince, neat rooms and travel arrangements were given the utmost imporatance! There was not an instance where i felt that the folks stepped down in thier demeanour! I cant thank them ALL enough! The place itslf is a colonial structure maintained very well, and guests are made to literally feel like the place was thiers for the time of stay! Absolutely soothing, peaceful and caring! We thank ALL our freinds at the Metropole and urge all to visit!

Room Tip: The Maharaja suite is nothing like you imagine! Its really HUGE especially the one at the corner! Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjali757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a good stay with us.

Metropole team joins me in thanking you and wishing you all a Happy &prosperous New year

Look forward to welcome you back to Royal Orchid Metropole!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel was built by the Maharaja of Mysore for visiting foreign dignitaries and I chose this hotel for its old world look. It has a great central location, close to the railway station and the Mysore Palace among other places to see in Mysore. It is very quiet and peaceful once you are inside the hotel in spite of being in the heart of the city. Our room unfortunately had an air conditioning unit which made quite a racket. The restaurant on site has a beautiful garden seating area and I would highly recommend a meal here for the ambiance alone.The service however was painfully slow and left much to be desired. The breakfast buffet we had in the morning was good but the Manchow soup I ordered for dinner was simply awful. We had planned to eat out that evening but the front desk convinced us that the restaurant offered good Chinese food. As far as service is concerned, my husband called and asked twice for the ironing board/iron but we finally got it only after I personally went down and asked the front desk how long it was going to take for someone to deliver it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueD00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings!!!

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards.

The feedback on our shortfall will be monitored and improved.

Kindly accept my sincere apology for all the inconvenience caused.

Looking forward to welcome you back !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

on my arrival we are told no rooms.We were in a shock to react .Th front desk staff extended drinks lunch and made us to relax first.we were upset but the hotel they made us to stay was good.Next day they got us back and we are liking the stay in metropole.

Room Tip: we stayed in heritage wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,,

Greetings!!!

Thank you for taking time out to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back !!!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights whilst visiting the city of Mysore. The hotel is situated on a busy main road just outside the centre but it is set in stunning gardens and feels very tranquil and a is a calm oasis in a busy city. The hotel is heritage/colonial in style and the building and public areas are stunning and gives you a little taste into a bygone era. Facilities include an outdoor pool, small gym & spa, a cocktail style bar and restaurant with garden seating. We opted for a standard room which was set upstairs with a large balcony over looking the gardens and restaurant.
The room was clean and tidy and spacious with touches of old and had a nice feel to it. It had air con and a ceiling fan. The bathroom let the room down as it was dated which, is not a bad thing but we felt that it needed sympathetic modernisation and the sealant around the bath/shower was mouldy and so was the grouting, both needed re-doing. The breakfast was buffet style and we felt it was of a poor standard compared with other hotels that we stayed in India. There was a poor choice and the pastries were awful. Buffet style lunches are served here to with no choice for anything else on the menu. We asked to have an al a carte menu but were refused and told that it was the buffet only.
The standard of food on the buffet was average it was mostly vegetarian and was certainly not as good as some others that we had on our trip.
The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent I have to say. We ate on our first night and the curries were brilliant. Well spiced, tasty and very reasonably priced. The accompanying Naan and rice were excellent to and the beer was cold.
All in all a really lovely hotel but in need of a few touches to make it extra special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSmashedGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,,

Greetings!!!

Thank you for taking time out to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

The feedback on our shortfall will be monitored and improved.

Looking forward to welcome you back !!!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a rest during a road trip and had the buffet lunch at the restaurant in this hotel. The building is clean, charming, very colonial. We sat indoors to enjoy the aircon even though it was cool outside. The chat station was a treat, very tasty items. There was a good variety for lunch and the food was very good overall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GourmandV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,,

Wish you and your dear family a happy & prosperous New Year!!!!

Thank you for taking time out to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us and enjoyed our food quality.

Looking forward to welcome you back !!!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and it was lovely. It's clean and nice. The general ambience is quite elegant not being snob and the restaurant is an absolut must.The indian menu is very sophisticated, even the lunch buffet is a top choice.
The only thing that upset us was to see a small brigade working 16 hours every day - and not loosing a bit of simpathy and politeness. The hotel was full with christmas and we saw the crew overloaded. I am sure the city has a good labour force waiting to be trained and hired.
I hope in the future they show more respect for their employees.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank re_alcantara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a good stay with us.

We appreciate your concern shown towards our staffs.Management takes all measures to ensure that the staffs welfare is taken care.

Look forward to welcome you back to Royal Orchid Metropole!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights last January and we couldn't have been looked after any better anywhere.

We received an upgrade when we arrived which gave us a palatial room with acres of balcony space in this old royal palace of a building.

The only thing that stops us giving this an "Excellent" rating was the inattentive service in the restaurant on the evening that we dined there - this was probably one individual having a bad day, but it did take the shine off what was otherwise, a very comfortable stay in a lovely hotel.

Do go - I'm sure that he'll be feeling better by the time that you visit!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review us on Trip Advisor and for posting your compliments.

We are happy to note that you have had a great stay with us.

Look forward to welcome you back to Royal Orchid Metropole!!!!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,597 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#14 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
625 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#3 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
557 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $63 - $761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Orchid Metropole is a grand heritage hotel and spread over 2.5 acres of land and is a perfect fusion of old world charm and modern elegant designs, imperial arches, impressive pillars, and flamboyant corridors which was originally built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing