We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
mumbai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I had stayed in this hotel,rather I should say ,i stayed in this palace with my husband for 3N 4D.The palace is very beautiful with gardens around and it look like a Mahal..while entering in this hotel,you feel like you are a king and greeted by the hotel staff with a smile on their face….Food was very nice …Inside the hotel there was billard room,chess,tennis court …swimming pool was so big and nice…me and my husband enjoyed each and every moment in this hotel. The Gourmet Restaurant inside the hotel contained so many mouth watering dishes…In this hotel ,film shootings are also done…overall a very nice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonayogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    141
    90
    50
    42
See reviews for
151
137
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed as a family for 3 nights and 4 days at the Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel. Wonderful place and the experience will linger with you for a long time. You can view the Chamundi hills from your room and watching it in the early morning amidst the dew is a great experience. In fact the hotel is not very expensive as people think it to be. Courteous staff and good food. Overall a delightful experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hariharankrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

The Palace is in fact very luxurious. I stayed in a 2-floor Suite with antique pieces of furniture and carpets. Everything around makes you feel like living in the Marajas rich world. However, to such luxurious ambience unfortunately does not correspond an adequate efficiency and funcionality when you go to details such as shower, sinks, noisy and leaking air conditioning. I have been told that the place is maintained by the Government, who should, in my opinion, improve their services to keep them at the same upscale level of the structure.

Room Tip: I stayed at duplex suite 555 and the accommodation itself was great but the weak point again is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamariadimartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

we were in mysore when my sister and her family visited us. so to make her experience a palace dinner we took her to LALITHA MAHAL PALACE. the taali served was too much for a normal person to eat at dinner time. it was very delicious also. if u ever go there for dinner make sure u diet for 2 days....liquid diet i mean........the first night they served dinner taali and then the 2 night it was a buffet, which was also very good..................i would recomend this hotel for anyone who would like to experience a roayl touch...........feel it .....its not expensive at all..................now i feel like driving all the way from blr to mysore for the lunch and dinner.........................

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank bujji16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

It's like stepping into a painting.
Complete opulence from the bar to the glorious dining room to the oval pool, yet it is not pretentious or stifling.
The relaxed friendly atmosphere is created by an incredible array of staff that are there for your every need.
I was part of a large group 70 musicians, choir and soloists touring through India with Tocatta, so any hotel we stayed in had their work cut out for them. The Lalitha Mahal Palace was our final destination and what a finish.
We even managed an impromptu performance on the glorious grand staircase before we left, which I know will leave a lasting impression on the singers.

Every aspect of our stay was world class from the food to the service.
As I was on tour I can't vouch for the value but the experience was priceless.

Thank you

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here two nights while traveling through Mysore. This is a very unique property, at least from my American perspective. It is HUGE. Our room was pretty nice and included a separate sitting area. We enjoyed a bottle of wine in the large lounge, which we had entirely to ourselves for whatever reason. There is a small jewelry store attached to the hotel which I absolutely adored. We had a great time and loved staying at such an unusually grandiose property!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittypatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

This was my first trip to this palace. I specifically chose this place as I wanted my kids (5 yr old and 2 yr old) to experience a slice of palace life. The trip did satisfy the goal to a great extent. They really enjoyed the running around the place and the gardens. The location and hotel looks spacious and majestic.

I am not sure if this has to do with being government managed but there are kinks as others have pointed out -
1) The service staff look disinterested unless there is a promise of large tip (there are nobody to take the luggage back though guys were just looking). The check-in/check-out staff behave like bank clerical staff and are not helpful in providing info (I asked for Mysore road map and they gave a brochure).
2) Run down paints in the room and those parts that are away from the front side - I had a chance to go to the terrace and pained to the state of the heritage site.
3) The some lamps in the room do not work and they were not rectified till we left.
4) Bath room fittings look old. The tub edge with the tiling is worn out and it looks like some school kids have done the re-plastering.

The list is long but in summary, you may be disappointed if you have an eye for detail and looking for a perfect place. I was satisfied given my goal.

I may go back just to feel the royal ambiance again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaghuShyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#17 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel

Property: Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
Address: Lalitha Mahal Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570028, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Indian-style Hotel, formerly a Maharaja's Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalitha Mahal Palace Mysore
Mysore Lalitha Mahal Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing