We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream visit to Hotel Lalith Mahal Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
Ranked #36 of 104 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our visit to Mysore with a busy sightseeing schedule, ended up visiting this magnificent Palace
on the advice of the taxi driver. Moving towards this white beauty, I felt that they have an army of gardeners, plenty of them watering the lawns in the front area. Considering scarcity of water, I could not hold back this thought, and asked one of gardeners as to how they manage to get so much of water for this work. The person who replied was one of the officers of the hotel who was also doing his bit and the army of gardeners were all staff of the hotel who have joined the gardeners without any extra remuneration. Also saw some of them picking plastics and other items as part of cleanliness drive. The uniqueness was that all were very happily doing this with lots of fun.This they called it as SHRAMDHAN.
I was informed about the recently commissioned ETP plant (waste water treated and reused for
gardening) and hence the lawn beautification. As I had already paid at the entrance, was treated with coffee inside their lounge.
Seeing the palace thought the stay could not affordable, surprisingly the room rent could fit in for a ordinary person like me. Had a glimpse of their menu was decently priced with different choices.
Planned a day’s stay as a gift for my parents on their anniversary for a start.
My congratulations to all at Lalitha Mahal for their SHRAMDHAN, hope all govt. people take a cue from this small act, Together we could see our country prosper.
LITTLE DROPS OF WATER MAKES A MIGHTY OCEAN

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sujith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 460 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a magnificent building. The bed rooms are of a reasonable size with comfortable furniture and the bathroom was excellent, Both were clean and had all the amenities promised on the hotel site.
Staff were very helpful and pleasant.
The state rooms are on a grand scale and of the era when the palace was built (turn of the 19th and 20th Centuries). There is even a Bar and Billiard Room, something I have seen in few other Indian hotels.
The evening meal was well prepared and of decent quality and arrived fairly quickly, given that it must have been prepared especially for us as the hotel was not very full.
I have deducted a star as the grounds and gardens were like a windswept desert, the swimming pool had algae growing on the bottom and walls and finally breakfast was poor, the toast was like a slice of rubber shoe sole (keeping the toast in a steam hot plate is ridiculous). The worst breakfast during our three week tour of south India.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The property was fantastic and the maintenance was trying to be good and the person in the hotel are good

But as we reached the palace the person who had reached to open the car door was so much disgusting he feels that idiot as the owner of the palace that incident made us very disgusting the person who had shift on 25th april 2014 had behaved like this

And the other person who had shift on 26 april 2014 had some sense towards guest

And the buffet breakfast was very bad we didn't liked this

Beyond this tge rooms are empty we didn't expected this

All over we felt royally in this palace

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank SATISHKUMAR-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hi,

It was great experience of Hotel with Kind staffs who gave all the information needed and also with history of the Place.

Of course food is Purely Mysorian and so onlY South Indian can taste it better. Breakfast was served at the table ( No Old Buffet Food).

Night time Mysore Palace view was Awsome and the one of Employee accompanied us to show the place and also the special places in the Palace.

it was an wonderful experience and juts for a amount of money we could spend for a laxury food in any good hotel.

Again it is not a hotel for all kind of food to be available and also Laxury facilities like in modern hotels.

Its a Palace Converted to Hotel and if you want to feel the Palace only we should go there or choose a hotel which gived to modern facility.

Palace is a always a Palace and of course is old :-) how can you expect to build new Palace and give it to you for small money to stay.

Great Experience and I recommend people to stay who like Heritage, Kings Experiences and of course Mysore Food and Hospitality.

Thanks

Room Tip: Rooms at Heritage side is good, but make sure you have mind of enjoying the Heritage or choose the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hariprasad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is palace converted tolalit hotel. Near chamundi hills
. Good gardens around hotel. Service was slow but tasty food. Slightly expensive for family groups. Nice to stay for three - four days to tour Mysore city.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnsomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Sub standard hospitality....staff act like govt officials. Terrible room service.
Food may be better in mysore bus stand than the restaurant here. Exception - tea and pongal

Stay here only if you want to get the feel of British era palace (rather a bungalow ).

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prasad b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were thinking of staying at this place due to a good review in a Lonely Planet, but as soon as we arrived and saw a room we went elsewhere. What was probably once a beautiful palace is slowly decaying. We saw several rooms / suites and the all had a sad, dank, musty feel. They smelt of neglect. It's a government run hotel and it shows. Overpriced rooms, disinterested staff, poor maintenance and upkeep. We took a look in the grand dining room and didn't even fancy staying for lunch.

Screaming out for a takeover by Taj or Oberoi who could make this sad old place very special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
2.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,136 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,558 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#5 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#26 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
343 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#3 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
500 reviews
11.6 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#14 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel

Address: Lalitha Mahal Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570028, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $63 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Indian-style Hotel, formerly a Maharaja's Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalitha Mahal Palace Mysore
Mysore Lalitha Mahal Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing