We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience and great rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mysuru (Mysore)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MauveOrchid Homestay
Kushalnagar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ambience and great rooms”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a great time staying at Mauve Orchid. excellent atmosphere and easy accessibility to the major attraction in Mysore.. the rooms were very clean..though they had a limited menu the quality of food was too good...the staffs were very friendly and highly committed to their work....the owner does visit the property and interact with us which is highly appreciable....more than a homestay we have a feeling its our own home.....we wish to visit the place again... wish all success to the management and thanks for making our trip a memorable one...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SachinCoorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

After reading such good reviews, we decided to stay here on 24-05-2014. Having stayed in many home stays and reading reviews, we expected the owner to welcome us or to be at least to be staying in the property. Unfortunately, we were welcomed by a group of boys who were the housekeeping staff.The two ground floor rooms we booked open to the dining room and we discovered a couple of the boys/housekeeping staff were seated there with loud television own and having their dinner. The rooms were big and spacious and the bathrooms neat. Unfortunately the bedsheet had stains and on mentioning it to one of the boys, he just shook his head and told us "washing, washing". We had to bring in the guy who was at the reception who got us a change of sheets which was stain free, but very wrinkled. Only one of the rooms had towel and soap, which again we had to get from the main guy. The rooms have beautiful four poster beds and an antique looking dresser. The four posters bed has curtains which look like it was never washed!
The worst part is not the stains or the curtains, but the complete lack of buys, the ground floor rooms as mentioned before open to the dining room, which when we arrived were occupied by 3-4boys who were eating dinner and watching television. By bedtime, the dining table were pushed to a side and the boys(who we learned were the staff ) slept on the floor. One cannot even open the doors cos the boys can see straight to the beds. One room was occupied by my sister and kids and as a single woman , it was not at all a pleasant experience for her! Also they kept talking to each other loudly and playing television through the night.
It is a sprawling three storey house, surely they have enough space to allocate separate staff areas without hampering the privacy of the guests?
In the morning, in the name of complimentary breakfast, we were served goopy yellow pongal which we refused and escaped! A complete waste of Rs 4000 for two rooms!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WidadMogral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauvemys, General Manager at MauveOrchid Homestay, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are sorry for the inconvenience, caused by us at Mauve Orchid at your stay with us. Usually our check in timings is 12.00 pm and check out is 11.00 am.Usually we will be there in the property till 10.00pm, and usually we do not entertain late check in except on special cases.As you remember we were in contact with you all the time in the day time regarding all the updates(stating that you were checking in late, going to brindvan garden and so on ) and told that will finish your dinner and come down we didn't wanted to hurry you so instructions had been given for the boys.

Here it is a guest house , and we have informed the boys to stay at the ground floor as it will be easy for guest service(most of the guest come with the small kid ) and In fact many of our guest suggested regarding the same as they feel safe and secure and convenient regarding attending the guest as we do not have intercom as it is the heritage building.

Here in the Mauve Orchid the breakfast prepared is South Indian and we prepare homely kind of breakfast only one variety per day,and we prepare it fresh. This was also clearly told to you while booking the room.

We regret and sorry regarding the disturbance of talking and tv sound , and boys have been instructed not to repeat regarding the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Mauve Orchid is a pleasantly looking purple colored flower and this home stay testifies that pleasantness very well! Cordial staff, spacious & neat rooms & well-maintained washrooms too. We heard that the place was the residence of the diwan who worked for the maharaja/s of Mysore. The architecture, especially the roofs are preserved as is giving the space a more ancient & royal feeling. The place is quite accessible to the palace, museum & other places of importance. Certainly recommend if you prefer a quiet & homely stay, especially with family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sravnthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed @ Mauve Orchid for two days. A great hospitality, homely & friendly atmosphere. Overall a very relaxing stay.

Easy access from the Bus Depot & Airport. Being new to the city, we took tips for travelling from Roopesh & Subramanian. They took good care ensuring we had a leisure trip covering right places!

Simple yet very interesting and tasty south indian breakfast. Clean rooms, very helpful staff. We had a very good time there :-) Thanks!

Room Tip: - This place could be a little difficult to find on your own. Get the cab/rickshaw driver to talk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hetu_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this homestay. A old architecture house with privacy of hotel and comfort of homestay. Very economical, clean. The staff was helpful in guiding us around the city. Very close to all major attractions in Mysore. We stayed here as a stopover to our trip to Coorg. Ideal place to stay if you are a family

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Hotel was very nice special the room.. we got 02 Bedroom Hall Kitchen room.. So very specious for us.. the Food was very nice.. the staff were very helpful.. The area was not so good but any how it doesn't matter to us because we were mostly out for sightseeing.. the over it was great..!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Not the quietest place to stay in Mysore, situated behind a supermarket and gym, it is nevertheless, comfortable clean and in very easy walking distance to most of the major sites in Mysore. The staff are very good and they gave us lots of information and took trouble to find out what we wanted to do and then made suggestions. We were directed to Chaat Street, off the tourist trail, where you can buy all sorts of very good street food. We were in one of the modern top rooms the first night but there was a lot of noise from the street so moved down to one of the older bedrooms on the ground floor, with high ceilings and a large four poster bed. AC but not really needed as the fan was adequate and much quieter though the room opens out to the communal eating area. The owners are passionate about their history and we spent a pleasant hour looking at old Mysore in pictures on their computer. Tea and coffee are available all day but there is a small charge for this. For a low budget stay in the centre of town it was very good.

Room Tip: Upstairs for more light and modern shower room, downstairs quieter and more atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sepoy Grande
Sepoy Grande
#22 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aishwarya Residency
Aishwarya Residency
#3 of 145 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#4 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
1.1 mi away
Suvarna Residency
Suvarna Residency
#77 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MauveOrchid Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MauveOrchid Homestay

Property: MauveOrchid Homestay
Address: Nazarbad Mohalla Main Road | behind viva health club Nazarbad, Mysuru (Mysore) 570010, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 198 Specialty Lodging in Mysuru (Mysore)
Hotel Class:2 star — MauveOrchid Homestay 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from Mauve Orchid...! We like to introduce our self to you, we are located in the Heritage city "Mysore", Karnataka. We have 8 luxury rooms well furnished rooms. The rooms are equipped the modern facilities like 31' LCD flat TV, hot water, WI-FI* ,Health Club*, tour and travel assistance. Apart from the rooms we have two service apartment with each consisting of two room and hall .The property is located within the city limits, it is near and easily access to the most of the tourist destination sits.Even road and rail transport are with in 2 Kms radius. * Chargeable basis *we service breakfast only, Apart from that we have tea coffee service , we also provide lunch and dinner for guest on request from near by restaurant subjected to cost regarding the same. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing