We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old hotel”
Review of Mysore Dasprakash

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mysore Dasprakash
Ranked #53 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very old hotel”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel is very old and the recent renovation hasnt helped must. All i can say is that the hotel has seen better days. On the other hand a great location. The bathrooms are old fationed and below average. If you are used to 3 star hotels and above dont even bother considering the hotel. This hotel is not bad its just very old.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriviCatoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    52
    43
    12
    21
See reviews for
74
23
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

When we pulled up to this hotel, we were instantly charmed by the 1940s character of the place. The place is definitely a bit dilapidated, but the overall charm and character are very present. The rooms are very affordable, and the location is perfect. We enjoyed our breakfasts at the restaurant where the very polite elderly wait staff wear uniforms, including hats. Our waiter brought us a sampler plate of all the local porridge and kitcheree options so we could know what to order. The neighborhood around the hotel is fascinating to explore, and the palace is nearby. Glad we stayed!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MamaDena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We checked into the hotel and were feeling it was just an OK place, bit old and unmaintained, but in a good location in town.
Woke up in the early morning to find bed bugs crawling all over us. Had a look around and found smaller bed bugs all along the skirting board. Got up and checked out. Manager on duty showed no surprise at all, just "we'll have to fumigate the room then" - it's clearly a regular thing there, he said we "should have told them sooner so they could give us a different room".
No refund
No apology
Barely even an acknowledgment that bed bugs are something undesirable
Spent the new day cleaning all our stuff and having all our clothes laundered - not a cheap or fun experience - avoid

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldmeander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

hyderabad
Level Contributor
122 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Dasprakash hotel in Mysore is an average hotel, at decent price. Food is very good. We were told there is another Dasprakash hotel which is bit premium and good. A boy assisted us taking our luggage to the room literally didnt leave us till we give him tip. Rooms are good. Food is very good. Overall experience is good. Can stay with families at budget rates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hoteladvice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Overall It is a Good Place.New Building,nice facilities,nice friendly staff and a good brand name built over years because of good service.I remember coming here with my dad couple of years ago.It was a old building.Now that they have got a good new building,neat and clean rooms.
Was here for a short stay and walked out happy.So all in all a very good place for reasonable price tag... :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JeevanHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

nice and very good value for your money. Paid 375 for a room and it even comes with a newspaper every morning. Hot water is a bit a matter of day to day chance as it is in the rest of India. Also its very close to the city center with walking distance to most sights.

Room Tip: ask to see a few rooms with different prices to compare, price differs more then the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mitax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at Dasprakash for three days and that too in Dasara time( you have to book well in advance though). This is in center of the city easy access to market , palace and for shopping. This is not very hi-tech hotel they have all basic needs. We all go to Mysore for side seeing we hardly spend much time in room. Room service is good too. In food i liked yogurt/curd rice served with fried chilies its yummy. Many famous eat-outs around this and near by areas. You will need good minimum one week to explore at least main places, temples, eat-outs in Mysore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vinaytp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#64 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suvarna Residency
Suvarna Residency
#77 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sujatha Residency
Hotel Sujatha Residency
#35 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel BS International
Hotel BS International
#34 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bombay Tiffanys Hotel
Bombay Tiffanys Hotel
#82 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mysore Dasprakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mysore Dasprakash

Property: Mysore Dasprakash
Address: Gandhi Square, Mysuru (Mysore) 570 001, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mysore Dasprakash 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Mysore Dasprakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mysore Dasprakash Hotel Mysore
Dasprakash Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing