We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Would've been better with airconditioning and a TV”
Review of Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Hotel
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Great place! Would've been better with airconditioning and a TV”
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Though it was only for a night's stay at Mysore, i was very particular about where to stay. After a lot of internet research and several phone calls, we zeroed in on the Green Hotel. This was formerly known as Premier Studios ( a film set) and is originally a palace built for the Wodeyar princesses. I had a lot of expectations of the p(a)lace.
Firslty, getting there is quite confusing and there are no sign boards to the hotel either. The travel desk guy wasn't very helpful either. When we reached there, the reception was empty and we had to wait for a while before anyone attended to us. We were then shown the rooms and we checked into the princess suite, which is also very basic. It has a double bed, a dressing unit, a wardrobe and a very basic bathroom with a WC. It was only then that we realised that the rooms didnt have an AC or a TV because it's an eco hotel. I didn't mind it, but the husband did as we'd miss an important cricket match! Dinner at the hotel was good. The room was quite stuffy and very little venitaltion. And since it was quite warm, the night was quite difficult! The palace is not very well lit during the evenings / night making the large spaces seem quite spooky. They also don't have a power back-up, in cast there's an power cut. Breakfst was included in the tariff and was quite sumptuous.

The best part about the hotel is the royal feeling and the lovely furniture. The Malgudi Cafe is also adorable! Also, for the reading enthusiasts, each of the larger rooms comes with its own library (around 10 books or so!!) We checked out around 11.30 am as we were heading to Coorg.

All in all, it's a lovely place. May be a little steep for the budget conscious, but definitely worth it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandinsky1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    137
    54
    18
    20
See reviews for
77
129
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I first stayed in the Green Hotel in 1998 whilst backpacking around India. It was beyond my budget at the time but I found the place totally enchanting, and was able to recover from the various illnesses I had picked up at the time. I couldn't wait to revisit the hotel.

Twelve years later not much has changed at the Green Hotel. There is a lot more traffic than I remember, but despite other reviews about the traffic noise, I found the Green Hotel to be peaceful, and I was able to relax and do plenty of reading in the time I spent there. I certainly found it to be no more noisier than any other hotel I stayed in on my trip to India. What I liked about the hotel was the character of the 'palace', the spacious grounds, the excellent food and dining in the open on the lawns. The service was effecient and friendly, and the travel desk arranged day trips as I requested, although the trip to the handicraft emporium was unnecessary and embarrassing.
My online booking seemed to have disappeared in Cyber space, but luckily the hotel wasn't busy. I stayed in the Small Bollywood room, which was small but adequate, with a lovely sitting area outside the room. One could argue that the rooms don't represent good value for money, but for the privelege of staying in such a wonderful, restful and atmospherical building, make it worth every rupee as far as I am concerned.
On my visit to India this was the best hotel that I stayed in, and any future trips to Karnataka will include a stopover in Mysore.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bittonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Read the recent TripAdvisor reviews, then go with an open mind. That's what we did, and we loved the Green Hotel so much that we gave it our award for the "most stylish" of the eight hotels in which we stayed on this trip. We found all the staff charming, the food was excellent, and the location was not an issue for us (a maximum ten minute auto ride to the centre).

On the downside, the beds are hard, but no harder than many others in India, and the Garden rooms are probably a fraction over-priced for what they are (you're paying for the overall ambience of the complete hotel). But we just don't understand the comments about excessive traffic noise - you're staying in a city, not in the middle of the countryside, so what do you expect? As one recent reviewer says, "It dies down to a background hum at night". Well, it did on every night that we were staying there.

The hotel arranged for a car to collect us from Bangalore airport and were then happy to change the pick-up time at short notice when our flight was delayed. They also organised a car for a days sight-seeing to Srirangapatnam and Somnathpur. Both were at reasonable rates.

We thoroughly recommend the Green Hotel and would be totally happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandSKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

I picked this hotel because it looked pretty and seemed to have a garden which would be nice in a crowded Indian city. But pictures do not tell the whole story. The main building is a small "Palace" . Most of the guest rooms are in an addition which looks like a row of garages. each room has a double wooden door fastened with a padlock. On either side of the door is a "window". The problem is there is "NO AIR CONDITIONING" the windows therefore have NO GLASS . If you want any ventilation at all you must open the wooden doors to expose the screen door. So in effect there is no front wall on the rooms only screen windows and a screen door.This would be bad enough but the real problem is that the hotel is on a busy congested road where the CARS AND TRUCKS BEEP THEIR HORNS APPROXIMATELY EVERY 5 SECONDS DAY AND NIGHT. The room itself is spartan . The bed is a piece of plywood with a mattress about 2 inches thick. Good luck if you can sleep here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidusaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

this hotel is run through a charity which means that all its profits go back into the local community. It is a lovely place to stay in Mysore. the whole atmosphere is peaceful and the staff all friendly and helpful. food is indian, but they are happy to modify to western tastes if you wish. I recommend ask for a garden room upstairs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freyasgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed at the Green Hotel in Mysore and had a wonderful time. The hotel is gorgeous, an old mansion that has been restored. There is a yummy little cafe with great espresso and cake and dinner outside in the fairy light garden is one of our best memories. While I am on the subject, breakfast was great too. The hotel has so much character, we loved exploring the rooms and relaxing in the library and games room. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estepona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

On arrival it was clear that the receptionist had far more important things to do than receive guests, and within one day then failed to execute a room servce order and to arrange luggage collection fom our room on departure. Quite why he was there wasn't clear.... Odd because the restaurant staff were briliant and the food was good too. But the hardest lumpiest bedwe slept in around India, and a very noisy main road by the hotel. Choose somewhere better-but go there for dinner!.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunloversteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
2.9 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#15 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heritage Shelters
Hotel Heritage Shelters
#53 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
16 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#17 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruchi the Prince
Ruchi the Prince
#18 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
165 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ginger Mysore
Ginger Mysore
#12 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hotel

Property: Green Hotel
Address: 2270 Chittaranjan Palace Vinoba Road | Chittaranjan Palace, Jayalakshmipuram, Mysuru (Mysore) 570012, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing