We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two in Mysore”

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sandesh The Prince
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Stockport Uk
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“two in Mysore”
Reviewed March 23, 2008

we stayed at Sandesh the Prince for 2 nights whilst touring south India and found it to be an excellent hotel certainly of a better quality than the other 3 star hotels we used.we could find fault with this place[even the internet was up to speed]and would happily recomend it

  • Liked — the overall standard
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    257
    92
    25
    19
See reviews for
213
137
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

We just returned from a short stay in Mysore and I want to tell everyone about a good hotel at a good price. The property itself is pleasant, well located, and very clean. Rooms are large and adequately furnished. Don't expect 5 star luxury, but do expect great service, wonderful personnel who goes out of their way to a accommodate you, and a fine breakfast, included in the extremely reasonably priced property. Because we were scheduled on an evening sleeper back to Chennai we wanted to have a late check out from our room, and to be able to take advantage of the swimming pool after final sightseeing. The desk staff helped us out. It has a good dining room, with an attentive and friendly staff and good food. The final afternoon we also had massages: the masseuses were excellent (we had foot/leg massages). We have had a fair amount of experience having had massages around the world, and this was as good as any we have had. Highly recommended. \

  • Liked — attractive
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

A good and comfortable hotel with good-sized rooms (we had 2), but with subdued room lighting that does not provide for a single reading light. However, they were very obliging when we rang housekeeping and sent someone immediately to change one of the bedside lightbulbs.

The bathrooms were small, but had everything in them, including nice aruyvedic soap.

The restaurant is called a pub, but it isn't at all, except for a flat-screen TV. The lighting there is rather dark also - especially noticeable at breakfast.

Internet is available in the business centre at 50 rupees/hr, but it was slow the days I used it.

Travel desk staff improved after my Day 1 experience... I asked for directions to FabIndia, a clothing/home furnishings shop, and was sent to FabCity, a supermarket.

Infuriatingly, the front desk cashier never (over 3 days) had any small notes. I did point out them that I could not tip their staff who had given me good service, so they went scurrying around, asking the doormen etc. and managed to come up with some!
A minor niggle perhaps, in the scheme of things.

The Silk Emporium next door is terribly expensive. Would suggest pricing things up in there and then shopping around in town, as my husband did. He got 2 superb linen jackets made at Badsha Textiles, 75 Deveraj Urs Rd.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms and Star TV during Aus Open Tennis!
  • Disliked — Being mis-directed by the Travel Desk - which should be staffed by people who know better.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2007

Very nice hotel, with it's own club, internet office, resturant and swimming pool. We had joining room which made things easier and all staff where plesant too. There is also a massage/beauty parlour located around this side of the hotel is run by people who don't know what they are doing and would not recommend it to anyone. The breakfast selection was okay although the resturant had a good selection of food. Very nice hotel, though if your room is that the front, you hear the tannoys all night long!!!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2007

If it's old-school, Indian 'heritage' charm you're after, this is not the hotel for you. However, if you want somewhere well equipped, clean and with excellent service, this place is perfect. Whilst the decor is a bit 70s, I couldn't fault the place. I stayed on the top floor - via the cool glass lift! - with a great view of Mysore Palace. The restaurant is excellent although I'd give the overpriced shop next door a miss. Staff are friendly and helpful and I really appreciated the air-conditioned Internet room, a far cry from the usual flea pits! Location is still central but far away enough so as not to be noisy. Would stay again.

  • Liked — The great facilities
  • Disliked — You couldn't really tell you were in India
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Booking a suite over the phone for a family of 2 adults and 2 children was easy. The suite was wood pannelled making a room a touch dark albeit stylish. They fitted an extra bed when asked. The hotel lobby is largeish although the decor is a bit garish and overstated. They are builiding a bar/pub place next to the hotel so there is some construction work at the entrance. The hotel bar (khedda is dire,no ambience). The restaurant is fine and waiters attentive. Room service is prompt. The bathroom is a bit of a downer. The room is geared more towards an indian clienteelle who wont mind soaking wet bathrooms. Our room was facing a main road and was noisy until well after midnight. All in all a 3 star hotel with 3 star prices, trying desparately to look and feel four star but i dont think it is there yet. The stained suit of the reception staff during check out was also the reason why.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level 6 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights at The Sandesh this January 2007 having decided to have a break from the beaches of Goa for a few days. I chose this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor and once again i was not disappointed. A previous review said that it was trying hard to be a 5 star, well believe me they really do try. We decided to treat ourselves to a suite which worked out at about £64.00 per night based on exchange rate of 86rps to the pound. It was excellent, a 6ft bed, table and chairs, sofa, large bathroom with corner bath and shower, 64 channel tv and even a computer with internet access. The hotel has a modern design throughout with a very impressive lobby and entrance, the swimming pool is only small but hey you don't go to Mysore to sunbathe and swim. The restaurant is comfortable and the prices are not too much more than you would find in Goa. Tax @12.5% is charged on food but not on drink. But what makes this hotel worth every penny is the service. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived and everything was done with a smile, the staff in the restaurant especially. The food was excellent and the portions were very generous and well presented. OK so nowhere is perfect, if i had to be picky then the practice of the room boys coming round in the evening looking for tips should be stopped and maybe some people could find the attentive service too much, at one point i was about to peel back the foil on a butter portion only to have a waiter run over to do it for me ! Oh and the restaurant is too atmospheric at breakfast time.... I couldn't read my newspaper, but that was about it. I would visit again without hesitation.

Stayed January 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,059 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Quorum
The Quorum
#10 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Sandesh The Prince

Property: Hotel Sandesh The Prince
Address: Nethra Nivas Nazarbad Main Road | Nazarbad Main Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570010, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#10 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sandesh The Prince 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandesh The Prince- World Class Luxurious Four Star Hotel in Mysore, and its location is as distinctive as its Design and Interior. Conveniently situated in Heart of historic City of Mysore. The Hotel will prove to the travelers that, the best place to stay in Mysore is not in a Palace. With its majestic palaces, magnificent gardens & ancient temples, it's no wonder that Mysore has gained great eminence as a princely city. Combining tradition with modern opulence - Sandesh The Prince is reminiscent of the city's bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sandesh The Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandesh The Prince Mysore
Sandesh The Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing