We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gift to my child” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sri Chamarajendra Zoological Gardens

Sri Chamarajendra Zoological Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sri Chamarajendra Zoological Gardens, popularly known as ‘Mysuru Zoo’, is one of the oldest zoos of the country established in 1892, by His Highness, the erstwhile Ruler of Mysuru Sri Chamarajendra Wadiyar Bahadur. Mysuru Zoo holds an important place in Karnataka. In 1909 the Palace Zoo was named as Sri Chamarajendra Zoological Gardens to commemorate the illustrious founder and since then it bears the nomenclature. Mysuru Zoo has gradually grown into tourist centre, imparting wildlife values. It has got 123 years of history exhibiting wild animals in the near natural enclosures. Despite majority of the zoos have been shifted from the original place to the new places, Mysuru Zoo could modernize the zoo, without shifting the zoo. The zoo is well compacted unit, with modern animal enclosures including heritage buildings attracting tourists all over the world.
ernakulam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gift to my child”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

we have been here for more than a hundred times.but this time when i went with my son aged 5,it was entirely a different experience.we can see all type of animals and birds here.when you go dont forget to have your lunch there.each animals are adpted.so they are nurtured very well.its a whole family entertainment.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank neebanibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,309
    851
    132
    19
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Even as an adult and traveling solo, this zoo was fantastic. You are very close to the animals (you could put your hand through the chainlink and touch a leopard if you didn't value your fingers) and they are very interested in people. I have never seen anything but dozing animals at the zoos I have been to, but here they were courting, playing and watching squirrels run by.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place - Get prepared to spend 3hrs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

One of the best zoo I have ever visited in India. Get ready to walk around 3km. and be prepared to spend around 3 hrs. We entered the zoo around 10am and finished our lunch and came out at 1pm. You can see different verities of animals and really colorful birds. Giraffes, Chimpanzee, Guerrilla, Colorful birds were my favorites. There are proper sign boards in each and every corner and the whole place is very clean. You wont be able to find many restaurants but the curd rice was enuf for me to go to my next destination - The palace.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SanoopBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice zoo shame about some of the visitors”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I spent a few hours walking round the zoo which is very pleasent with wide range of animals.What ruined my trip was 5 young indian thugs who decided to throw rocks at the crocodiles.This I found completly disgusting.On confronting these hooligans they laughed and walked off.Apart from this the place is well worth and visit and at a good low price.Also there is a lack of cover when it rains which is not so good

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tedward1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos in India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a large zoo with animals in large enclosures. For that reason alone if nothing else, I would recommend this place (hate places where animals are kept in cages)! Worth a stop over if in Mysore or enroute somewhere else. A tip though, do not try and walk through it (it really is large), take the buggy/ van.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappypapaBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sri Chamarajendra Zoological Gardens also viewed

 
Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka
 

Been to Sri Chamarajendra Zoological Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing