We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“green hotel a nice place to dine in a beutifull garden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Green Hotel
Ranked #20 of 99 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“green hotel a nice place to dine in a beutifull garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Green hotel has tasty indian meals and few international option. The restaurant is in a huge wonderfull garden. Staff really helpfull in their green uniforms. There is also a cozy coffe shop inside the hotel were you can have capuccino and home made cakes.
It is an heritage building with fresh patio full of flowers and a calm atmosphere. There are to different kind of rooms available : the old/stylish section in the old building which are more expancive and than they have build a new section with modern/simple rooms at affordable prices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    134
    53
    18
    20
See reviews for
74
126
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Should have read the reviews thoroughly before booking the place.If you are with family and with small kids,don't go there.The stairs leading to the first floor are narrow and winding.No TV in the rooms, no basic toileteries(only one soap provided), restaurant serves sub standard food and the breakfast is a sham.It's mostly meant for foreigners who want a secluded place with no disturbance.I am told that all the revenues from the hotel go towards charity.bad experience overall

Room Tip: take the rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhagath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We reached the hotel late in the night and were guided to our rooms pronto. Though there was no electricity, the staff armed with LED torches took us to our rooms and explained us the basics of solar hot water, cooking styles, etc.

Firstly, the concept of Green Hotel is that of a ecological, sustainable hotel. So, there is no aircon, no electrical hot water heater, no TV, lights are sparingly used in the rooms, furniture is made from sturdy but ecological material, floors are made in a technique called Koba (from a mixture of red oxide applied to red cement) and lines drawn on them, etc.

While I appreciate the concept of a Green hotel and admire the challenges to run a sustainable set-up like this, what I don't agree or understand is the high prices they charge for such an experience. If you go in any interior region, places that are managed even more ecologically are provided to you for almost 1/5th the rates and for a much better experience.

Our guide told us about the property and informed us that it used to be a studio (Premier Studios) where movies were shot and prior to that, part of it where the office is located was a small mahal/palace of one of the kings of Mysore. The entire studio is not converted into the hotel and only 40 odd percent is transformed into Green Hotel (post an unfortunate incident of fire taking place during the shooting of "The Sword of Tipu Sultan" television serial).

The rooms that we (and the other guests) stayed in were the green rooms used by the actors and behind-the-scenes artists and simply put, they were modified slightly with a couple amenities to make a Green Hotel, which is then marketed to environmentally conscious European and International tourists for an unique experience.

While the branding and positioning is well-done, the hotel doesn't completely live upto its expectations as the sleep quality is quite poor (with hard beds, next to a noisy street and extremely hot during the day for an afternoon nap).

The restaurant serves good food and one can experience a variety of cuisines. I am not sure if they have a bar license as after every dinner, we were asked to pay for the drinks in cash and were not added in the original bill, while making sure the price of the drinks were as high as a licensed bar and restaurant.

They have a coffee shop which is run by native rural women and they take pride in boasting about it. While I am not sure how much employment they have generated for the rural women or the impact it has created by such activities, the advertising/PR agency responsible for this account has certainly done a good job.

Overall, a disappointment.
Would not like to stay here again, while I would like to visit Mysore every chance I get.

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the inner side of the property as you will hope to miss the street noise. the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kapil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genf
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

True, perhaps the rooms aren't very exciting. They are pretty and cosy, if somewhat bare. But super clean and spacious. The real attraction of this hotel is the atmosphere, something that is hard to describe. It has this elegant colonial feel about it, with a lovely garden restaurant where you can have beautiful candle light dinners, and a sweet little café in the inner court yard, that serves really nice home-made cakes and good coffee. All the employees come from socially challenged millieus, and are very proud to be working at the Green Hotel. The quality of the service is totally reflected in this pride, and honestly, this place is a peaceful haven away from the typical Indian hustle and bustle down-town. I would most certainly stay at the Green Hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are more elegant, but the garden rooms have a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monicakatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Green Hotel and we particularly liked the food in the restaurant. We had a suite in the garden wing and found it clean and spacious enough. Also, the breakfast was abundant and of good quality. The one thing we found bothersome was the noise from the nearby street. The street was in quite a distance (100 m) from our room. However, traffic is very intense even at night and as Indian drivers use the horn all the time we inevitably did not sleep very well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renfah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

From its friendly staff, beautiful gardens and excellent meals, The Green Hotel lived up to our expectations. I stayed in the quirky Bollywood (!) Room and my friend stayed in the Writer's Room. We both enjoyed our time there, especially the delicious breakfast in the garden every morning.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allaround1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We just had a short break i Mysore away from our holiday in Goa..we have stayed in this delightful hotel before..it is lovely , gardens, staff, food etc..The only down side is the terrible and really uncomfortable beds..matresses apalling..now this hotel charges relatively high prices..what a shame it cannot buy decent mattresses. Mysore is a DELIGHT. This hotel is beautiful ..so please please get your act together and do something about this problem..4 guests struggled back to Goa with terible back ach..to our lovely beds at a hotel 1/8th of the price.

Room Tip: Tak the lower rooms as upstairs have road noise..Diner in the gardens are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chrsfln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#4 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.4 mi away
Golden Landmark Resort
Golden Landmark Resort
#10 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Ruchi The Prince
Hotel Le Ruchi The Prince
#8 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ruchi the Prince
Ruchi the Prince
#18 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.9 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#11 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hotel

Property: Green Hotel
Address: 2270 Chittaranjan Palace Vinoba Road | Chittaranjan Palace, Jayalakshmipuram, Mysuru (Mysore) 570012, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 99 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing