We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute serenity”
Review of Karanji Lake

Karanji Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Absolute serenity”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

You can idle away sitting and enjoying the lake. There is an enclosing where there are pigeons, white doves, peacocks, pea hens, different varities of hens, etc.
There is a watch tower.
The place is well maintained, clean

Visited October 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    187
    51
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Karanji Lake”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I visited this place ~4PM when the weather was pleasent. This place has a lake with boating facility, a huge enclosure for birds and people are allowed to walk in to the enclosure. We can find 5-6 peacocks and many other birds in the enclosure, however the major attraction is the peacock ofcourse. The place also has a very good play area for kids. There is a butterfly park inside the Karanji lake but we have to walk ~1.5 kms for that. I did not go there but heard we can find many butterflies there. The entry fee for the lake is Rs 20/- for adults. There are separate charges for parking, still and video cameras. Never miss this attraction when you visit mysore. It is a very quiet, pleasant and calm place to relax. I am sure our mind will become fresh. Not many people will come there unlike mysore zoo which is always crowded.

Visited June 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The peaceful garden”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I l forever remember this lake, the peace and serenity it holds near the lake....plenty of birds of different species seen on the other side of the lake. Good for chilling and clicking

Visited June 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Full of flowers”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Government has really maintained it very well. In may you will not be able to see butterfly, but rest everything is well maintained. huge children play area, boating, bird watching..... so many things.

Visited May 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Best Short outing inside the city”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The lake is well within city limits behind zoo and offers a good relaxation and a nice picnic spot both for tourists and locals. The lake offers boating facilities, well maintained children play area which is quite big, an enclosed peacock/bird, bird enclosures and a good walking/jogging track.

The park is very well maintained and best time to visit during evenings and enjoy the dusk.

Though entrances fees and car parking is a bit higher compared to govt standards, it well deserves the price for the way it is up kept.

Visited May 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karanji Lake also viewed

Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
 
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing