We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mysuru (Mysore)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mysore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 150 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mysore B and B for three nights over Christmas at the beginning of our 4 week vacation in South India. It was the most pleasant stay of our trip and we were really sad when we had to leave. We enjoyed the nice room and apartment and the nice atmosphere, the company of the other guests, the cycling tour in Sriringapatna with Steve and most of all the wonderful and definitely unforgettable Christmas evening we celebrated together. Thank you very much, Steve! A special place with a very personal atmosphere. We would very much like to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfindia7, Manjula's assistant at Mysore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Last Christmas was such an enjoyable time, it was like a family gathering on Christmas day, thank you for helping make is such a success, who knows what will happen this year, can't imagine it will be so good but we will have fun.

We're in the build up now. the last two weeks of december, january and february is our busiest time.

so pleased we could help make the trip to india so memorable… its is such an amazing place, isn't it? thank you for mentioning the MYcycle cycle tours (also listed on Trip Advisor, big hint for potential guests that might be reading this).

so have a wonderful Christmas holiday this year, wherever you find yourself and let us know how it goes. Hope we meet again,

best wishes,

stephen, manjula and lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Mysore Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 253 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

I travel to India on business but had always wanted to play the tourist and had the impression of teeming roads, countryside, homeless children everywhere etc etc. Thanks to the commercial TV I guess. What I found in Mysore and especially Mysore Bed and Breakfast, was calmness, friendly people and a desire to help all the time.

Stephen and Manjula were introduced through my brother and one of the best introductions I've ever received. The B&B is spotless, food lovely and Stephen and Manjula make a good team. They provide exceptional service, can arrange seemingly anything and are always welcoming, even when I arrived at 2am.

Looking forward to being back.

Room Tip: All seem great.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven_Heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfindia7, Front Office Manager at Mysore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Steven it was an absolute pleasure meeting you and having you as a guest at the BnB. I look forward to the next member of the family to come here ;-) whoever that might be…….I must admit when I saw chalk and cheese i though you were referring to something else ;-).. anyway glad we beat Delhi.

thanks for the kind review, good to get feedback

As it happens today has seen four of your team gathering at my place. check Facebook for the latest news items! even more art and a tibetan rug has now been introduced to the place and Lucie is officially on a diet after Amelia's input.

Looking forward to meeting you again,

Best wishes,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The owner at Laika's Boutique in Bangalore set up our accommodations at Mysore B&B for our overnight trip to Mysore. Stephen, the owner at Mysore B&B sent a driver to the train station to pick us up, Vasanth quickly found us and provided our first rickshaw experience which was thrilling! He was save, polite and while a bit shy, a funny guy with a beautiul smile. He was a driver al day Saturday and Sunday for a very adorable price so we had time to get to know more about him, his family and his life in Mysore.

Upon arriving at the B&B a warm, light rain showered us (it was monsoon season) and it was beautiful to see the very, very green landscape all around the area. We entered the B&B to be greeted by owner, Stephen and manager, Manjula, who prepared us some delicious chai tea. The five of us (me, my husband, Stephen, Manjula and Vasanth) chatted getting to know each other and plan out the our time in Mysore.

Once decided, we were off in the rickshaw and headed to Maharaja's Palace to walk to beautiful grounds, see the immaculate palace, ride an elephant and buy goodies. We learned so much there by using the headphones for a self-guided tours. Note: You take your shoes off at the palaces and temples. We then headed up Chumundi Hill which provide panoramic views of Mysore and where we saw some funny monkeys hanging out on the side of the rode - they let us get really, really close to take pics and videos of them. At the top of the hill, we walked us a long stair case to Chamundeswari Temple, where we saw amazing views and could buy from local vendors. There was also a Bull Tempe on Chumundi Hill that we visited. Saturday night we returned to the B&B for dinner with Stephen and Manjula - a nice exception made for us, Manjula made us dinner!! We were the only guests so we enjoyed the individualized attention, and night of chatting over drinks.

On Sunday morning, we enjoyed breakfast courtesy of Manjula (she is a great chef!!) and then said our goodbyes for a day of sightseeing again before heading back to Bangalore. Vasanth picked us up in his rickshaw and had a plan to drive us to various historical war ites on Srirangapatna Island, including temples, dungeons, lookouts, a palace and more. We also visited St. Philomena's church. It was a great tour of the area, with Vasanth navigating the local area and providing further historical information and personal stories. At the lookout we came upon many adorable children so excited to take a picture with us and talk to us. All of the people we encountered were polite and fun to know. We enjoyed lunch at a spot recommended by Stephen, where we could sit outdoors right on the river while eating.

Afterwards, Vasanth took us to a store where I was able to buy many goodies - beautiful silk sarves, a table runner and other goodies for super reasonable prices (mostly due to the off season!). They treated us well at the store, we appreciated the service. At the end of the day, Vasanth dropped us back to the train station and helped us buy tickets back to Mysore, he even escorted us to the right train car since it can be confusing.

The three of them (Stephen, Manjula and Vasanth) are a dream team - they not only work well together, complimenting each other's work but are all funny, with great senses of humor and good natures. They kept us laughing and learning so much!! They kept us fed, happy and we would not have had such an amazing time without them! We hope to come back in the future and stay longer.

The facitities were clean, well decorated, well maintained and a great place to stay. The shower is a bucket shower and shared with other guests, which although we had never used before had not problems with and actually enjoyed with the very warm water, clean shower and large facility. Would definitely stay here again!! Thank you Stephen, Manjula and Vasanth for the memorable experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfindia7, bookings clerk at Mysore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

what a lovely, thorough and comprehensive review.

I know that many of our guests read the reviews to get a good idea of what its like here and to help them plan their trip to Mysore, your review is exceptionally helpful in that way.

Its also great for us to get feedback and know what our guests appreciate. thanks also of that. We have tried to make it informal here, properly sharing my home rather than a more impersonal commercial hotel. Its important to us to make it such a good experience here in Mysore that you want to come back here for more and can create a list of things you must come back to see ;-)

great you liked srirangapatnam, I was out there again today for a MYcycle cycle tour, its such a wonderful place.

Laika has been great at helping her guests find us here in Mysore so we're developing another helpful partnership.

our very best wishes,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We felt very comfortable at Manjula's home and enjoyed our stay a lot. The room and all the facilities were very clean and nice. Also Manjula is a very good cook and I miss her homemade bread for breakfast. The house is decorated with a lot of love to details and you always discover sth new. After having to haggle a lot with Riksha drivers in other places - we enjoyed having Vishant (fare is fair) as a driver and guide in Mysore. Thanks a lot to the Mysore B'n'B team for making our stay in Mysore so memorable. :) Britta & Sylvia

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Brita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfindia7, Owner at Mysore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

thank you for your feedback and coming to stay. sorry i was unable to meet you but as you know I was in the UK to meet the newest member of the family! I've told Manjula and Vasanth what you said in your review and the are very pleased.

Manjula says the house is too full (what does she know?… I could fit lots more in here) with the paintings, carvings etc. so its good to be appreciated for our art work and nick nacks ;-) latest acquisitions are an american pay phone!! and a metal peacock that opens to reveal the makins of Paan (for after dinner) I might, one day get round to providing a bit of an introduction to all the art … glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in October- it was one of the best places we stayed throughout our whole trip around India. Stephen has a gift for making you feel so welcome and at home. He also has extensive knowledge of the local area, and gave us some great advice about what to do during our stay. Manjula is a wonderful cook, we had delicious, huge breakfasts and were invited to stay for dinner one of the nights too, which was amazing local food. The rooms are spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds. We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattphillips161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfindia7, bookings clerk at Mysore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

hey matt, lovely to meet you guys and hear your story. Hope all is well back up north. I did buy that Tibetan rug from Bylakuppe and its now downstairs.

We're now in the build up to the busy time of year so all systems go, ha ha. My job title has changed to match the teasing from Manjula who reckons i don't do anything! so i've honed it down to bookings clerk ;-) seriously thinking of creating and Indian (plus Nepal?) holiday for myself next year so just maybe you'll have a knock on the door. Hope we see you again down here and let me know how it all goes,
best wishes,
from Stephen and the empowered women

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed a weekend with Stephen, Manjula, and Lucie in early September. (That we are only posting a review now is NOT a reflection of our experience, but rather of our tendency to procrastinate!) We made a last-minute decision to travel to Mysore, and were so grateful that Stephen was able to accommodate. The weekend was exactly what we needed, and we owe that to the Mysore B&B team. Many thanks to Stephen for your tremendous warmth and hospitality, and especially for sharing your private balcony so we could enjoy an afternoon of quiet reading. Thanks to Manjula for preparing a superb and nourishing breakfast, and for making the place a real "home." Thanks to Lucie for greeting us with tongue and tail wagging, and for escorting us down the street when we departed. We will come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BangaloreBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfindia7, bookings clerk at Mysore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Hey Beth, thank you for coming to see us and sorry for my much MORE belated response. I blame my trip to the Uk to see my newly arrived granddaughter for the extra hecticness.

It was so good and unexpected to meet you again, India and coincidences eh? Shh… about the balcony its a secret ;-)

the great new gardener has put together the roof top again (we move the plants during the heat of the summer) so we have our sit out available just in time for the peak season of dec-jan-feb

i look forward to seeing you again and news of how things develop in bangalore

my very best wishes,

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

During the Dasara time we wanted to spend a couple days in Mysore.
Based on all the TRIPADVISOR reviews we chose this.
Just like all the other reviews, I would like to give a BIG THUMPS UP for this place.
What makes this HOMESTAY a specail one is Mr. Stephen Farrell and his
support team- Manjula and Auto Driver Vasanth. Stephen being a well informed traveler
himself is very courteous and hospitable host. Conversations with him were
interesting and informative.
He is a great source of knowledge about Mysore and its History.
He is very passionate about what he does.
The breakfasts and dinner items were tasty and nutritious,
especially his home made bread was a big hit with everyone.
We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Mysore BnB
We certainly would go back to this place

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellositara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfindia7, Front Office Manager at Mysore Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

hey, we so enjoyed having you to stay. This year has been quite different as we've had so many especially Indian families come to visit us. We've added to the children's' books, kitchen for people to prepare food for their young ones or make a cuppa and now have bought a baby bath! so glad you liked it here and I've passed on your great comments to Vasanth and Manjula. we look forward to welcoming you again,
Best wishes,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,630 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#4 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
436 reviews
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#3 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,903 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ginger Mysore
Ginger Mysore
#9 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mysore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mysore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 163 Moksha Marg | Siddartha Layout, Mysuru (Mysore) 570011, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: $19 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are very much sharing our welcoming home (Manjula from India and Stephen from the UK) when you stay at Mysore Bed and Breakfast. Do search to find us, its easy and you can contact us and book directly. Prices start at 1500 Rs We live in a quiet residential area, ten minutes in auto rickshaw, from the Palace. We have two lounges, sit-out, sun terrace and WiFi. There are double bedrooms and can cater for families. We provide a good breakfast usually toast, scrambled egg, mushrooms, fruit, tea/coffee or Indian breakfast by arrangement together sometimes with evening veg Indian meals and cooking lessons. We also provide MyCycle guided bicycle tours (full details listed on Trip Advisor), have friendly trustworthy auto rickshaw drivers, publish postcards and create personal itineraries. We do believe that it's the people that 'make the place' and we love making great new friends from our wonderfully diverse visitors. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing