We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful heritage hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A beautiful heritage hotel with gorgeous and spacious rooms that get cleaned twice a day. We loved our huge balcony for a quiet room-service dinner. The restaurant seating in the courtyard was closed due to the monsoon. Great complimentary buffet breakfast (with excellent dosas!) and delicious lunch (400 Rupees)
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful always ready to take our infant daughter for a walk so we could enjoy our dinner.
The hotel is a 20-30 minute walk from the market and palace, or a short auto rickshaw ride.
Our only complaint: having to pay 600 Rupees per day for internet.
We would definitely stay again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoverRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We will share your view with our management regarding the wifi charges.

We look forward to the pleasure of your return and assuring you of our best service and attention at all times.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

we went there for a small vacation with kids, the hotel is the heritage property and is centrally located, the ambiance of hotel and rooms are nice, the service was also good, this hotel has a unique staircase which is worth seeing, the food taste and quality was very good, overall it was a good experience staying here...

Room Tip: try for executive rooms they have a good space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shettymanohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.



It is our endeavour to ensure that every guest leaves as an ambassador of our product and services.

We look forward to the pleasure of your return and assuring you of our best service and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Royal Orchid Metropole is 2nd home for our family. I have been visiting this place since 1986, since my college days , when this used to be known as Hotel Metropole. This place has never failed to impress me again and again. The best part is both my kids just love the place and since the day they were brown, they have been visitng here. A wonderful atmosphere, lovely staff and the best food.
I have stayed in many royal orchid hotesl, across india and eaten in almost all their theme restaurants across india, but for me the one in mysore is close to heart.
My wishes to each of your staff for the wonderful service they provide and for respecting us everytime we have been there
Thank you Royal Orchid.

Room Tip: Choose any - but the best would be facing the restaurants, when at night you can smell the kebabs an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank nsarja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your wonderful words of appreciation and encouragement for our team. It is truly heartening to have our efforts recognized by you in such a manner.


It is our endeavour to ensure that every guest leaves as an ambassador of our product and services.

We look forward to the pleasure of your return and assuring you of our best service and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Mysore is just a stones throw away from Bangalore but sill quaint , Hotel metropole epitomises this . Spacious comfortable rooms, we had a small verandah overlooking the garden. Food is great . The challenge in a hotel like this is how does one restore the place without diminishing the old world charm. This is something the management needs to think about. What was truly outstanding is the service we got. As Indian travellers , we expect a great deal from any hotel in India , however the staff of this Hotel outdid my expectations. We had a personal situation that needed sorting out, and was touched by the reponse. Thanks Harish and Hari. The entire staff was friendly , helpful and yet unobtrusive. Loved the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings!!!!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are delighted to know you liked your stay with us.

Along with my team I look forward to welcome you back soon at Royal Orchid Metropole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed three night with wife and 19 year old daughter on trip round South.
It's not a real five star hotel but what is in Mysore? (We went for dinner in the Fortune JP and that looked more upmarket and up together but had the charm of a hospital, could have been anywhere. Good pool tho'.)
Positives:-
This place is beautiful, there is a really great courtyard restaurant filled with people not staying in the hotel, always a good sign. Great, I mean great, food.
Service is proper Indian service if you know what I mean. Much helpfulness upon asking and they do their very best. Great location in grand residential area very near central Mysore and the things you want to see. Taste of Raj in the history and the architecture.
Negatives:-
Wifi was unfriendly and expensive. The bathrooms are pretty dated with a geyser you have to switch on for hot water and the pool is right next to the road, looks like it was put in in about 1980. Dated. My wife ducked it. Very helpful staff when asked but execution as always takes forever.
We loved our stay though!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryTrafalgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Royal Orchid Metro pole, during your recent visit to Mysore.
We are delighted to have you stay with us, and it was indeed a pleasure serving you.

Have shared your comments with our management , and we assure you that @Royal orchid Metro pole we value guest feed back .

My team and I are happy to note that you have enjoyed the stay and services extended to you were up to your expectations.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is situated in the centre of the city.. still it is free from noice and other disturbance because of the lush green vegetation around. Rooms are maintained well and service is good. the hotel is in a heritage property ....the rooms are large and spacious..food is good

Room Tip: select the rooms in the main buiding with independent balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vee092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Greetings!!!

Thank you for choosing Royal Orchid Metropole, during your recent visit to Mysore.
It was indeed a pleasure serving you.

My team and I are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay .

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at the hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The place is great and in the heart of city. The staff were very warm. we had a great time. Breakfast was superb. The pics are uploaded in my blog.... www.kurupsgallery.blogspot.com. I recommend stay here. Only flaw I found was - there was no exhaust duct or fan in washroom. Not expected to a four star category. The management should do something for that.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadhishKurup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Royal Orchid Metropole, during your recent visit to Mysore.
We are delighted to have you stay with us, and it was indeed a pleasure serving you.

Have shared your comments with our management , and we assure you that @Royal orchid Metro pole we value guest feed back .

My team and I are happy to note that you have enjoyed the stay and services extended to you were up to your expectations.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,597 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#14 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
625 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#3 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
559 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 106 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $63 - $761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Orchid Metropole is a grand heritage hotel and spread over 2.5 acres of land and is a perfect fusion of old world charm and modern elegant designs, imperial arches, impressive pillars, and flamboyant corridors which was originally built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing