We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Hotel
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel was our first stop after a flight to Bangalore and a 5 hour drive. It was just what we needed, a comfortable clean and welcoming hotel.The food was excellent, and the restaurant is in the garden

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 671Pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    137
    54
    18
    20
See reviews for
77
129
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I'm not sure what people are finding to complain about with this place. Perhaps they arrive expecting some kind of major luxury because it used to be a palace. That was a long time ago my friends, and India has moved on.... At around 4000 rupees a night it may not be the cheapest hotel in India, but this seems to me to be a perfectly reasonable price for such a haven in a busy city. The mattresses are soft, not hard, the pillows are fine, the bathroom and room are spotless, the bedcovers are clean. The garden rooms are probably better than the Palace - the upstairs ones are spacious and cool....

We stayed here after being in a number of different places in Kerala and Karnataka and found it wonderful. We had read the reviews about the mediocre food - again, I would disagree. The food is perfectly good. You can sit outside in the garden under the moon, drink beer, be served by extremely friendly and courteous staff, and recover from the harsher elements of Indian travel. The ethos of the place seems to be reflected in the attitudes of the staff, who are always smiling and will do anything they can to help you.

The inhouse Seagull Travel is excellent and you can rely on them for good driving in seatbelted cars for a day rate of 2,500 and lovely drivers.

I did have a look at a room in the Palace, the cheapest one at something like 3,500, and it did seem a bit small and dark, and the palace is closer to the road. In the garden rooms we were happy as Larry for five days. Thank you, Green Hotel.

Room Tip: Garden rooms, top floor, seem to be the best..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tamsin_haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

It is not what it once was. We found The Green Hotel, is decidedly in need of a massive investment: time to clean,repaint,wash, dust . Time to get new fresh uniforms for the waiters; time to buy new menus- (think the worst greasy spoon London `caff `in the days before hygiene inspectors became the norm )

We examined our booked room, came down the stairs (no lift ) had a nibble in the garden cafe- decided it would be no place to stay: rather dodgy looking fellow guests... so booked in to another hotel (having already paid for the Green Hotel -we did not ask for our money back.

Room Tip: check the state of the pillows/mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank servabofidem35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I just spent 1 day in the hotel and I absolutely loved it. The hotel reminds you of old princely times. Very quiet and peaceful place. Food was very good and service even better.

A perfect place for a nice vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jatin2990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

While slightly out of the centre of the town what this hotel has going for it is its gardens which offer a haven from the bustle and noise and a lovely place to eat (lunch or dinner). The food is ok - nothing special. It's also fun watching the resident population of monkeys out smart the hotel staff (even a large toy Tiger was not enough to deter them from eating the flowers NB: they are also prone to coming into your room which is not so funny!)

The main house (mini palace) looks grand but the garden rooms were very basic albeit functional. They have overhead fans and not AC. Single beds - hard mattresses and scrawny pillow.

The Hotel has a good ethos and it is better to make one tip in the communal box at the end of your stay rather than tip individual staff - this way everyone gets their share.

Room Tip: See note about Garden Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked the green hotel following other reviews and a recommendation in Lonely Planet. The building and gardens are both lovely and takes you back to the years of British rule. Sadly our room was wrong and we ended up in a twin suite which was a shame and the beds were very uncomfortable. The room was also very loud and light which made it hard to get a good nights sleep.


The breakfast was great and waiting staff lovely. Also the wifi didn't work throughout our stay and service was slow.

Great in theory, but wouldn't be in a hurry to return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JemskiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just spent 4 days at the Green Hotel and enjoyed our visit. We booked a day sight seeing tour with the hotel and had a really good and knowledgeable driver who showed us all the sights. We spent New Years Eve at the hotel where there was dinner on the lawn and bonfires lit just before midnight.
The hotel can be a little noisy due to the main road but the staff and the setting more than make up for that.
The thing that really made it a stand out hotel is it ethos for donating all profit to help local charities in the area. We met the owner who converted the hotel to this way of working and also spoke to staff who were so proud of where they worked and their director. There are not many places left that can say they work for charity in the way the Green Hotel does. I would happily stay here again rather than any of those big corporate money making hotels any day. Just wish there were more places like this around the world!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sang32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
2.9 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#15 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heritage Shelters
Hotel Heritage Shelters
#53 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
16 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#17 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruchi the Prince
Ruchi the Prince
#18 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
165 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ginger Mysore
Ginger Mysore
#12 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hotel

Property: Green Hotel
Address: 2270 Chittaranjan Palace Vinoba Road | Chittaranjan Palace, Jayalakshmipuram, Mysuru (Mysore) 570012, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing