We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly Home Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Dinner is served!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dinner is served!
Everything you could need... A room to relax in..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Dinner is served!
Everything you could need...
A room to relax in..
Read a book...
Watch TV........
Games also available.....
Ready for bed?
relaxing on the terrace
With the morning paper
Room with a view
Surveying the area!
Private steps up to the flat
On the roof
Relaxing after a hard day
Your hosts, the Damodaran family
Genuine entries from the visitors' book!
More genuine entries from the visitors' book!
bathroom
Toilet
water heater and fixed shower in bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District, Karnataka

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Rajesh R
1 review
“Friendly Home Stay”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Friendly and polite family. Nice, simple and neat place to stay. We stayed on the first floor. Recommend to keep them informed on the food preference. They provide complimentary breakfast. If you need dinner please specify before eve 5.p.m.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely atmosphere and food
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2015
Thank you very much for the review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N6625RXem...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Haven in the city”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My friend and I had been traveling rough and decided we needed to stay somehwhere a bit nicer for a couple of nights. We couldn't have been more lucky with our choice. This is the most wonderful, spacious, homely apartment and the kindest family. Despite at first being a little bit difficult to find at 5am in the morning fresh off the train, it was absolute heaven to step through the front door into the welcoming blue rooms and breezy balcony on k roof. It's great to stay in a real neighbourhood and the streets are full of school children, vegetable sellers and women sweeping clean their turf early in the morning. It's a bit further out of town than most places, but to be honest that's part of the perks. A haven to escape to at the end of a crazy day. Totally worth the expense of catching a auto in an out of town to get about. And the highest mention has to go to Ninvea and her mother for cooking us the most delicious fare of Indian food morning and night. Such a pleasure to eat in the comfort of our own space, and such superb food! Thank you for making such an effort for us! I hope I can come back someday :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2015
Thank you very much for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magschmid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm hospitality and friendly neighbourhood”
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I´m glad we discovered this place at TripAdvisor. Nivya is a very friendly host, the place is immaculate and being away - but not too far - from the city centre was a great experience.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangkokLo...
Podimore
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean apartment”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We spent four days here and enjoyed the spacious apartment but in particular the large terrace that provided an amazing insight into local life. Everything was clean and tidy and although you cannot cook in the mini kitchen there is a large fridge to store food and drink. Food was pretty good and reasonably priced although not large amounts but for the price charged it is fair value. The family are friendly and welcoming and available for advice

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e_julz
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our most comfortable stay in India”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Lovely spacious rooftop apartment, with large balcony. Great breakfasts, helpful host. Look out for the procession going past the apartment on a Monday evening!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emma b
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Rooftop Retreat is a charming, secluded hideaway. It is spotlessly clean and the family really friendly and helpful. We asked the family to cook for us one of the evenings and it was wonderful food. Highly recommend staying here if you are in Mysore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean
Liked least: Location - having to get rickshaws in and out of Mysore
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VeeJayAar
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and homely stay at Rooftop Retreat”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Rooftop Retreat in Mysore for one night in July 2014. We stayed at the home upstairs with the sitout terrace. The home is elegantly furnished, clean and comfortable. The home is located in a residential neighborhood, a little away from the main roads and attractions, and worked well for us since we had a car. The Damodarans, our hosts, are a simple, down to earth family and we enjoyed our stay at the Rooftop Retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing