We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
134
153
62
17
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
134
153
62
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building film studio palace building princess room lemon drizzle cake old palace green credentials local charities public rooms busy road bring earplugs travel desk antique furniture charming hotel without ac old world charm heritage hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 387 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2018

Excellent service after a 10.30pm arrival, even though the restaurant was closed a sandwich and drink appeared quite quickly. Our next impressions were not great as, rather than the rooms in the main building that are normally advertised, we were placed on the upper floor of the annex, rooms on the side of an old factory building. The spiral staircase access wasn’t ideal for my then limited mobility. These rooms overlook the restaurant garden where a noisy beer-fuelled party was taking place.Fortunately the student responsible dispersed by midnight. Our subsequent stay was uneventful and we were struck by the helpfulness of the reception and concierge staff even though the same could not be said for the restaurant operation. Trying to get food can be a trial, particularly at breakfast; reception tell you it starts at seven but at that hour little or nothing was actually set out and staff had to be sought. Food quality is fine but not exceptional.

Room tip: Don’t stay in the annex if you can avoid it.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2018 via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel and it was as good as the first. It’s such a beautiful building, with so much history. The restaurant onsite was ok, but the cafe was extraordinary - the coffee and cakes (especially the lemon drizzle; my mouth is watering thinking about it...)! Because we had to leave really early the morning we checked out, the staff very kindly prepared a takeaway breakfast for us, which was really lovely.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank yangfengming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2018

Living in this hotel is like living in a haveli , with lots of old world charm. The hotel used to be the Mysore Princess's home and has a beautiful garden attached. It is run as a not for profit and therefore can be maintained better. We got the Princess Room which has 2 queen sized beds. Unfortunately if you are 6 feet in height, the bed is too short. Also they are a bit stingy on toiletries, we were given one small bar or soap for a family of 4. The hotel has a great cafe and restaurant.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

Loved every bit of our stay there. The room interiors are tastefully done up, the garden is beautiful, services are unmatched, and the food is absolutely delicious! Perfect for a relaxing getaway. The travel desk and the cafe, Malgudi deserve a special mention.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank _sen_parama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018

Apparently the home was built as a holiday escape for the princesses. It really is rather beautiful and at night, in typical Mysore tradition, is all lit up. The gardens are beautiful and the food in the hotel restaurant is most appealing. The bedrooms aren’t all that great, but access to a myriad of reading and games rooms, more than makes up for that. The on site bakery is amazing!

Room tip: We stayed in the main house, but the villas on the grounds looked good too
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews