We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
Ranked #33 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Muscat, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

On the first night, we were in a standard room and the room was very spacious, clean and confortable with a great vue.
On the second night - and because they've noticed while we were out that the AC is not functioning well ; we were upgraded to the king suit and the suit was just magnificient with its two floors and all the ameneties.
From the moment we've checked in till we've checked out the staff were very helpfull and nice.
The stores are very nice and has allot to offer.
The food was excellent and the value for money is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeinaA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    147
    93
    51
    45
See reviews for
159
138
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel is a magnificent structure which can be seen from far in the horizon.
As you come near to the building it fills you with awe. The courtyard, the corridors, the halls, the stairs, the restaurant, the bar etc are steeped in history and leaves you breathless. The rooms are magnificent and the sevice staff friendly.The food served and the live music in the restaurant was also very classy.
great memories !!!

Room Tip: if you have the money choose the presidential suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudhirwarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

After visiting my parents at Kochi on during my last visit, my parents and I went to Mysore, visited Tipu Sultan's city, The main palace , brindavan gardens and we had dinner at the Lalitha Mahal palace , which has been converted into a hotel. which I was informed is a Govt. run hotel. I felt This Govt. Hotel is also like any other govt. organisation. But to our pleasant surprise the hotel was very neat and did not look like a hotel run by the govt. , my parents were also equally surprised.The food was buffet, decent enough for the price, staff were very friendly and cooperative.They wanted us to stay but we had no plans to stay in Mysore and we were going to Coorg. Seeing the palace, certainly would like to stay during my next visit. But the Gardens could be maintained better.
.................A must visit to understand the true value of INDIA.................

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prasanth n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed during Dasara. Place is very charming.

We stayed in a Heritage Classic room. These rooms have a century old history associated with. Rooms have vintage bathtubs, fittings and period furniture which gives you a nostalgic kind of feeling.

Service is good. we enjoyed our evenings in lounge bar with a game of billiards. bar man willl tell you good stories about the place. Food is good.


Though this is not a Grand place; though still vey charming to invite you again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piyush m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here at the start of our South India trip. The property is a grand old dame which has obviously seen better days, but its former beauty and glory still show through. We stayed in one of the spacious rooms in the newer wing which was very clean comfortable and had a huge patio attached. We toured some of the older grander rooms with Mr Bharatan, the Executive Manager - these rooms must have been wonderful in their heyday! The breakfasts were excellent as was the bar. Overall a great experience if you are interested in not only the property and modern conveniences but also the history of the place.The elevator (which used to cranked by hand but has been electrified) has a lovely built in bench seat for you to rest upon as you are taken up to the 2nd or 3rd floor!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnilNanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

we stayed here for a night enroute to our trip to ooty. This hotel is a century old palace and probably the most beautiful palace. we had booked a pool wing room which has a view of chamundi hills. Rooms in this wing is average ( good for the price we paid). Service was fast and efficient. we had ordered for mid night surpise celebrations for our friend's birthday. it was exactly on time and more than what we expeted with a team of manager, waiters and chef all at our door step with cake..

Next moning we saw rooms in palace which are real charming and grand and I will come back with family for these rooms as these give ultimate romantic feel.

On negative side; hotel can improve a lot on exteriors and landcaping.

TIPS: Do not get fooled by advertisement of other palace hotels which are just regular hotel using "palace" name. In our case we saw advertisement of JP palace; but when we visited the hotel it was just a regular budget kind- a hotel; explanantion given its a city of palace so we named as JP palace. Anyway thanks to our driver who shown us Lalitha Mahal where we stayed at the same price.

we loved our stay...

Room Tip: Better viewinpool wing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The palace itself is simply breathtaking, the views of the city are gorgeous. The hotel is government run so it could be so much better.
It doesn't really let you down because you are so enraptured by the property. But living in a grand palace, I would've liked more decadent luxury....
The staff is sweet enough, though not the most efficient. The food is nothing to write home about.
We had a lovely evening sitting in the bar,with a very friendly bartender.
The visiting crowds on Sunday crowded the hotel way too much, but they are restricted only to the public areas and restaurant.
I had a lovely weekend here,though I wish they would hand over the running of the hotel to a specialized hospitality company. We went and saw some of the grand suites, but didn't stay in them-they were something special.
The best part of this property is all the heritage and the original fittings in the rooms and specially the lift.
The potential to be the best in Mysore will be realized if the hotel is run by an oberoi or taj.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank binnstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
3.4 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,062 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
368 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,462 reviews
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,835 reviews
11.6 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#12 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel

Property: Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
Address: Lalitha Mahal Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570028, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Indian-style Hotel, formerly a Maharaja's Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalitha Mahal Palace Mysore
Mysore Lalitha Mahal Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing