We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uphill temple”

Sri Chamundeshwari Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.00*
and up
Private Day Tour of Mysore from Bangalore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pune
Level Contributor
249 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Uphill temple”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We visited this temple in morning. Road to temple is beautiful ghat section and takes some half an hour from city. Road is full of lush green trees and gives nice shadow. There are buses available but we learnt that these are mainly AC buses. But there are other buses also and need to be checked. Footwear stand is opposite temple. Avoid coming on Friday and Tuesday as these are devi special days and may take longer time for darshan. We avoided special darshan which is quite costly (Rs. 100 per head) and there was no much rush for general darshan. Goddess statue is very nice. Temple architecture and bright color is very shining. There are small restaurants available for veg food. Also famous Mashishasur statue is near entrance to temple complex. Small museum is also available nearby but we didn't go there. There are 2-3 good spots as sit out and photography. View of Mysore city from here is nice. Mysore palace and race course can be easily identified from here. Don't forget to see big Nandi and Shiva temple downhill road.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PuneTravelbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    686
    298
    52
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“SMALL TEMPLE BUT BIG TOURIST ATTARCTION”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The best time to visit Chamundi hills is again before 11am or after 4 pm as the sun will be down. Expect big crowds on Fridays. You can pay Rs 100 or Rs 30 for special entry. Pay and Buy LADDU Prasad as its yummy. Entire Mysore City can be seen from the hill top. While on your way down you can see the Monolith NANDI statue. Mahishasur statue is near the entrance of Chamundi temple. You can get your pictures snapped for a fee near the temple and mahishasur statue.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank drjitheshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Divine experience”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Visit to Chamundeswari temple was the primary objective of our Mysore visit. It is slightly outside the city, however, going to Chamundi Hills is an amazing experience. We can have a look at Mysore city from the top and that too from different angles.

We were a group of around 13 relatives which also included kids. Due to sunday morning, there was huge rush and traffic police had not allowed us taking vehicle on the top of the hill. We had to climb up, however, with the grace of Goddess Chamundeswari we did not face any problem :)

I would strongly recommend visiting Chamudi Hills if you are planning to be at Mysore.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank amark79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalyan, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Temple”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Temple is located at the top of the mountain giving an awesome scenic view of whole of Mysore city. Temple area is clean and good. Visitors and tourist must visit the temple.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4Chetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“chamundi hills”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

roads winding up the chamundi hills [about 5-6 km from the level ground] takes you to this picturesque setting of the chamundi temple.from here u can have an amazing view of Mysore city .it is one of the most visited temples in Mysore.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sonysalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sri Chamundeshwari Temple also viewed

Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
 
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
 

Been to Sri Chamundeshwari Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing